We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Promenade

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Promenade
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,021 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 959: English reviews
Geneva
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff very helpful - the manager came round at breakfast asking if everything was good (a nice touch). Food is good - this afternoon there was a table full of income tax officials having a nice lunch - so clearly has the local vote. There are so many lovely old French colonial hotels - I wondered whether staying in one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swisstim
ledupleixpondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you o much for the Kind words and we are happy that you had excellent stay at the Promenade and also the food. Hoping to see you soon here. Ravi

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good business type hotel facing sea. Room size ok not big. Amenities as needed for a business hotel. B Fast was elobrate and tasty. V good service with staff ready to be of help. Little lacking in Maintainance. Bathroom door was difficult to open and my wife was stuck.Later the handle came out while opening from inside. However was attended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R471
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for being our guest during your trip to Pondicherry. I am glad that we have been able to make your visit memorable. I am looking forward to welcoming you to The Promenade upon your next visit to Pondicherry. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests once...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best place to visit in Pondicherry. It is designed in a French style and is apt to visit early morning and in the evening. Enjoy the tranquil place by just sitting on the fence along the sea side or just indulge in some morning walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnujaMangle
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have read quite a few reviews prior to booking this hotel for two nights , and must state initially that the location is the selling point of this hotel other than that it's a dirty smelly location that's overpriced . I checked into my room and was allocated a room , on opening the room door I was over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank samwell69
ledupleixpondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

The guest was unhappy with the room provided to him and we acknowledged his complaint and changed the room immediately , and after that we had called him to check if he was ok with room , he had called the reception for the towels in the night and we had delivered it within 5 mins , and at the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our first visit to Pondicherry and ''The Promenade'' helped us made it memorable and beautiful ! The hotel is situated at the nerve centre of white town and a sea facing hotel with beautiful view of the light house. The staff was very well mannered, courteous, friendly and always smiling. We stayed at the Promenade for 5 days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swapnil M
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for being our guest during your trip to Pondicherry. I am glad that we have been able to make your visit memorable. I am looking forward to welcoming you to The Promenade upon your next visit to Pondicherry. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests once...

mumbai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent our new years at this property ...It's a nice boutique property very well located on the promenade and in the nerve centre of white town the heart of Puducherry While the staff and service at the property is quite decent ...The property itself looks a bit run down and needs a facelift.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasmeet c
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for being our guest during your trip to Pondicherry. I am glad that we have been able to make your visit memorable. I am looking forward to welcoming you to The Promenade upon your next visit to Pondicherry. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests once...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nicely located hotel - the staff was friendly and courteous. The food was quite decent as well. All in all a good package. The service was slow - but that is something I experienced in all of pondi. The plunge pool of the hotel was quaint and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sujaln2015
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for being our guest during your trip to Pondicherry. I am glad that we have been able to make your visit memorable. I am looking forward to welcoming you to The Promenade upon your next visit to Pondicherry. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests once...

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a tough one, as I was in a family party of four in two rooms, and everyone had a different opinion... however, as this is 'my' review: Location great, on the historic promenade of Pondi, however those who rely on history for their facts of the town should know that the beach has totally gone and replaced by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark p
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for Staying with us and thank you for taking out the time to review us on TripAdvisor. First and foremost, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit. I hope you will reconsider and do visit The Promenade in the future. It would be my pleasure...

Topanga, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Promenade contains a nice pool and scrumptious food and drinks. Breakfast serves a crepe and omelette buffet, and the bar serves great mocktails and cocktails. It has fantastic, helpful, and attentive staff. I recommend this well-located hotel if you are staying in Pondicherry, India. 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noesfine
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for being our guest during your trip to Pondicherry. I am glad that we have been able to make your visit memorable. I am looking forward to welcoming you to The Promenade upon your next visit to Pondicherry. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests once...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best part about this hotel is their location. Right at the sea shore and you even hear the sound of waves while you eat at their restaurant. Rooms could be improved. They appear a bit old. Food is decent though. Overall definitely this places gets a high due to its location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jai T
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for being our guest during your trip to Pondicherry. I am glad that we have been able to make your visit memorable. I am looking forward to welcoming you to The Promenade upon your next visit to Pondicherry. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests once...

423 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (415)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (182)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
3.3 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 72 in Pondicherry
548 reviews
0.6 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 72 in Pondicherry
436 reviews
15.5 km away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#14 of 72 in Pondicherry
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#12 of 72 in Pondicherry
800 reviews
6.0 km away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
3.2 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 72 in Pondicherry
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Promenade

Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Price Range: €78 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Promenade staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Paris, France
21 hours ago
Chennai (Madras), India

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Promenade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing room should be requested”
 of 5 bubbles R471, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view, upper level, near wifi router :-)”
 of 5 bubbles markp759, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take a sea facing room!”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea facing Rooms are simply superb!”
 of 5 bubbles nripengogoi, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Large and Spacious. Lemon Grass favoured”
 of 5 bubbles Altfo, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay