We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Punta del Roquito 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura Spain
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Up to 25% Off Summer Sale
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
US$130
View deal
Booking.comUS$136
Priceline
TravelocityUS$136
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2043)
360
Panoramas (10)
Pool & Beach (334)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 15/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from H10 Playa Esmeralda
Updated 15/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 26 hotels in Costa Calma
Travellers' Choice
H10 Playa Esmeralda is an adults-only hotel near Costa Calma, on the southeast coast of Fuerteventura. There's a range of daytime and evening activities organised by the staff, as well as plenty to do independently around the hotel. The hotel's buildings are all arranged to face in towards the pool area. There's a sun terrace and a garden, an outdoor pool with a pool bar, and space to enjoy sports activities in the sunshine. The hotel has three restaurants, one of which was renovated in 2018. There are also several bars to choose from, including a lobby bar with a terrace, and a disco bar, which is open until late. Inside, you'll find a heated indoor pool, as well as a gym for keeping up with your workouts on holiday. You could relax in the spa and sauna when you've finished your exercise. In the evenings, there's live entertainment organised by the hotel, or you can find the table tennis and pool tables for a few friendly games after dinner. The reception at H10 Playa Esmeralda is open 24hrs a day, and there's free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The island of Fuerteventura is popular with holidaymakers of all kinds for its romantic scenery and relaxed way of life. It has sandy beaches and a warm climate, as well as dramatic volcanic landscapes to explore. There are plenty of places to eat, drink and shop in the many resorts around the island, with lots of local markets and bars to discover.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Up to 25% Off Summer Sale

Location

Full view
Contact
Calle Punta del Roquito 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Puerto del Rosario Airport53 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1926Reviews286Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 861
  • 653
  • 252
  • 100
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
trevordodd2008 wrote a review Aug 2021
Wickford, United Kingdom4 contributions
We wrote a review while at the hotel and thought it fair to write another on our return. The hotel is situated on an amazing beach. We have visited this area before but not this hotel. We love walking along the beaches but this is area is windy. It is known for windsurfing and kiteboarding but if you don’t like the wind this area is not for you. The wind was particularly bad the last two days and beach walking wasn’t as pleasant with the sand blowing up but that is not the hotel’s fault. Not for the hotel: Positives: We booked a Privilege room (no. 1209) on an all inclusive basis. Although hard to find (better signposting needed) it was a lovely location overlooking the sea. Privilege gives you access to the a la carte restaurant for breakfast and dinner. We ate in there every day twice a day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. At dinner there was ‘specials’ menu every day or you could choose from the main menu. The food was generally very good. Motse (waitress) was very friendly and loved practising her English. She was so efficient wherever she was working. We mostly ate lunch at the pool bar which was table service. Some items are not free of charge unless you are a Privilege guest. Again the food was very good. We ate lunch 3 times in the buffet restaurant. The food was hot although we did arrive just after opening so can’t comment if it remained hot. Tables were promptly cleared and drinks delivered to the tables. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and there was never a problem getting one which is unusual for August. This could be because the hotel was not operating at full capacity. The indoor entertainment room was closed although we were quite glad as didn’t really like the look of it! Entertainment was held in the pool bar and started at 9pm. It was quite empty to begin with but often filled up. Some of the singers were really good – some not as good. There were lots of daytime activities such as aqua aerobics, yoga, mini golf, darts, aqua bikes, aqua yoga (so hard!!) etc. These were organised by Valentina. She was such a friendly lady who spoke several languages. She was ALWAYS smiling and had so much energy. Negatives: As said in my previous review the queues for the bar were long. The pool bar which was holding the entertainment had ONE person serving and the queue was huge every night. The main reception had 2 people working but again had queues every night. Glasses were not cleared from tables either as there just weren’t enough staff. It only improved one the restaurant had shut and staff came across to help out. The bar staff were not friendly or accommodating. The floor around the pool area was never cleaned in the 9 days we were there. It was sticky on the floor around the sunbeds and cups were often left laying around for a couple of days. We took to getting some water and cleaning the floor where we were sitting. This is not acceptable. Other hotels we have visited clean the pool floors daily. If Motse hadn’t told us about the all the lunch menu at the pool bar being free to Privilege guests we would never have known as this was never mentioned by any other staff member during our stay. This was same with Mike’s Coffee Shop. Cakes were included for Privilege guests but it didn’t say this anywhere. Reception should be communicating this with guests on arrival or there should be signs around the hotel. We never used the outdoor Privilege area as it was all under cover and we like to sit in the sun. We couldn’t work out how the wristband system worked as during the day people were sitting in this area without Privilege bands on and taking drinks from the Privilege area. As mentioned in my previous review, the cocktail menu was very disappointing. There was no flexibility on the cocktail menu – if it wasn’t on there you couldn’t have it – even though all the ingredients were available. I know other H10 hotels have been much more accommodating with this to the point where they enjoyed being shown how to make different cocktails but as I said before the bar staff were not happy people. It was a shame the outside entertainment was only on for an hour. It started at 9 and a lot of people didn’t arrive until 9.15/9.30 then it stopped just after 10. The gym didn’t open until 8.30am which we found was too late as breakfast finished at 10.30 so made it a rush to get back and shower and get to breakfast. 8.00am would be better. Most people like to work out early to avoid the heat. The bath in our room needed replacing. It was rusty and dirty looking. It looked like other areas of the bathroom had been replaced but not the bath. So the overall question – would we return? The answer if yes. For the price we paid (we had a 20% summer discount) it was a good hotel. It is fairly small and adults only which suited us. Just hope the problems can be sorted if we were to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Públicas, Atención al cliente/recepción at H10 Playa Esmeralda
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Trevor, Thank you very much for your detailed rating here on TripAdvisor. We thank you for all the frank words and we are pleased that you were satisfied with our Privilege Service and also with our staff. We are happy to pass on the praise. We are also glad that you mentioned the food at our pool bar positively and that you enjoyed the daytime entertainment program. We would also like to thank you for your feedback with regard to the staff at the bar and the waiting times there. It is extremely important to get to know the opinion of our guests, as this is the only way we can take care of improvements and train our employees better. Regarding the pool zone, we will immediately forward this information to our housekeeping. Basically, this area should be cleaned daily, so we will check this poin asap. We are also very sorry that you did not receive certain information about the Privilege Services and you were therefore unable to fully use the offers. Of course we will make sure that this does not happen again in the future and that the guests are fully informed during their check-in. Your feedback regarding the evening entertainment, the range of our cocktail menu and the opening times of the fitness studio we will give to the respective departments and also to the management of the hotel. Only when we receive such open words as yours we have the opportunity to become better and change various things, so we thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. In any case, we hope that, despite the mentioned points, you had a nice stay with us and it would be great if you would choose our hotel again for a vacation. Greetings from Fuerteventura and all the best for you! Stay healthy and take care!
Read more
Anna N wrote a review Oct 2020
33 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I have been together with my friend, on weekly all inclusive with TUI. We have been located in marvelous room. We did have mixed feelings when going after reading some of the comments here. But we spend lovely time: the staff of the hotel is superb, kind helpful and very positive what bring guests chilling and good atmosphere. We did love animations! They kept us fit:) We could also choose always something good and healthy for each meal. Nice jazz concerts at evening was perfect closure of the day:) TUI let’s us go back soon! We did enjoyed it a lot! Special thanks to Manuel and Ali and all staff from Maxorata and lobby bar Parrots for keeping our belly and glasses full:)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Públicas, Atención al cliente/recepción at H10 Playa Esmeralda
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Dear guest, Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are so happy that you spend a wonderful time with us and that you made so many positive experiences here at H10 Playa Esmeralda during your stay. We also want to thank you for your kind words towards our staff, the location in general, the food and our staff. It is really nice to know that you had great holidays here and it would be a big pleasure to have you here again in the future. We send you lots of sunny greetings from Fuerteventura! Stay stafe and see you soon again!
Read more
Cdogg0087 wrote a review Aug 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Positives: - The ice cream. The ice cream at the pool bar is delicious and the best quality food this hotel has the offer. Which isn't saying much as it comes in a mix and out of a machine. -The room. The room was decent quality. We selected a sea view and definitely had a beautiful sea view. -The location. The location is very close to a beach, like 3 min walk. Negatives- -all inclusive. All inclusive til midnight, as the main bar in the hotel lobby shuts then and that's the latest bar. Never been to a hotel that advertised all inclusive but didn't provide a bar to get a drink or snack, at any time. -The room. We were in 1523 and almost daily there were hotel run actives right outside the door, with awful loud music and lots of talking. Nothing worse than being woken up by trash music when you trying to sleep in or have a nap in the afternoon. -the hotel staff. The maid was cleaning our room and broke a mirror I had bought with me from home. She tried to lie to me and say the wind broke it when I saw her behind knock it over. Was offered an unfit for purpose cheap replacement which I refused. Other offers were made but they weren't of the value of the mirror. Was told by receptionist roxanne to leave my bank details and I'd be reimbursed. I left my bank detail, only to get an email when I was back in uk, saying no reimbursement would be given. Had to check my bank daily incase of fraudulent activity. -the bar staff. The bar staff have zero imagination, asked them to make me and my partner a random cocktail of their choice and they refused. We asked them to make us a cocktail with our list and first they refused. Then they gave it us In separated glasses, so all ingredients in their own glasses..8 glasses for 2 cocktails! They refused us cranberry juice because "that's just for cocktails on list" Even though we were all inclusive. -the food. The food was simply not nice and tasteless. Unfortunately we were all inclusive. The breakfast is more catered to Germans...with many german sausages that look undercooked. Best thing was the churros, the fruit and the fresh orange juice. The lunch buffet is the worse, we stopped going after the second day. Breakfast leftovers and random bits of food.They offer lunch and the pool bar, but that isn't much better... they somehow manged to make nachos taste horrible, which is a simple dish. At dinner they have a fresh meat cooking station but the only seasoning they use is a pinch of salt... they had steak, lamb, fish ect but all 'seasoned' with a pinch of salt, so it's bland. Sometimes it's not even cooked throughout. Luckily the last 4 days we ate dinner outside of the hotel and actually got to enjoy a meal -The drinks.we were all inclusive and the drinks that are given at bars are those horrid pre-mix drinks...the coke is not nice. We learned you only get the quality bottled drinks at the buffet with meals...so drank alot there. The cocktail list is also poor and the quality of the cocktail leave alot to be desired. -The location. Over an hour away from the airport. The hotel charges you 100euro each way for a transfer. Do not use this, me and my partner just took a taxi from the airport for 80euros and the taxi back was around 80euros too. We saved over 240euros not using the hotel transfer. Taxis on the island have price guides and are safe. The hotel is situated on the windy side of the island...windy alot, especially at evening/night. The beach is also very windy, wil get sand everywhere. -The atmosphere. The atmosphere of the hotel was rather poor. Wasn't much going on at the eveing bar the poor entertainment. The only decent day of entertainment was Tuesday. -excursions. They don't offer excursions, even though the hotel doesn't provide much entertainment. I am VERY unimpressed with the food and the staff, I don't think I will stay at a H10 hotel again, if this is the standard they offer. Only real good thing is that me and partner can make a good time out of anything, so we made it a nice break In these covid days.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chris D wrote a review Aug 2021
Wickford, United Kingdom6 contributions13 helpful votes
We arrived yesterday. Booked a privilege room which gives an a la carte restaurant. Food last night was amazing. The main entertainment room is closed which meant the reception bar was crazily busy last night with only 2 staff working resulting in constant queues and tables never being cleared until restaurant staff came over at around 10.30pm. Bit disappointed the coffee shop doesn't open until 1pm and shuts at 7pm. Lots of premium drinks available but cocktail menu is fairly limited. Tried to order an espresso martini from the reception bar but was told this would cost 7 euros. However it is available from the coffee shop free of charge so makes no sense as all the ingredients are included on the all inclusive list! Gym doesn't open til 8.30 could do with being a bit earlier. Pool area is lovely and hotel is on an amazing beach.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Públicas, Atención al cliente/recepción at H10 Playa Esmeralda
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear Chris D, thank you so much for this honest, open and yet kind review. We appreciate you taking a moment of your time to share your opinion with us. Feedback like yours is always very important to us, as it helps us to improve, there where improvement is needed. Now first of all we would like to say thank you for all your compliments towards the privilege restaurant and their food. We are very happy you are enjoying it all and we will be sure to share your compliments with the staff. Now regarding your remarks about the cocktail menu, allow me to just shortly reply. As we understand that you may not agree with one cocktail being free on one menu and being charged on another menu, unfortunately the reason for this, is that some of our bars offer exclusive drinks. And the Espresso-Martini being one of them, for Mike´s Coffee. We will however, pass all your remarks with the corresponding departments and also the hotel management. Once again, we are very grateful for your honesty. Regardless, we do hope, you are gonna keep enjoying your stay here and that you will be able to get the fullest out of our service. Please know that if you need anything, our entire staff will remain at your full disposal. Have a lovely rest of your holidays and sunny greetings!
Read more
Swoody1971 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom38 contributions24 helpful votes
We love this hotel and have stayed many times in the last few years, this visit was in mid-September after we had to rearrange 3 times since April due to the virus. We had to quarantine for 14 days on return but decided it was worth it as we missed this place but had no idea what to expect on arrival. We should not have worried the Esmeralda staff all are doing an outstanding job at a very difficult time with the place as spotless as ever, the cleaning staff did not stop and were mopping and wiping everything to keep us all safe. I have seen recent reviews on the food being poor and cold which I can understand as on this visit the main restaurant was nowhere near as good as in Pre Covid visits but there is your reason!! The hotel was running at 25-30% of usual capacity and having to adhere to Covid guidelines, trying to serve buffet style food for a reduced number of people over a 3-hour service time is a very difficult thing to do!! On this trip we stayed in a Prestige Junior Suite as we took advantage of the H10 25% off offer. The room was superb, we loved the Prestige restaurant which we ate in a few times during our stay. Name (his name) the server was a superstar and had I not been such a fussy eater we would have ate here more. We had a great 10-night stay and would like to thank all the staff at the hotel for doing such a great job at a time where there is much uncertainty on the Islands. They are a credit to H10 and I am so grateful that despite such low visitors they are keeping open so that we can get some much needs rest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Públicas, Atención al cliente/recepción at H10 Playa Esmeralda
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Dear guest, Thank you so much for this really great review and all your kind words. We are more than happy that you spend a great time here at H10 Playa Esmeralda and that you mentioned our staff so positively. It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your holidays here and that you felt safe during your stay with all our safety measures. We hope that we can welcome you again soon here at our little paradise and we send you lots of sunny greetings from Fuerteventura! See you soon and take care!
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsFuerteventuraJandia PeninsulaPajaraCosta Calma
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about H10 Playa Esmeralda
Which popular attractions are close to H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Nearby attractions include Playa Esmeralda (0.5 km), Green Life (1.1 km), and Costa Calma Green Life (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Bar de Marko y Moni, Caretta Beach 2, and 555 Restaurant & Terrace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does H10 Playa Esmeralda offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at H10 Playa Esmeralda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to H10 Playa Esmeralda?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Villa Winter (15.8 km).