We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marelen Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
Marelen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,004 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marelen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 978: English reviews
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Just back from a family holiday here for 2 weeks, 4 adults a teenager and a toddler. The 1st week we were in rooms 339 and 340 which were above the games room. I didn't mind the noise but my parents hated it probably as when on the balcony that's all they could see in front and at the side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your holiday. You were allocated rooms overlooking the main pool as this what you originally requested by email, although i do agree some of the main pool view rooms can be noisy.. I am glad that you were happy with the alternative room that you moved to. Unfortunately none...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Positives Really close to the beach and local town. Entertainment team were good, so were the kids club team. The quality of the food is great. Many selections of local and international drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic) Most of the staff were really friendly except for the evening waitress who was very "regimental" in her approach on times. Negatives Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leon J
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative in order to maintain, and where necessary improve on our services. The positive points you mentioned regarding the entertainment, the quality of our food (as we have a new chef this year) and most of our staff means a lot to us,...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Pros. Food,staff,location,cleanliness. Cons.Noise/smoke from adjoining Room/rooms( see below). Tired decor in rooms.Faulty shower. Having stayed at Marelen previously we were somewhat saddened by the tired decor in our room,hadn't changed, (colour or design wise from 4yrs previously). The room basic and functional though. The bathroom in need of an upgrade and the shower especially(kept sticking). We were allocated a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweeper1956
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is such a shame that we were not aware of your unhappiness with your neighbours until the last day of your 10 day holiday, as we could have looked into giving you a more suitably located room if we had known. Unfortunately we are not always informed of the...

Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Another cracking holiday at Marelen, thank you very much! Lovely hotel, very clean rooms, very friendly staff, girls at the reception always happy to help, beautiful gardens and great location only couple of minutes from the beach. Stayed on SC basis in room 210 this time, which was on ground floor and got sunshine on the balcony in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominika C
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. It was lovely to see you again, and we hope to see you again next year.

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

had another great holiday at the Marelen in Kalamaki. booked this holiday over a year ago as we know if you do not book early you do not get in. took one of our daughters and our grandson, it was their first time and our third. the Marelen is a perfect place to have a relaxing holiday in. all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin l
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review. It was lovely to see you again, please let us know when you have rebooked for next summer.

Bacup
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Brilliant hotel, food, entertainment everyone is so friendly. Defiantly would recommend and will defiantly be returning the kids loved it. Close to the beach and shops and bars, the splash pool is brilliant for the kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelwademan23
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review, we hope to see you again next year.

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

This us a brilliant hotel with friendly, helpful staff. It's very clean and spacious, there's entertainment on everyday and night. The hotel is Only a short walk to the beach. Would definitely recommend The Marelen Hotel. Kalamaki is a brilliant holiday destination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky580423
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review, we hope to see you again next year.

Reviewed 5 October 2015

We visited the Maralen for a week on September the 17th. On arrival we were disappointed to say the least. We were told our room had been 'upgraded' but when we got to the room we found it hard to understand what the upgrade exactly was. Our room was tiny and wasn't helped by the third bed that seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carys T
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Your room upgrade was from a standard hotel room to a studio with self catering kitchenette. This was explained to you on your arrival. If you had wanted more space for the 3 of you it may have been better for you if you had booked an apartment. I am sorry...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Was rather strange to be asked to wait outside on arrival. 2 bedroom apartments clean and spacious. Definitly book one rather than a studio. Emailed months ahead to ask for ground floor due to small children which was granted (excellent) but having asked for a double bed months in advance too, was told no due to being busy and resulted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louise e
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent holiday. We suggest that guests leave their luggage at the bottom of the steps to reception on arrival as the rooms are not accessed via reception, so it is to save you bringing your luggage up the stairs and then taking it straight back down again. Nobody is asked to wait...

Seaham Harbour, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Just returned from a two week stay in The Marelen. we are a family of 6 ranging from 2-75. To get the bad out the way first after reading some of the other reviews we were expecting fantastic amazing super friendly best ever staff in the world. What we got was staff doing their job with little enthusiasm and if...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maria D
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent holiday. I would like to respond to a few of your comments. I am sorry that the staff did not live up to your expectations, but I am surprised that you found they had little enthusiasm, as so many other reviewers seem to have a different opinion....

705 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (503)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (238)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Kids Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Standard Apartment (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.6 km away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 31 in Kalamaki
1,155 reviews
0.1 km away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 31 in Kalamaki
644 reviews
0.2 km away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 31 in Kalamaki
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#25 of 31 in Kalamaki
335 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Sun Hotel
Golden Sun Hotel
#11 of 31 in Kalamaki
569 reviews
0.3 km away
Denny's Inn Hotel
Denny's Inn Hotel
#8 of 31 in Kalamaki
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki, Zakynthos
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marelen Hotel staff and other travellers.
94 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (94)

Questions? Get answers from Marelen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a superior room with an upgraded bathroom if you can”
 of 5 bubbles 611alunr, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“415Quiet and away from the pool area and kids area except for the planes in and out,but was aware of this and you get used to this.”
 of 5 bubbles carolem324, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We did selfcatering we had all the facilities you need, lovely clean rooms with cleaning services dail. ”
 of 5 bubbles helenjane3, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a takeaway service from the local takeaway restaurant: Tazies. Reception have their menu and they also deliver. ”
 of 5 bubbles RachaelW5213, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms beside adult pool side really nice sunshine most of the day on upper balconies”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay