We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tara Palace

Show Prices
#32 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tara Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 132: English reviews
Start your review of Tara Palace
 Click to rate
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We were at in this hotel for 3 days. The only good part about this place is the proximity to M G Road. The rooms are horribly maintained while the food is extremely ordinary. The service is also pathetic. Absolute no value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avaind
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Gaurang and his team is just awesome. Food is very good. Our rooms ( 106 and 108 ) was road facing and was not having great view but rooms are spacious and clean. 110% for Gaurang's personal look after for every single thing right from food, room service etc. Was bonus for us since he was from Maharashtra. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sachin D
Reviewed 1 week ago

The very next moment you get inside the huge rooms at Tara Palace, trust you shall be amazed. The amazing view from the balcony is seldom found anywhere there. The food, the staff, everything was just out of the box. Thanks tara Palace for making our gangtok stay 'special'

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sushil R
Tarapalace1, Operation Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Respected Sir, Greetings from Hotel Tara Palace Gangtok!!! Sir firstly we Team Tara Palace would like to express our gratitude to you for giving your valuable feedback and review, your word of appreciation to your team motivates and inspire them to give their best in hospitality, We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful and memorable stay...

Reviewed 1 week ago

It is posh and very near to the mall road. The staff is quite friendly.Normal as well as suite rooms available. The view from one facade of the building is breath taking. Make sure you get that side room. Loved staying here for 2 nights, was quite comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swiny C
Tarapalace1, Operation Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Respected Sir, Greetings from Hotel Tara Palace Gangtok !!!!! Sir team Tara Palace would like to express their sincere gratitude for giving your valuable feedback and review, We are really happy to know that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us, Your reviews means a lot to us and gives our team the motivation to do better. We...

Pune, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in suite room of Tara Palace. Huge and clean room with huge bathroom. Amazing view from the room. Tip of Kanchanjanga can be viewed from the room. Very co-operative staff. Variety and taste of the food for dinner can be improved. Breakfast was awesome. Mr. Gaurang. manager of the hotel is very courteous. Hotel is very near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 921suhas
Tarapalace1, Operation Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Respected Sir, Greetings from Hotel Tara Palace Gangtok !!!!! Sir firstly team Tara Palace would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and giving your valuable feedback, We are really happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and Team Tara Palace was always on their toes to serve you and help...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Complimentary rooms doesn't mean you can't provide the best. The reason you provide complimentary rooms is to showcase your hotel and it service!If you want the guest to come back, you put best foot forward! Unfortunately I felt as second class guest and hence I am not coming back! Also, you food is below average and staff is untrained! Sorry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj T
Tarapalace1, Operation Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Respected Sir, Greetings from Hotel Tara Palace Gangtok!!! Sir thank you for sparing out your valuable time and giving your kind feedback, Sir we have given the complimentary rooms of deluxe category as requested by your event organizers but we have not compromised on the quality of the the services as we know that all the guest coming to our...

Reviewed 16 March 2017

Like - Good room, reasonable price, nice food, good house keeping, view from dining was excellent. Not like- For local visit, taxi booking etc, hotel staff charging more money than normal market rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rajendra S
Tarapalace1, Operation Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Respected Sir, Greetings from Hotel Tara Palace Gangtok !!!! Sir Team Tara Palace would like to express our sincere gratitude for sparing out your valuable time and giving your feedback and review. Sir we are happy to know that you had a wonderful and comfortable stay with us, We apologies if you have found the travel charges high we will...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Good hotel. Rooms are spacious. - good ambience - very close to MG Road - 5 minutes walk (major attraction of Gangtok - a place where one must spend few hours) -Always ask for room facing Kanchanjanga hills. Evenings are lively from balcony seems that stars hv come down, morning with a cup of tea in balcony shows a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anils50
Tarapalace1, Operation Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Respected Sir, Greetings from Hotel Tara Palace Gangtok !!!!!! Sir firstly we Team Tara Palace would like to thank you for giving your valuable feedback and review, We are really pleased to know that you had a great time staying with us and wonderful memories of Sikkim. Sir we will surely look into your suggestion and will do our best...

Reviewed 25 February 2017

Stayed at Tara palace in the month of April, 2016. Had an awesome experience. the view from the Dining was very nice with greenery all around. Rooms were big and spacious. However, what turned us off was that for the amount they charged us for Extra persons, we were provided extra mattresses. Would have preferred Extra Beds instead of Extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandhya r
Tarapalace1, Guest Relations Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Tara Palace, Gangtok and we thank you for sharing your review through TripAdvisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed the serene ambiance at the hotel. Your generous praise is highly appreciated.We have noted our little drawback regarding extra bed, will definitely act on it.Once again Thank you...

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Worst services of d hotel....no water in d washroom,neither d staf is helpful in nature....juzz keep dem calling again n again but no response ...services are to late..when i asked for a other room det simple denied dat vcant provide u the other room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh G
Tarapalace1, Operation Manager at Tara Palace, responded to this review

Respected Sir, Greetings from Hotel Tara Palace Gangtok!!!! Sir firstly would like to thank you for your kind feedback and sorry for replying late. As per your feedback given I had personally checked into the matter and found out that the water problem was due to some piping problem for about 10 to 15 minutes which was resolved immediately and...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#3 of 113 in Gangtok
188 reviews
0.7 km away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#33 of 113 in Gangtok
112 reviews
1.3 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
2.1 km away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#24 of 113 in Gangtok
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opened in April 2013, Tara Palace Hotel unleashes an ultra-modern hotel experience in Gangtok. Newly built and located next to top tourist, entertainment and business attractions, Tara Palace, Gangtok offers modern amenities and convenient services with a fashionable twist. Located one block from M.G.Marg, this hotel is walking distance to all this wonder city has to offer. Whether traveling for pleasure or business, everyone can have fun while staying with us. Gangtok's newest luxury hotel incorporates design elements of Himalayan-Buddhist architecture. The hotel boasts 37 extravagant rooms and suites, exquisite dining at Restaurant & Lounge and innovative meeting space for productive corporate functions and chic special events. The rooms are spacious and distinctively modern in style and arrangement. All our Superior, Studio & Suite rooms offer breathtaking views of Mount Kanchenjunga (Kanchendzonga) and the surrounding valley. The Deluxe rooms do not offer valley view. All the rooms are fitted out luxuriously. We also offer ample options for dining & entertainment with a Sports Bar 'Homeground' & Discotheque PLUR in our building complex. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tara Palace

Address: Nam Nang Road | Near Big Bazaar, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Price Range: €46 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tara Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace Gangtok, India - Sikkim
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tara Palace staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tara Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book Delux room but superior. very noisy.”
, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Valley facing rooms for sure”
Milanittal, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose valley view rooms as road facing rooms could be noisy but to save on cost you may choose road facing.”
SanjayRJain, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“wifi in hotel is just for name ....not working”
keiajai, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms are good, dont choose deluxe rooms.”
Robin_Isyas, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5