We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
32 Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001 India
Lowest prices for your stay
US$67
View deal
Booking.com
eDreams
US$67
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$67
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (218)
Room & Suite (40)
Pool & Beach (25)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A special place to be in Pondicherry. In the French Quarters, our house La Closerie translation from French a house surrounded by trees and bushes and this is exactly what you will find if you come and stay with us Luxury bedrooms surrounding the swimming pool with plants and trees. Small Private areas to unwind and talk among friends and other guests. Just outside La Closerie you will find the famous Pondicherry promenade and many restaurants where you can choose French / Indian cuisine.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Street parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French
254Reviews6Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 43
  • 17
  • 13
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Raymond P wrote a review Dec 2019
Paris, France66 contributions30 helpful votes
Paid Rs 15200 in advance for 2 nights. Got Room 2,ground floor. No window at all. Three of 6 spot lights hanging out of their sockets and not working. Nowhere to place suitcase to unpack. No drinking glasses. No ventilation at all in the sealed bathroom. Two of 6 spots worked rest falling out of the ceiling. Mirror cracked . Toilet bowl and seat stained.One bar of soap and nothing else. No toilet hand shower. Seedy and unmaintained Reception/ house manager on duty from 9.30 to 18.30. Otherwise property is unmanned. No security at night. Nothing available in this hotel except breakfast . That is spartan with filthy old mugs.The toast is toasted on one side only which epitomizes the meanness of this hotel. The so called pool is chipped, full of leaves and deteriorating. The owner should be thoroughly ashamed.. Avoid this place at all cost. You have been warned
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Kausi_65 wrote a review Nov 2019
Bengaluru, India40 contributions7 helpful votes
The place looks very artistic . But facilities are lacking. There is no health faucet in the toilet. Apparently the owner is an European and didn't want it. But one should mention this in the site if you are only toilet paper friendly. Basic amenities like drinking glasses, kettle to heat water are lacking. And the irony is there is no one around to ask. Understaffed and poorly managed. The only positive is the location but there are hundred others in the same budget that provide much better value for the money. And surely better service
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Closeriepondicherry, General Manager at La Closerie
Responded 13 Nov 2019
Dear Kausi, Thanks for your review, it looks very strange, as you may have looked, on google, for the same dates, the reviews from others guest are not at all the same. I understand that you enjoyed this artistic place, but unfortunately, you did not enjoyed the service, in a place where we have 24/7 staff inside. To whom you can ask when ever you want tea, cofee, juice. We decided not to provide kettle, for this reason only. Happy you enjoyed the location, but if you find another place, with such big rooms and a pool, plus all the private terrasse we have here, you will be defenitly very lucky, because, I am following that daily, and we are for the same kind of category very cheap compair, to the others who also have pool in this part of the city, and we are not a lot of place who luckily have a pool. Best regards,
Read more
Drjenit wrote a review Oct 2019
Modasa, India10 contributions1 helpful vote
Complete colonial house and feel like u went into back to 18th century! Nice home, architecture, nice staff but for food i ll give 0 point. Breakfast not at par with normal basic level, but yes staff is so helpful. If u are looking for complete hotel stay then big no, its a home not a hotel!! But i love it
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chandra M, General Manager at La Closerie
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Dear Drjenit, Thanks for your review here, thanks to specify, yes we want to be a Home for you, we enjoy the fact it is house, where you have 14 rooms only. For the breakfast, we work on that, and we are able to propose you everyday something different, based on the fresh product we will be able to find here daily. So from the French baguette, to the crepe, or French croissant to the omelette, we are here giving a good range of fresh product to everybody here; Looking forward, Best regards,
Read more
suvidhijain10 wrote a review Oct 2019
New Delhi, India7 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is so beautiful, every corner of the hotel is nicely done. It has a wonderful ambience and is a perfect place to unwind. We had the most relaxing time at this cute little hotel. The staff is super helpful and polite, so is the owner. I would love to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Chandra M, General Manager at La Closerie
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Thanks a lot for your feedback here, it is really appreciated.
Read more
Amrita wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
We stayed at their newly opened property which had its teething issues. A/c not working , mosquitoes etc. which is fine , however the staff are generally too “busy” to be hospitalble. No kettle in the room asked for coffee and it won’t come because they were busy making breakfast ( which btw is bread and butter , store bought, don’t expect any fruit with it!) . Overall ok for a day or 2 . Definitely not recommended with family as they’re prolly used to back packers and will not cater to the special needs of kids ( extra milk etc ) without frowning at you .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Chandra M, General Manager at La Closerie
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Dear Amrita, Thanks for your feedback, it looks you had a very bad experience, in a very nice house, we are sorry for you. In between, we work very hard to fullfilll all request coming from our respected guest. Yes the house just opened for your stay, and you might have been informed that you were one of our first guest in the house. We solved the electrical issues we face for our first days, and everything is now clear. Hope you will give us another chance to make your stay unforgatable. Best regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaUnion Territory of PondicherryPondicherry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Closerie
Which popular attractions are close to La Closerie?
Nearby attractions include Rock Beach (0.2 km), Eglise de Notre Dame des Anges (0.2 km), and Cluny Embroidery Centre (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Closerie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at La Closerie?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Closerie?
Conveniently located restaurants include LA VILLA, Villa Shanti, and Gelateria Montecatini Terme.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Closerie?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Closerie?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to La Closerie?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vedapureeswarar Temple, Puducherry (0.7 km), Church Of Our Lady Of Good Health (4.2 km), and Arikamedu Archaeological Site (3.2 km).