We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Booking.comUS$105*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$105*
US$105*
US$105*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 663: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Have just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel and have to say we were very disappointed. As said in some of the previous reviews the bedrooms are in need of a major revamp. Our room had a slight damp smell to it, It all seems to be a bit old fashioned. I wouldn't be bothered but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleyherbertson
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry that the stay was not up to your expectation. I am happy to inform you that the room you were staying in is due to be fully refurbished later this year. I shall look into your comments regarding the bar meal on the Saturday evening as this...

Orphir, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I can't comment on the hotel as we were visiting a relative staying here but my meal was awful. I have never had duck so badly done it was like rubber in a weird sauce and looked more like road kill than a meal and whats this crushed potato rubbish .....its like mashed potato done by the village idiot -under...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scroot
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that your meal was not up to your satisfaction, I shall inform the butcher of your comments regarding the duck. The "crushed potato rubbish" was in fact crushed new potatoes that are infused with onion and parsley, I can assure you that this item of food was not prepared by the "village idiot". I would of much...

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

When walking past room 304 saw a dark shadow and light flickered!! Will keep u all up dated.. Enjoying a lovely freshly cooked meal, bottle of wine and enjoying the ambience of this lovely hotel.. Karen..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I have never experienced any strange goings on but other people in the hotel believe that they have so who knows! Once again thank you for your review.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Arrived mid afternoon. Hotel on first appearance appeared lovely. Location great, beautiful gardens and adequate parking. The downstairs part of the hotel was lovely. Small cosy lounges and a nice large dining area overlooking the gardens and river. Staff were helpful. Our double room was situated at the far end of the hotel in the somewhat dilapidated extension. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Polly S
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you had a good time at the wedding too. All rooms are supposed to have a hair dryer in the room and these are normally located in the drawer under the mirror. However if any future guests do not...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and found it to be well positioned for visiting attractions in Northumbria. The setting is beautiful with the river running along the bottom of the grounds. The staff were very friendly and we found the menu to be varied and the food plentiful and served piping hot. Our room contained everything we needed but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie2167
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the location of The George. We are fully refurbishing 16 bedrooms and bathrooms over the coming year so we hope to see you back at The George again soon. Once again, thank you for your review

yorkshire
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We went for a long weekend and was allocated room 308 which is large with a four poster bed with a large bathroom, shower & a separate bathtub but every floorboard creaked. The check -in was simple even a smile.Breakfasts were of a good choice smoked salmon & scrambled eggs which was good,the evening dinner had a good choice menu...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YorkshireScotsman
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad that everything was up to your expectations. You are correct that if you are staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate you can upgrade to the A La Carte menu for a discounted price. We also offer a light bites menu on an evening in the...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here whilst walking the Hadrian's Wall Path. The hotel's setting is beautiful and I imagine the building was quite spectacular in it's heyday but now it's just tired, worn and a bit dirty. The food was not good and there seems to be a great lack of care and morale amongst most of the staff....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Skippybee7
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We normally recieve great praise for the levels of service and friendliness that our team provide so I am shocked to read your comments regarding this. We sometimes have groups in using the pool or busy...

newcastle
Reviewed 9 July 2015

I go here twice a week with my friend to use the leisure facilities and have lunch. We love the pool as even I can stand in the deep end (1.4m), it is never very busy in the pool so we can have a good swim then we have a sauna cold shower and back in the sauna then changed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracy s
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such and honest and positive review. This may be the first review that we have had for the hotel that has come from leisure club users so for that I thank you. We are thrilled that you enjoy the views and gardens after a swim. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Once again, many...

Bristol
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This place is a good place to stay. When I went it was full of a coach party of older visitors. The breakfast and dinner were good, if unadventurous, but then given their clientele, that's to be expected. The service was very good. The garden looking over the river is a very nice place to have a drink. There's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJK29
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the views on offer. Thank you for leaving a room tip, you are correct that due to the lay out of the building, some rooms may appear to be far away from the restaurant. However with most of...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We had a large comfortable bedroom which was nicely furnished. It had creaking floorboards which were very annoying. The restaurant was disappointing as the food was very bland. There were a lot of coach trips so I think they were catering to suit them. I was surprised that in the summer they were using tinned corn and grapefruit. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Traveller1XX
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we do indeed cater for coaches however this is just a maximimum of one coach that stays monday to friday only subject to availability. I shall pass your comments regarding tinned corn and grapefruit on to the Head Chef. Mobile signal is restricted depending on your network provider, if you...

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
11.8 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,080 reviews
6.8 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
11.2 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
25.2 km away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
8.7 km away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Price Range: €84 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Luton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room with a view over the stream and old stone bridge.”
KezzReview, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“No idea - only saw two.”
461hg, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for view of river”
Judge26, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Based on our experience, could not make any recommendation as to which room to choose!”
  • Curtain not attached to rail , runners missing, second window was the same.
  • Broken bath taps
  • Mould on ceiling by window
  • Cracked glass and mould around window frame
billwarbrook, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 300 series rooms with a view over the river.”
growlermike, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$105* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$105
Orbitz.comUS$105
TravelocityUS$105
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates