We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel El Hidalgo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel El Hidalgo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel El Hidalgo
 Click to rate
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We are travelling for the first time with a dog. This came up as a pet friendly hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Though they looked a little dated, (with traditional Spanish furniture). They had all the 'mod-coms', plenty of hot water, good heating, TV with some English news programs. Our room was at the back so quieter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The hotel is ideally situated on the highway so a great place to break your journey. The rooms are little bungalows with parking outside the door, and there is a lovely garden and swimming pool (open only in July and August). The rooms are very comfortable and the air conditioning works very well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
Zurich
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Hotel with bungalow rooms directly besides the highway exit. Private, secure parking directly besides the rooms. Rooms are quiet even though the highway is very near. No luxury, but what you need is there and room was clean. Breakfast was quite good for the price, very good coffee and even lactose-free milk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker047
Cobena, Spain
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

It is not poor it is miserable and expensive Don't stop there is something better ahead, anywhere is better Bad service, old an expensive. I was here 20 years ago and it is the same but 20 years older

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ca46717
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We stayed overnight. The service was mixed. For instance, one waitress was warm and friendly while another was abrupt to the point of rudeness. The hotel is made up of several separate units. Each unit has a private parking space at the front. Each has a back door which gives onto a shared space of grass and shrubs. (There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Easy to find and yards from the main road from Madrid to Malaga. Rooms substantial and comfortable - be warned if there are not enough people staying at the hotel . The restaurant does not open and the attached cafe does not sell food other than sandwiches. Not what we wanted after 8 hours of driving. Managed eventually to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheersagainone
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Sorry that Sorry that could not enjoy our restaurant, we not only offer tapas but all kinds of Manchego and Mediterranean food. We hope that on your next visit feel more comfortable Thank you very much for your warm welcome to the rest of our service and on your next visit we are sure to meet your expectations Sincerely

Norfolk
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We were travelling from France to Cadiz to catch the ferry to Lanzarote, with our three dogs. We were not expecting much, but were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are in a bungalow format, scrupulously clean, and despite being on the motorway, we could not hear it. The staff were very friendly,meeting us have breakfast at 7 am despite it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dikky
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 October 2015

On the way to velencia from Granada we stayed one night at the hotel. Pretty basic hotel. Room was large. It seems hotel has seen better days. Breakfast buffet was very basic with no service of any kind. Not one waiter or anybody came to ask while we quietly had the breakfast. It was strange.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank azlari
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear azlari, Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly appreciate your suggestions of our Hotel El Hidalgo and already trying to do our best to improve our service. We take good notice of the problem with the breakfast buffet. We always have a waiter taking care of the breakfast and the clients. We hope it won't happen again...

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We have stayed here before and find it very convenient for various reasons. Furstly the rooms are little cottages with their own parking so we find that really secure. The back of the rooms open out directly on to the landscaped gardens and pool area. The rooms are really large but very dated and tired. In the oast we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perle369
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear perle369, Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly appreciate your suggestions of our Hotel El Hidalgo and already trying to do our best to improve our service. We take good notice of setting chairs in the garden and improve the seating outside the bar. We´ll be happy to see you again, with best regards,

Paris, France
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We were traveling to Andalusia. To avoid the crowded route leaving Madrid on a Friday 31 July, we decided to leave Madrid the previous night around 22.00 hours. It was a good decision. The hotel staff were great and welcoming. This is a road motel nicely setup around swimming pool in the green. Rooms are big and well furnished although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PARISIANSPANISH
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

PARISIANSPANIH good morning, glad that you have been comfortable in our hotel. We are working hard on the adequacy of the furniture. Our cafeteria, as has been proven, is the most visited of the Motorway of Andalusia and because of these holiday dates, usually full. As you said, for hotel guests is advisable at the buffet breakfast, closed the rest...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdepenas
6.9 km away
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Valdepenas
350 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#2 of 3 in Valdepenas
122 reviews
20.8 km away
Hotel Casa Palacio
Hotel Casa Palacio
#1 of 3 in Santa Cruz De Mudela
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Parador de Manzanares
Parador de Manzanares
#1 of 1 in Manzanares
311 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel Toral
Hotel Toral
#3 of 3 in Santa Cruz De Mudela
27 reviews
33.2 km away
Hotel Dona Manuela
Hotel Dona Manuela
#1 of 4 in Daimiel
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HOTEL EL HIDALGO enjoys a privileged location with direct access from the motorway Andalucia, Km. 194. The peculiar construction design 'was the first Motel in Spain has been respected in the total renovation made to its facilities, while maintaining the unique character of the establishment. Located 4 Km. From Valdepenas Hotel El Hidalgo is obligatory stop to enjoy its attractive facilities, inviting you to taste the best Manchego cuisine and innovative dishes, to relax in its beautiful swimming pool surrounded by a splendid garden and spend the night in spacious rooms, all ground floor and private covered parking. The Hotel also own parking space for buses and large cars and special vehicles and closed garage available and pets are allowed in the rooms. Valdepenas, City of Wine and Friendship, is ideally located in the geographical center of the Route of Don Quixote. . Within a radius of 35 km you can visit historical sites: Almagro Santa Cruz de Mudela, Tomelloso, Villanueva de los Infantes and the unique nature of the Tablas de Daimiel and Lagunas de Ruidera and the historic Iberian settlement of Cerro of the Heads. All this attractive offer, accompanied by excellent service and careful attention to customers, makes the HOTEL EL HIDALGO ideal for short-stay travelers who want to know the Ruta del Quijote and the Champs de Montiel place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Hidalgo

Address: Autovia de Andalucia N-IV, Km.194 | Autovia De Andalucia Km 194, 13300 Valdepenas, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Valdepenas
Price Range: €50 - €74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Hidalgo 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Hidalgo staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Hidalgo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try asking for a room that's not right on the highway side of the hotel, as there is a bit of noise from the traffic”
annsL3512GR, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for accommodation as far from the road as possible.”
824ChrisR824, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Get rooms at the back- more secure against drive by thieves and away from main road”
cheersagainone, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Get room on the back as it abuts freeway”
azlari, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“ask for refurbished rooms, there are some of them.”
PARISIANSPANISH, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5