Atmosphere Resorts & Spa

Atmosphere Resorts & Spa

Maayong Tubig, National Road, Dauin, Negros Oriental 6217 Philippines
Traveller (1175)
Panorama at the Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
360
Panoramas (17)
Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 8 resorts in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Indulge yourself and surrender to Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, where the warmest of Philippine hospitality is combined with first class amenities and service to bring you an unforgettable experience within the stunning Philippine archipelago. Beautifully hidden away within an old seven acre coconut plantation on the island of Negros, Atmosphere enjoys a spectacular beach front location alongside the warm coastal waters of the Philippine Sea. Whether you want to scuba dive, snorkel, indulge in the enchanted spa, practice yoga or fitness, indulge in family-fun, enjoy our exquisite fine dining and healthy living options, explore the beauty of Negros Oriental or simply read a book by the pools, you can look forward to an unforgettable stay. At Atmosphere Resorts, you can also take full advantage of some of the world's best scuba diving. The world renowned Apo Island with its stunning coral and turtles is a short boat ride away. Some of the world’s rarest critters can be found in Dauin.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Dutch and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Family months!
826Reviews20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 630
  • 148
  • 32
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
PegasusDVM wrote a review Mar 2023
Seattle, Washington
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really don’t even have words to describe Atmosphere. “Perfect” is not good enough.

The staff are out of this world amazing. The grounds immaculate. The food should teach Michelin how it’s done. The wine selection was shockingly good. The bar drinks plenty strong and quite unique! (Lychee martini - best I’ve ever had…and the salted caramel mudslide martini…next level!).

And the diving was the best I’ve ever done in my life!

People & things you NEED to know -

Food - going to dining, there was not a single miss. Everyone was exceptional at every interaction. But even then, find Jonafren. Tell her Brian sent you! She was so kind and got to know us so well. There was even a very busy night but she knew we usually came right around 18:30 and reserved us a table because she had figured out our group’s routine! She didn’t want us to have a delay if they got super busy (even though we would have been entirely fine to wait!). That’s the level of attention and care here.

Diving - Ricky was our guide and he was a ton of fun, amazing as a guide, kept the mix fun (muck, reef - natural and artificial, and macro). Never got bored for a second and he was super fun to work with. Attentive, but relaxed. Always on the ball, but never rushing. Bebit and Joffrey (sp?) were frequently around and were goals!

Also, Brelinda (“B”, which is also my nickname…so we bonded!) was phenomenal. Helped get some gear repaired super quick and even managed to help us get a replacement snorkel for our kid (he broke his!). Far beyond what I expected. So friendly and I felt like we had know each other for 20 years.

Bar - Larry and Jovanie. There are not words. None. These guys…they made the trip literal perfection. There wasn’t a need that wasn’t met. They accommodated an indecisive kid…they adapted when we
Had to escape to our room (mild child meltdown…they brought our food to us even though I said I’d be right back to get it! I didn’t expect them to do room service
And didn’t ask them to!). They were doing their rounds and their timing was impeccable at every turn. If I even thought i might need or want something they were there and asking what they could do. They quickly learned our family and were so incredibly friendly. I’m telling you - I say daily (now that I’m home) “where is Larry? When does Jovanie get here?” I NEED these guys back in my life!

Also - Ed. The Somm. Trust me - book a wine tasting with Ed. Such a magical time and he is so incredibly much fun!!! Selections were next level and it was like drinking with a best friend (except…a
Best friend who is an expert in wine!)

Simply put, I couldn’t find a flaw. Even if I tried, there wasn’t one. I couldn’t even nit-pick this if I wanted to.

I will be back. Already planning it and have blocked my future work schedule to make sure I can plan it!!

Raquel (reservations) was amazing and so kind to get all the details set before arrival (even transport with car seats for the kids!). The front desk learned my name and I honestly don’t even know how. People I didn’t directly interact with still
Greeted me by name every time I walked by - regardless of the day, hour, or what was going on.

I am not a morning person, but the mornings at Atmosphere are pure magic. It’s worth the alarm for a sunrise. It’s worth the morning stroll on the beach front.

Also. I’m upset I don’t have a daily Filipino breakfast now that I’m home! I need the fried rice and Longaniza and Tocina in my life!

My only comment for future guests (and I had gathered this from the pics. But it was more than I expected) - the waterline is quite rocky (the sand beach is just above the water line and barefoot is zero issue here - the kids LOVED it! Bring really good water shoes (not just flip-flops) for water entry. If you have the gear options, bring your fins with booties (vs more tropical open foot fins). It just makes your life more comfortable, but anything would work. The rocks weren’t sharp (not lava rock - far more ‘River rock’ surface.

Mabuhay to the entire Atmosphere Team! I will see you soon!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Atmosphere Resorts, Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Dear Brian - what a wonderful review! We cannot thank you enough for all that excellent feedback - guests like you make everything worthwhile and we are sure that our staff enjoyed your family's stay as much as you did. We cannot wait for your return - the Lychee Martini will be waiting for you at the bar :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventurer539842 wrote a review May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a long weekend in Atmosphere in February as a family with three small kids, and we had a great time! Our room was a Family Suite – a large room with bedding for 4 people and an additional baby cot (no charge!). The room was beautiful with lounging areas, a spacious terrace and a massive TV, but the best was the bathroom! It was set partly outside with a small garden, and even a lounging chair. It was about the size of a regular hotel room and we loved having showers whilst listening to the chirping of the birds! We are not scuba divers but did a lot of snorkeling. The house reef is great and shallow enough for the kids to have a go. The snorkeling equipment is included in the room rate which is unusual. The rest of the time we played in the pools, on the lawns and ate. Food was so awesome with a lot of choice (two of us are vegetarians) and we found it very hard to stay away from the cakes and sweet desserts! We noticed that there were yoga classes going on but we didn’t have the chance to try it, and we also didn’t try the spa but next time we’ll avail of the babysitting service and go crazy on activities. We will be back! Fam Bannink
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Atmosphere Resorts, Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for such an excellent review! We agree with you that the bathrooms are one of the best features in our villas and we are very happy that you enjoyed all the sweet treats, we now make our own ice cream as well so we hope to see you back :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olivia L wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Atmosphere for one week over New Year's and had the most relaxing and comfortable stay. The resort really caters to every guest's comfort and we had a great time, we really didn't want to leave and surely will return!

We took our Advanced Open Water course and went diving nearly every day, to Apo Island and along the Dauin coast. The dive shop was professionally run by Oli and his team. Our dive instructor Je-An really was one of the highlights of our trip. He was fun, professional, took great care of us in and out of the water. He was super knowledgable about the waters around Atmosphere and showed us a lot of sea creatures. We learned to appreciate macro life because of him. The coral reefs at Apo Island are some of the most lush and unaffected we have been to in the past 5 years we have been diving and we really hope it stays that way.

I am vegetarian and the resort has many vegan and veg options. The food is great and has a decent mix of international and filipino fare. The restaurant and bar staff are also super friendly and attentive, Edward, Paul, Jose are just some of the few we can remember the names of but they were all lovely.

The spa is also super serene, we had a few very relaxing massages there and were so thoroughly relaxed after.

We would definitely recommend Atmosphere for a luxurious diving trip! Though not inexpensive, we felt it was definitely worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Hi Olivia! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review! We are very pleased that you and your husband had the most relaxing and comfortable stay and completed your Advanced Open Water course at Atmosphere. We share the same passion for scuba diving, and we are always amazed by the incredible underwater critters and undamaged coral reefs this area has to offer. Also big thanks for your compliments regarding the food, the Spa and our staff! We will certainly pass your kind words to them. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J K wrote a review Mar 2020
Vancouver, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Atmosphere Resort (AR) based on feedback on Instagram and other social media platforms.
Let me start out by first saying as always the local filipino workers were fantastic and friendly.
Unfortunately they have a management that has an attitude of grab as much tourist money as you can.
For eg. At breakfast they have a fantastic coffee machine. Ask for a straight coffee no problem. Ask for a Latte or Cappuccino that's extra sir.
Happy hour is just that happy 1 hour. Local San Miguel is 180 pesos.
(If you walk 15 mins down the road you can buy the large bottles of the same beer for 105 pesos and keep it in the fridge.
I am a solo traveler so paid for that on my booking. I wanted to book a trip to see the Whale Sharks. Sorry you are a single so we have to charge you for 2. 17000 pesos about $400 for a 8 hour trip which was 3 hours spent in a car!
I was there for 4 days and each night at the bar I heard similar stories of 'gouging'.
A request for a taxi to take a family of 5 to Dumaguete was 2500 pesos ($50)
The local bus stops out the front for 20 pesos per person.
A 120gram 3oz steak for 1900 pesos($40).
Local travel agents will not recommend this place due to the negativity from their additional pricing.
I have spent 4 weeks travelling the Philippines and have stayed in 5 star locations and this would be middle of the road.
Staying in 5 star places will mean additional charges but I have never had a 400% markup on local beer.
Call it the Big Mac index of bars (apologies to the Economist) but it is a good example.
Their gym is nonsense.
Website has this open air gym where you can work out and commune with nature.
It looks like a jungle gym from a kindergarten.
The 2 weight bars they have are rusted out. I would hate to do any clean and jerks.
The rest of the 'equipment'is a bunch of left over 1970s Rocky Balboa workout regime.
No Cardio equipment, nothing for the 21st century workout needs.
Oh and the Wifi is non existent unless you sit in the bar or the restaurant. I wonder why?
Choose to stay but be prepared to keep putting your hand in your pocket.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 7 Apr 2020
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review Atmosphere Resorts & Spa! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our local staff, they are above all our pride and joy! We are however sad to hear that you feel that rates are too high. We can of course not know exactly where you have stayed during your 4 weeks in the Philippines - although your Tripadvisor profile gives some of it away - but having done extensive research into the price levels of 5 star properties in the Philippines, our pricing is at par, or in some cases below. We think that you understand that as a luxury resort, using a lot of imported items within all departments and with at least 2 staff members per guest, we have high costs and this is reflected in our pricing. We do not feel that it is relevant that the local non aircon bus costs 20 pesos - what is relevant though is that to take you to Dumaguete, we have to hire a van from the only tourist-accredited van rental service in Dumaguete, and that costs us 2000 pesos return. It is also irrelevant how much a beer costs in the supermarket - we do allow our guests to buy beer or any other snacks and keep it in their rooms for consumtion during their stay - but you will struggle to find a luxury resort where beer in the bar costs the same as in the supermarket? The whale shark excursion is one of our most popular excursions and due to it being far away (something we cannot do anything about), we ask guests to go together to keep the cost down for the transport. You were unfortunate to go on your own. Considering the cost for us to rent a van to Dumaguete (as mentioned above), you can imagine the cost of renting a van all te way to the whale sharks, plus the fee to take a van on a car ferry and the actual entrance fee to the whale sharks. We are very proud of our outdoor Warrior gym with its TRX bands, yoga balls, free weights and obstacle courses amongst other things, but we cannot have cardio machines outdoors. We try as much as possible to offer services that are out in our gardens, such as our yoga classes and our Spa, which won "World's Best Garden Spa" a year ago. We will definitely look into upgrading those parts of our gym equipment that has weathered a bit since we opened the gym two years ago and if anything is rusty, we apologize for that. All in all, thank you for some valuable feedback and we will extend your compliments to our staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WillTravel4Points wrote a review Jan 2020
San Francisco, California
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two nights here in a premium suite. Accommodations were nice, food was pretty good, helpful staff, and I’d return for the dive shop.

Room/bathroom: Beautiful, minimalist design and very big. Nespresso machine in room, as well as complimentary fruit and water. All other amenities you’d normally expect. The outdoor bathroom was huge and gorgeous, although somewhat impractical. It was kind of buggy and we didn’t want to waste electricity, so we constantly had to open and close the heavy sliding doors to the room (which was a minor inconvenience). Also mosquitoes, spiders, ants, and geckos came in the bathroom and sometimes the room, so we were shaking out our towels and always on the lookout while in the bathroom. Not a huge deal since it’s a tropical island, but if you’re scared of bugs: beware. Keep your bags zipped up in order to avoid surprises. Bed was very comfortable.

Food: Breakfast was amazing with a la carte and buffet options. The buffet was very well maintained. Lunch at the casual restaurant was okay (we learned to temper our expectations in the Philippines, as service was slow and food was not top notch anywhere we went). There was lots of variety and I liked the grill option where you picked your protein from a case. We liked the fine dining restaurant for dinner and would go back to that. We try to eat healthy and they definitely had great options (including plain yogurt, which can be surprisingly hard to find.)

Facilities: The warrior gym is so cool and has a smoothie bar (with protein powder!), and they have rental bikes and yoga/other classes. We didn’t get to try any of it since we had no time, but played around on the gym a little. They have a bakery and three pools, all of which looked great but again, no time. Spa was absolutely beautiful. We took advantage of the free Indian head massage, which was a nice welcome to the resort.

Beach: Meh. Not much of a beach, although it’s there if you want it. There is a lot of trash that washes up, which is kind of sad to see. It’s also really rocky, but it makes for good photos!

Dive shop: Impressive! Great gear, super professional dive masters and staff, great dive sites. We loved going out on the banca. It was well-equipped for our half day trip to Apo Island and the staff took great care of the divers and snorkelers. This is the main reason I’d return to Atmosphere and recommend it to friends.

I wish we had another day here so we could dive more and relax a bit, but I guess we’ll have to return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Hi and thank you for your kind and detailed review of Atmosphere. We are very pleased that you liked the room design and the amenities. We are very proud of our outdoor/indoor bathrooms and as much as we realize that it can lead to the occasional bug, we hope that the benefits of bird song during your shower made it all worth it! Also, thank you for your excellent comments regarding the breakfast buffet - yogurt is indeed hard to find! It is a shame you had no time to try our bakery, our Warrior Gym and Juice Bar, but there is always a next time! Regarding the brown sand beach, you are right that it is a bit rocky and due to it being a marine park, we cannot really modify it. As you said, it makes for dramatic photos and once you pass the pebbly area, the snorkeling is amazing. Due to tides, some trash is unfortunately washed up to the beach. Our dive center organizes regular beach cleanups with the staff where guests are welcome to join. We look forward to your return to Atmosphere for more dive excursions!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DocBench wrote a review Mar 2020
Muntinlupa, Philippines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere resort by far is the most luxurious of all the resirts in Dumaguete area. It has 5-star accommodations that can compare with other 5-star beach resorts in the Philippines. The property is vast with huge gardens for strolling. The beach tho is rocky so bring aqua boots. Good snorkeling in front of the resort but if the waves are strong this is nit for the weak of heart. Staff is excellent and very accommodating. Food tho is catered too much fir the foreigner taste. If you are looking for traditional food from the area, you will not find it in your breakfast meals. Traditional Filipino condiments are not readily available. We preferred to go to the city for the delicious seafood restaurants which is plenty in Dumaguete City. You will need to rent a van tho for 1000 pesos per way. But considering the food prices at the resort, you will end up paying this much anyway. Fun activities are also expensive at the resirt. We booked our activities with Dumagetme tours at much reasonable prices. Accommodations are excellent with cable tv and airconditioning. No sea view from rooms tho. You can cook upon request for utensils as some units have kitchens.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Hi and thank you for a great review of Atmosphere! We are very happy that you enjoyed the grounds, the rooms, the staff and the snorkeling. The beach is a bit rocky, but we have neoprene booties to lend to our guests to make the swimming and snorkeling more convenient. We are sorry to hear that you felt the food offerings were not that Filipino - we created a complete Filipino fusion menu in Ocean restaurant, aiming to give our guests a different feel for Filipino food, but we understand that the local restaurants have more traditional Filipino food and we are happy that you had some great seafood in Dumaguete during your stay. We offer AC'd private vans rides to Dumaguete city which is around 40 minutes away, but you can also chose to go by bus, tricycle or jeepney, which would come out a lot cheaper.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nelly D wrote a review Mar 2022
Nairobi, Kenya
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the atmosphere with friends for 5 days - we were a 12 PAX (6 kids and 6 adults). My friends were expecting similar experience as with the Shangri-La, I was not so my feedbacks are fairer! :)

The resort is most definitely beautiful, grounds are kept pristine. The 2 main swimming pools were a hit with the kids.

