We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fischer's Baslow Hall

Save
Share
Calver Road, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RR England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$306
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$306
View deal
Expedia.comUS$306
Priceline
eDreamsUS$306
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (232)
Dining (92)
Room & Suite (31)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Baslow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Fischer’s Baslow Hall, our award-winning, individual, stylish, boutique country house hotel and restaurant. The location could hardly be more stunning. A Grade 2 listed, stone-built manor house standing on the edge of Baslow, a picturesque village in Derbyshire. The glorious countryside of the Peak District with its iconic walks and rich cultural heritage is on our doorstep. But it is Fischer’s food that has made us famous; brilliant dishes, imaginative execution, attention to detail, the finest ingredients and constantly striving to be the best.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Laundry service
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
571Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 440
  • 70
  • 34
  • 19
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Agnes D wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
We had the tasting menu with the wine pairing at the Kitchen Bench, where you sit right next to where all the chefs are working. The food was amazing - haven’t had anything that good for ages! Sitting at the bench meant the meal felt a lot more informal then in the main restaurant, which we really enjoyed. Our waiter for the evening, Matt, was brilliant and explained each wine in a very knowledgable but down to earth way. We would recommend this experience to anyone, and hope to go again soon! (Also very Covid safe, we had no worries at all)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Fischer, Owner at Fischer's Baslow Hall
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Good Afternoon Agnes, we are pleased that you enjoyed the Kitchen Bench experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Paul C wrote a review Sep 2020
Stamford, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
Don't bother reading the few mediocre reviews for Fischer's elsewhere on Trip Advisor. We have stayed here many times, and our most recent visit in mid-September 2020 was the best yet by some measure. At Fischer's, it's not just about the amazing food but about the place itself - a glorious arts and crafts country house which has been lovingly restored and maintained by the Fischers in a wonderful setting. Period-correct and beautiful wallpapers, carpets and furniture go with the many original and undisturbed features; if you like this architectural era you will love Fischers. As our stay celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary, we were dismayed to see that the restaurant's long-standing Michelin star was removed in 2019, presumably to coincide with the departure of head chef Rupert Rowley. We needn't have worried. The welcome experience was the same as ever - courteous, informal and friendly - and we enjoyed the tasting dinner menu, a revelation with utterly delicious flavours and ingredients and inspirational cooking from the kitchen team, served with impeccable and friendly efficiency. Ditto the breakfast the following morning. Our bedroom overlooked the extensive kitchen garden, inspiration in itself for our own home, and our two-room mini-suite was comfortable and peaceful. I have read other reviews where guests have criticised having to enter the house 'through the back door next to the kitchen, which has no blinds'. Quite why you wouldn't want to celebrate the view of the kitchen and the chefs at work totally escapes me. All in all, this was exemplary, and Fischer's remains easily our number one favourite restaurant experience. Thanks to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Main house rooms are grand and beautifully furnished, while the annexe rooms are perhaps better...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Fischer, Owner at Fischer's Baslow Hall
Responded 17 Sep 2020
Dear Paul Thank you for your very kind words and nice to hear that you keep returning. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Sean C wrote a review Sep 2020
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom3 contributions
We visited Fischer’s for my birthday weekend. The whole stay was absolutely fantastic and the food was incredible. The staff are down to earth, knowledgable and accommodating, and went out of their way to make our stay special. We really couldn’t recommend it enough and will undoubtedly be returning soon. Thanks for an amazing experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Fischer, Owner at Fischer's Baslow Hall
Responded 8 Sep 2020
Hello Sean, Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our team went above and beyond to make your visit special. We will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Read more
Liam wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
Came to eat last week, to start I had the salmon, I am no top food critic nor am I a chef however I assure you this was very much overcooked, dry and lacking completely lacking seasoning. An underwhelming start, to follow I had the beef which whilst cooked perfectly, again it was very bland and under seasoned, the mushrooms that came with it tasted burnt and the strange broth that came with it I felt added nothing to the dish. Dessert I feel doesn't even deserve a mention, it left a lot to be desired. There have been a lot of rumours circulating recently about your staff being forced into not wearing covid PPE and I was disappointed to see the truth of this after speaking to somebody in a suit who confirmed this was true as the owners dont like the look of them? I wont be returning and I wish the best of luck to your staff with regards to their health and wellbeing here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Fischer, Owner at Fischer's Baslow Hall
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Dear Liam, I am sorry to hear of your experience at Fischer’s given that having spoken with the team, not one of them recollects the conversation you had with them. I would also note that other than understandably a few niggles, people have found the experience we offer (food, service and accommodation), exemplary. Concerning PPE, I take your remark as an insinuation and not fact. We have extensive processes and procedures, supported by risk assessments in place, that allow us to conform to EHO and PHE guidelines. The team have all had the option to wear PPE, but have taken the decision not to given the guidance given.
Read more
Sharon K wrote a review Aug 2020
Altrincham, United Kingdom79 contributions43 helpful votes
This was our first trip away since lockdown so we were really looking forward to it. We were not disappointed. Beautiful setting in the Peak District. We had a garden room, number 2. Absolutely delightful, spacious, comfortable and well decorated. Very quiet at night for sleeping, and extremely comfortable bed. I’m glad we had a garden room rather than a room in the main house, which looked very ornate and not really our style. Fresh milk provided daily for team and coffee. A few more chairs outside the garden rooms would be nice. We ate in the dining room for two nights. The food was delicious, faultless. Should definitely regain its Michelin star. Highlights on the menu, Celeriac, divine. Pigeon. Lamb. The main course simply called Turnip was sublime. Very good wines too. All the staff were fabulous, very professional, but friendly and very welcoming. In particular Adrian and Olivia, but I would have named others if I knew names! Two young female staff in the dining equally lovely. Hope to return soon. Thank you for a memorable anniversary weekend. This is not a reflection on the hotel at all, but at 10pm we were chatting to the couple next door to us outside, while enjoying a nightcap, but were asked to be quiet by a family with children. We were not being noisy, it was not late, and I would suggest it is not really a family venue. Slight damper on our evening.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Garden room number two, excellent.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Fischer, General Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to Baslow Hall. The team are delighted that you generally enjoyed the experience and look forward to hopefully seeing you again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$231 - US$407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fischer`s baslow hall hotel baslow
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkBaslow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fischer's Baslow Hall
Which popular attractions are close to Fischer's Baslow Hall?
Nearby attractions include St Anne's Church, Baslow (0.5 km) and Vintage Living By Sarah Copley (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fischer's Baslow Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Fischer's Baslow Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fischer's Baslow Hall?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fischer's Baslow Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fischer's at Baslow Hall, Charlie's Bistro, and Il Lupo.
Is Fischer's Baslow Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Baslow.
Does Fischer's Baslow Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Fischer's Baslow Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (4.8 km), Eyam Plague Village Museum (5.2 km), and Thornbridge Hall Gardens (5.4 km).
Does Fischer's Baslow Hall have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.