We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Sun Hotel

Save
Share
Zakynthos, Kalamaki 291 00 Greece
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$123
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
Lol.travelUS$128
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (945)
Room & Suite (181)
Dining (85)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 29 hotels in Kalamaki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A modern resort, the ideal place for those seeking after a relaxing holiday.Comfortable accomodation and friendly service should prove a winning from break. It's ideal for couples and families. The location of Golden Sun Hotel is one of its main assets: built just 150 meters from the sandy beach of Kalamaki, surrounded by evergreen trees and situated only 6 km from the island's town, it shall provide for a unique vacation experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
994Reviews270Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 485
  • 317
  • 126
  • 47
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sara wrote a review 21 Sep
Llanelli, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Fantastic Hotel spotlessly clean, excellent facilities and great location .The food quality and choice was very good . The Hotel team and management were exceptional and we would highly recommend this stay and will definitely return . A few minutes walk from the fantastic Kalamaki beach and a 5 minute walk from all the restaurants and bars
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Sun, Υπεύθυνος at Golden Sun Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear saralea1, We are delighted that you made the most of your holidays! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words! We really hope to have you again you anytime soon. Best Regards!
Read more
Janette N wrote a review 20 Sep
1 contribution
This hotel is definitely NOT a 4star hotel .great location friendly staff especially the girl at the snack bar she never stops .the food in the the hotel is of the poorest quality everything was cold we had to eat out every day breakfast lunch and dinner.i also thought it was disgraceful to have no rooms to freshen up beyour late flight home .we had to pay 53 euro to keep the room on so from this experience we will definitely NOT be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Sun, Υπεύθυνος at Golden Sun Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 68janetten, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We feel sorry that we could not meet your expectations. As for the late check out is our policy and in most hotels it is charged! Kind Regards!
Read more
AC wrote a review 8 Sep
4 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed here for a week with a friend of mine. Our first impressions was were good. The receptionist was very nice and made the check in comfortable and fast. The room was nice, clean and had great a/c. We arrived at 9.30 pm and were hungry, but the all inclusive restaurant was already closed. We asked someone from the staff if there was somewhere we could eat, and he told us the hotel next door could maybe prepare something for us (not for free) but they closed at 10 pm so we should hurry. It seemed like to much trouble so we decided to wait to eat until breakfast. Later on we found out there was restaurants down the street that were open until midnight, which the staff member could just have told us about. The rooms were nicely cleaned but the rest of the hotel outside and inside could use some extra attention. The pool bar was nice and the woman working there was very pleasant. The snacks were okay. The pool was very clean and nice, but extremely cold. We only went in max half an hour at the time. Besides that the pictures of the pool on their website and on trip advisor are misleading because the pool area doesn’t look as good as in the photos. The food was okay, but after a couple of days we got a bit bored with it. There wasn’t any fresh fruit at breakfast, not that many greens at dinner and the tzatziki we could make better at home. So if you want to try great Greek cuisine I would recommend going out on restaurants and not pay for all inclusive here. The food was in my opinion not what a 4-star hotel should offer. Especially when you’re in Greece, you should think that the hotel restaurant could make good Greek food. The bartender was extremely nice and the drinks were okay. He did his job very well and should definitely get a raise. But it wouldn’t hurt to have real cups instead of plastic ones. All in all the hotel was okay and it was a nice place to stay, but I wouldn’t pay for the food there another time. We expected a bit more from this place because of the great photos on their website.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t pay for all inclusive. Go to the beach instead of the pool. Don’t buy things in the hotel...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Sun, Υπεύθυνος at Golden Sun Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear NBandAC, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We feel sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Kind Regards!
Read more
Jennyw1969 wrote a review Aug 2021
Chelmsford, United Kingdom6 contributions7 helpful votes
Come for 4 days break for birthday celebrations. This is definitely not 4 star. Hotel lovely and clean cannot take that away from it. Reception staff not very helpful, food a total disappointment with little choice and poorly presented. So bad ate only once here and therefore had to eat out all the time. Drinks are of the lowest quality. Will definitely not come back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Sun, Υπεύθυνος at Golden Sun Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jennyw1969, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We feel sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Kind Regards!
Read more
Karen L wrote a review Aug 2021
15 contributions11 helpful votes
We have just returned from our 3rd time at this hotel and needless to say we had yet another amazing holiday. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms which was very nice indeed overlooking the pool area. It was of course much quieter this year due to covid but all measures had been put in place to keep both the guests and staff safe. This hotel is in the perfect location, 5 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from the main strip. Although the planes pass by regularly we never get tired of watching them. The staff are all so lovely and friendly and make you feel very welcome. We will certainly be returning next year without a doubt!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Sun, Υπεύθυνος at Golden Sun Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2021
Dear Karen L, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you made the most of your holidays in our hotel! Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden sun and beach hotel
LOCATION
GreeceIonian IslandsZakynthosKalamaki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
142
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Sun Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Sun Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Red Tail Cocktail Bar (0.9 km), Iguana Cocktail Bar (0.6 km), and Kalamaki's Crazy golf (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Sun Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Golden Sun Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Sun Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Sun Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Sun Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ambrosia Restaurant, Bullhorn Steak House, and Parthenon Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Sun Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Golden Sun Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Golden Sun Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Golden Sun Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Golden Sun Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tribute Column For The Drowned Hostages (5.7 km), Casa Ugo Foscolo (5.3 km), and Tomb Of Andreas Kalvos (5.8 km).
Does Golden Sun Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.