Rooms are huge, our bed was very comfy. Housekeeping was OK, but some effort should be made on amenities (for e.g. a 5* should typically provide disposable toiletries such as a toothbrush/toothpaste kit).

Food was generally good, varied enough for 5 days but frankly overpriced. If you can, do hire a van/Taxi to go experience food (esp. seafood) in Dumaguete, you won't be disappointed!

As for entertainment, the front beach is very nice for relaxing (swimming is rough though ). The resort has a PADI center. Our kids (8-15) got diving lessons with pro instructors who clearly were very good with kids, who had a blast and can't wait to do it again! The bar area was also entertaining, with 1 hour happy hour late afternoon. There is an open gym which is OK. The resorts also organizes some excursions, also grossly overpriced to be frank. Our trip to oslob was not a great experience.

Finally, I must say that the service was excellent!. Staff are always pleasant and very responsive to guests' every need.

All in all, I would rate our experience as good but not really value for money. But post pandemic, I am glad we did this!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Atmosphere Resorts, Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you for your great review of Atmosphere! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service, the diving, the grounds and the rooms. We put a big emphasis on being eco-friendly, which is why we do not have disposable amenities in the room. We have Toothbrush kits are however available upon request and we are sorry to hear that the information about that did not reach you. We hope to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JeNo M wrote a review Mar 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed overnight in one of their private villa with the pool. Their place in undeniably beautiful however their downfall are the tiny details, food and the service. Our room didn't have any complementary coffee or tea. Not even one. No extra tissue within the room and there’s only one roll of tissue in the toilet area. No extra towels and toothbrush provided. The soap and shampoo was not filled. We ordered coffee at the bar and it was the worst coffee I have ever tasted. It tasted like iced water. My partner asked me to just let it pass as the attendant could be new or whatnot. The portion serving of food at the dining area is less given how pricey it is. The pasta tasted horrible - it’s was like the cheese used was either expired or spoiled. Good for a one time experience but I will never come back. It’s also good for just an overnight stay not for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Atmosphere Resorts, Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Hi and thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear that there were items missing from your room and we sincerely hope that you called the front desk to amend those details, so that you could have a pleasant stay? As you visited during Covid, there was definitely parts of the service that needed amending (with some temporary and new staff, as you mentioned) and we hope that at this point we have sorted those issues out. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of Atmosphere though!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helena D wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are extremely beautiful as well as the territory (it's not that big).

Probably good for divers as they have boats and equipment and other things like special lockers.

We were disappointed by the beach: nowhere to go and you can't swim. No restaurant or bar in the surrounding, so you will need to eat and drink in the hotel. The prices are extremely high... a simple ordinary bottle of wine is about 40 eur the same I would buy for less than 7 eur at home.
Food ok but not extra. We tried the fine dining at the a la carte restaurant. It was ok but definitely not worth the price.

Something to consider is the level of service. You barely have 5 free minutes before someone comes to try to sell you something. At one point it seemed there's more stuff than guests and the stuff has commissions for cocktails they sell (that's the impression due to how often they come to advertise).

The downside is that all living creatures can enter your room. On last day we had a huge dead cockroach on the floor and a big lizard was in the bathroom during the whole stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear Helena, thank you for your extensive review of Atmosphere Resorts & Spa. We are very excited that you loved the rooms, and yes you are correct, the scuba diving and snorkeling are spectacular here. You did not mention if you had the chance to go snorkeling in Apo island but it is stunning with incredible coral and lots of sea turtles. The beach along the Dauin coast is brown sand and rocky in places - this is due to the volcanic nature of the area. Because Atmosphere is built on a beach where the sea is a marine protected area, we are not allowed to alter the coastline in any way - we can not even remove bigger rocks and definitely not build any structures in the water. However we have beach/snorkeling booties in the dive centre that we lend to guests to make it easier to enter the water. The snorkeling equipment is also free of charge and right next to Atmosphere, the snorkeling is fantastic. Most of our guests enjoy the fact that we are set quietly on a beach without surrounding restaurants and beach vendors, but we understand that it is not for everyone - we do have two restaurants just to make sure that there is a choice for our guests. Being a 5-star resort, with the level of service that it expected, means that we have a lot of staff and we have to get the best produce - which many times is not available on our island and has to be imported - this goes for wine but also for other parts of our F&B. This brings up the F&B rates, but we are just at par or below the rates of restaurants in Manila or Cebu. The staff has no commission on sales whatsoever but our beach butlers and bar staff are keen to do a great job - we are sorry if they become overbearing at times. We will certainly bring that up with them so that it doesn't become too much! Big apologies for the bug in your room - we are set in nature with indoor/outdoor bathrooms and occasionally we have an unwelcome visitor but it is never pleasant when that happens. The local lizards (tokos) can be a little noisy but they cannot be shut out and the positive is that they eat insects, and therefore help us out! We hope that you overall had a pleasant holiday and wish you will come back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles_Atienza wrote a review Dec 2022
Cebu City, Philippines
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second time. Last stay was three years ago.

Check in was seamless. Whisked away to our premium pool suite. Staff were courteous and extended help with the luggages.

Headed to the poolside for lunch. Ordered two piñacoladas, carbonara and a regular pizza, size was reiterated, yet we were served with large.

After lunch, we headed back to the suite to take a shower and to brush my teeth.

To my bewilderment, no toothbrush, no comb, no cotton buds, no cottons.

I phoned up concierge to make them aware but several moments later, only toothbrushes were provided.

Not what i expected from a premium suite.

Perhaps we could do better.

And one more thing, if the weather would not permit us from crossing to Apo Island, i hope we do get a full refund since there was a gale warning for two days now.

We could not consume P14,000 as hotel credits in just two nights.

We’re staying here to celebrate our 14th anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Atmosphere Resorts, Owner at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Dear Charles, thank you for writing a revew about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that there were parts of the experience that you didn't enjoy, but we loved to hear that the check-in was smooth and staff was courteous. We have a very strict policy against disposable plastics - and when possible also other disposable items - in the resort. We have refillable lotion, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner as well as soap in all rooms. If guests have forgotten to bring toothbrushes, we provide eco-friendly bamboo toothbrushes. However, we do not offer combs, cotton buds or other toileteries as we feel that this is an unnecessary waste, as most people just take them home. We are very sorry that you could not go to Apo island - when there is a gale warning we just aren't allowed to go. We apologise for the inconvenience and will look into our procedures for resort credit. Warm regards from the team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Gaia04
Milan, Italy115 contributions110 helpful votes
We did not feel the exigencies to exit the resorts. But for sure the consierge will assist you with any requests
SSE1133 asked a question Nov 2018
California127 contributions10 helpful votes
Is the pool heated?
Answer from Cyril Dave Lim
30 contributions46 helpful votes
No it is not heated. You don’t need a heated pool mostly in the Philippines
Answer from AtmosphereManager
Dauin, Dumaguete City23 contributions
Hi Kamilla! Yes you can still use our spa services but we would require prior reservations and if we are fully booked we may not be able to accommodate you. Please send an email to enquiries and we will send a complete spa menu with rates. Thank you!
ruben j wrote a tip 14 Jul
Switzerland21 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The penthouse is great for families with more than enough space!"
Read full review
Kevin R wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't miss the nightly happy hour by the pool. "
Read full review
Camper175543 wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing staff! "
Read full review
Claire wrote a tip May 2024
West Sussex, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the specials! Enjoy some yoga on the platform overlooking the sea. Make sure you book in a massage."
Read full review
Vivian Orberg wrote a tip May 2024
15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be fooled by their marketing and make some effort to research this place and other resorts with better value."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dauin area.
PRICE RANGE
€241 - €289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
atmosphere hotel dauin, atmosphere hotel negros, atmosphere resort negros
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasNegros IslandNegros OrientalDauin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ATMOSPHERE RESORTS & SPA - UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Dauin/Dumaguete City, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Atmosphere Resorts & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Malatapay Market (5.3 km), Uzi's (3.9 km), and Halauy Hydroponics (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Finbar, Dauin Dive Cafe, and Thalatta Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Atmosphere Resorts & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Atmosphere Resorts & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Atmosphere Resorts & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Atmosphere Resorts & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, Dutch, Swedish, and Filipino.
All Dauin HotelsDauin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dauin
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire