We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Pros- reasonable location and close to all amenities, really helpful and friendly staff. Cons- dirty, messy, no basic maintenance, really poor value for money. Rooms in desperate need of a make over.. Carpets and couches dirty and torn and the place smelt.

Helpful?
Thank zkykasdjae3582
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We take note of your feedback. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I can't stop complementing this place as it always meets my standard....I was there with my friends for lunch n we had a great one n enjoyed it to the fullest.i must say that the place is excellent with the service and the staff is still as awesome as ever.thank u all n see u soon and will also recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank phelad
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch with friends at Elephant Springs. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Should have listened to our inner selves and not booked - it was a cheap weekend - should have know the place was going to be terrible - air con in room not working - hand painted bath that flaked paint when bathing - NO Shower - ceiling fan only worked when light was on so we asked them to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leighann2405
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. We're sorry that our maintenance team did not correctly attend to the light issue. Only select bedrooms of our hotel offer showers and we recommend guests to advise us upfront should they prefer a room with a shower. We will be sure to advise our management team of the points raised in your review. More 

Travellers are raving about these Bela Bela hotels

Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The hotel isn't anything like on the website. I was so disappointed when we arrived, I even tried to convince my partner that we should leave right then. The place is old, dirty and doesn't deserve the price we paid for it. I would never recommend it to anybody, the only nice thing about it is the friendly staff. Please... More 

Helpful?
Thank mekgwemich
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you felt our website does not correctly represent our hotel, since we have ensured that the pictures displayed shows all different roomtypes, public areas and more. We will be sure to discuss this with our marketing department. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Introduced to it by default all areas were fully booked but walking in there I got the best reception ever. my conferencing was arranged in exellence in a very short period of time . The area is very clean there is instant help in all .Good food well presented and tasty A formidable team of professionals who are willing to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mpho S
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Elephant Springs. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The place is horrible. The kitchen is falling apart stove not working ironing facilities not provided smells urine especially the bedroom and shower. Reception not helpful and unfriendly. The sofa is sinking and torn. Only one shower in a six sleeper. Terrible terrible experience Will not recommend to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Pilannesburg
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience at our establishment. Please note that our six-sleeper units have 2 bathrooms, one which has a shower, the other which has a bath. This is advertised as such on our website and marketing material. We take note of our feedback regarding the housekeeping and this will be addressed immediately. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The furniture is old old old. They have a box tv! One dstv channel! The service is bad! too many stairs in the self catering chalet, not safe for kids! Our fridge was not working, which was also very old. We couldn't wait to leave. This place is just a no no.

Helpful?
Thank beeiona
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As advertised on our website, we have select DSTV channels. We are sorry that you did not approve of the type of televisions that we have. We also inform guests of the steep stairs we have in our self-catering units. Our apologies that the fridge in your unit was not working. Had this been reported... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Mo, Dee and I checked into a family room but it was beyond bad, the tv is those old ones with a box at the back. The TV made background noise you couldn't even watch it, the picture was also not clear it was dark. The room was not clean and was facing building roof tops like Pep, we asked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LataniFi
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Your feedback will be investigated and attended to. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the rooms did not meet your expectations. More 

1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2016

From the moment we made bookings, to the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed. Mpho, Lerato, Mina, John were helpful, friendly, willing to go extra miles in order to make sure our stay was wonderful. in fact the whole staff struck the perfect balance between personal and great hosts. Must say management at Elephant Springs should be proud of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shibu B
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

It's always a thrill to read when our guests enjoy the events we host at Elephant Springs. We appreciate the time you took to review your stay and can't wait to have you visit us again when we host our next event in November. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We booked in the cabanas and one of the family rooms with my family and my in-laws at Elephant springs. Reception welcomed us warmly and showed us the rooms and the best part was that Lerato the front office manager took us to our rooms and cabanas. We had such an awesome stay and all my family enjoyed every little... More 

Helpful?
Thank phelad
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor Phelad, we're happy to hear that you had a memorable stay. More 

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
17.3 km away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
289 reviews
39.4 km away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#8 of 43 in Bela Bela
53 reviews
4.2 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#4 of 43 in Bela Bela
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#17 of 43 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Summerset Place Country House
36.6 km away
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
#6 of 43 in Bela Bela
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Price Range: €82 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas Bela Bela, Limpopo, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not recommend this place at all.”
 of 5 bubbles LataniFi, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room by the swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles thabos2015, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“best view and accessible, swimming pool on a perfect spot”
 of 5 bubbles 900mildredr, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The hotel rooms on ground floor boost more comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles devrajg2016, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay