We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alora Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Alora Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Alora Hotel situated near many buildings nearby where there are eateries, shops, residential areas, etc. The location is not so appealing. Rooms quite spacious, not much activities within the hotel premises. Coffee house just so, so, and breakfast spread very basic and normal. For a cheap price would be okay but definitely not paying high price for a hotel of... More 

Helpful?
Thank HO D
Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place used to be really clean and nice few years back. However, their room cleaning service is not doing their work. The toilet are dirty. The bed sheet and duvet were not even changed. Moreover, it has yellow spots on it, some has black marker ink on them. The TV looks so old and small in the spacious room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank active92
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We were here during the eid for 5days. And this is the third time we here. Reason we coming back coz close to my mother in law hse and reasonable price. We used to book in five stay hotel every year in penang. since the hotel just for sleep we decided get d cheap n ok hotel. Short story we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hadi S
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel for 20 nights. Pros:- 1. Spacious room. Cons:- 1. Cleanliness. House keeping did not change linens even after repeated complaints. They did not wipe.Mop the floor until several complaints. 2. Same breakfast every single day for 20 days. No change what so ever. 3. Old styled plain furniture. 4. CRT TV(Really??) which has only 13-14 channels.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MiratShah
AloraHotel, Public Relations Manager at Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MiratShah, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We sincerely apologize for this bad experience that you had with us. We have conveyed your feedback over to the respective departments for improvements and will access our performance. As part of our effort to continuously exceed the expectation of our guests, we will be undergoing renovations for... More 

Travellers are raving about these Penang Island hotels

Depok
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

The room was so spacious and could be connected to next room. However sound from next room could be heard, so noisy. The cleanliness could be improved. The breakfast was not so perfect. Location also near big street but there is like small shopping mall near the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Chatra P
AloraHotel, Public Relations Manager at Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chatra P, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We have conveyed your feedback over to the respective departments for improvements. As for the noise, we are in the midst of refurbishing the whole hotel and we will be redoing the corridors and rooms and by then the noise will be reduced. We look forward... More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016

If you like peace and quiet, avoid this place totally. Because the way the building is structured, noise travel very well from one floor to another floor. And noise gets into the room very well. From time to time you will hear doors slamming even though its not from your floor. It is 3AM now in Penang and they have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sun S
AloraHotel, Public Relations Manager at Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sun S, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Just as you mentioned, because the way the building is structured, noise do travel from one floor to another floor. Nonetheless, we have conveyed your feedback over to the management for improvements as we are in the midst of refurbishing the whole hotel. We will be... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The room are incredibly large, the furnitures are plain and old. Especially the TV is prehistoric. I like the parquet floor. I don't like being in an almost empty room, nothing on the walls... Hot water lasts only few minutes, then becomes warm, and you just get 2 old shower towels, no other towels. The bathroom is nice and clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank giorjen
AloraHotel, Public Relations Manager at Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Dear giorjen, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that you did not entirely had a bad experience during your stay with us. We have conveyed your feedback over to the respective department for improvements and will access our performance. As part of our effort to continuously exceed the expectation of our guests,... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Room is large but very old furnished. No hot/warm water. No bathtub. Old television. Anyway hotel staffs are friendly and ready to help. About location, there are a lot of restaurants nearby as well as convenient stores.

Helpful?
Thank Mogul M
AloraHotel, Public Relations Manager at Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mogul M, Thank you for choosing Alora Hotel Penang as your preferred hotel and for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you found our hotel’s location convenient with eateries nearby and was impressed with the services rendered by our employees. Do drop by at our two F&B outlets on your next visit as... More 

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2016

The room i stayed in was clean and spacious although bed, furniture and fixtures appear worn. TV was small. Air conditioning was a little noisy. Ample parking spots available. F&B outlets available at the lobby.

Helpful?
Thank NItenite18
AloraHotel, Public Relations Manager at Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NItenite18, Thank you for choosing Alora Hotel Penang as your preferred hotel and for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that you found the room to be spacious and clean. The hotel is in the midst of enhancing the facilities and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again. The Management Alora Hotel... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

this hotel has larger than normal rooms. enough space for more than 2. however, tv is small, and lack of a comfortable sofa to watch the programmes. enjoyed the free snacks and drinks. very friendly reception which went out of way to assist. Malaysian hospitality!!

Helpful?
Thank YMC6
AloraHotel, Public Relations Manager at Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Dear YMC6, Thank you for choosing Alora Hotel Penang as your preferred hotel and for taking the time to write us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with our employee’s services and had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again. The Management Alora Hotel Penang More 

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penang Island hotels
0.0 km away
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
Vistana Penang Bukit Jambul
#2 of 9 in Bayan Lepas
232 reviews
0.0 km away
TH Hotel Penang
TH Hotel Penang
#6 of 9 in Bayan Lepas
30 reviews
0.0 km away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
U Hotel Penang
U Hotel Penang
#4 of 9 in Bayan Lepas
73 reviews
0.0 km away
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bayan Lepas
90 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
#39 of 79 in George Town
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alora Hotel Penang is a 19-storey property which comprises of 304 elegantly decorated spacious rooms with well-appointed designs and modern amenities. Bigger is really better, you will find more of the space you need to work, spread out or relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alora Hotel

Address: B Tower, Bayan Point, 19 Medan Kampung Relau, Penang Island 11900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island
Price Range: €30 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alora Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Alora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alora Hotel Penang, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alora Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the traffic would be better”
 of 5 bubbles hod799, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid this place.”
 of 5 bubbles MiratShah, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Spacious rooms”
 of 5 bubbles NItenite18, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“near to airport”
 of 5 bubbles 523syeda, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The view of bukit jambul at night was good”
 of 5 bubbles lt_veera, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay