We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Start your review of Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the King room with kitchenette which was $ 240 so quite pricey. Cheaper rooms and bunk facilities available. Our room had a small kitchenette but upstairs was a huge shared kitchen with all facilities so take in your own supplies and cook. Otherwise 3 eateries on site from bar to mountain cafe and the up market new...

Thank 123degrees
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked two rooms in this hotel. They provided the rooms next to each other and they were connected inside. This was very convenient for us. The room was very nice. We stayed two nights and the staff cleaned it every day. The visitor center was just opposite to the hotel. The hotel staff was very courteous and provided...

Thank Aravind_GJ
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very close to the tourist information center. The front facing room is a lot better than those with no view as the room is much bigger with great view. The lower floor room with no view is much smaller. The room is comfortable with good heating and strong shower. Common area is quite spacious with well equipped...

Thank Genesis89
TonyDelaney, Owner at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your review. We appreciate your feed back. Kind regards. Mary Malcolm Manager

Lake Macquarie NSW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was travelling with my Wife in a group. Our lodge was good. All others also commented their lodges were good to very good. As we were on Motorbikes, the roads to each group of lodges could do without the loose gravel. That said the gravel was only a minor concern. The "Dining Hall" had a good range of food...

Thank Macca M
TonyDelaney, Owner at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the reveiw. I think you have satyed at Mt Cook Lodge & Motels however. Kind regards, Mary Malcolm Manager

Corbera de Llobregat, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Admittedly, may be a matter of expectations, but we found this lodge a bit deceiving as we expected a motel room and instead we found ourselves in a 2-star hotel room, with very limited space around the bed and a small bathroom. Nothing to complain heavily (although we did not enjoy the shared kitchen upstairs full of people cooking smelly...

Thank homedelsac
TonyDelaney, Owner at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for taking the time to review our property. I just want to clarify that we are not a motel, or a hotel. We have a 16 room lodge, with communal areas. We try really hard to make this obvious on our website and also to make sure the photos are very realistic. There is parking outside the lodge...

Woodstock, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were lucky enough that there was a last minute cancellation and we were able to stay at the Alpine Lodge. This is a small, quiet and clean lodge with only 16 rooms.The fact that you are walking distance to the Hooker Trail is amazing. The community kitchen had one of the most spectacular direct views of Mt Cook. Mary...

Thank helloadamweiss
TonyDelaney, Owner at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Adam, thanks so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the lodge & lodge atmosphere. Kind regards. Mary Malcolm Manager

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We were lucky to nab one of the last rooms here! Basic but clean rooms, reasonably priced, large sharing kitchen and lounge with a wonderful view of Mt. Cook! We were thinking of staying outside the village, but we were so glad we were close instead. There is a wifi limit, but the desk told us they would give us...

Thank Christina T
TonyDelaney, Owner at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Christina, thanks for your nice review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the lodge & in Aoraki Mt Cook National Park. kind regards, Mary

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The reason you're here is the fabulous view of Mount Cook and the surrounding mountains. Keep reminding yourself of that and you'll be fine. The hotel is a letdown, given the spectacular surroundings. The reception area is packed with visitors and noisy like a busy bus interchange. Our room is in the annexe block that we have to drive to....

Thank AlanRJ
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We had a two room unit plus a separate bathroom. The kitchen/lounge was very spacious with full cooking facilities. A lounge and table and chairs along with TV. Our unit was at the front and the full length windows looked right out onto the mountains. The bedroom was quite large and room to store suit cases. The hotel is a...

Thank Craig J
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The lodge is in the perfect location; in the Upper Village near the DOC office. It is small and cosy which gives the personal touch. Lots of trees and bushes all around adds to this. The common room has a view as good as The Hermitage and has a front deck with a barbecue to sit and dine while enjoying...

Thank Jameron

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (180)
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Dining (12)
View from Room (23)
Family/Play Areas (5)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (18)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.6 km away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,874 reviews
39.8 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
31.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
334 reviews
0.1 km away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.2 km away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: €100 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Hong Kong, China
over a year ago
Louisville, Kentucky

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The King rooms have views and private deck.”
123degrees, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front facing room has great view of Mount Cook”
Genesis89, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All our group had good (rooms) Lodges.”
petermariealexm, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front had views of the mountains.”
CraigJ45, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had upstairs, room 10. Great view of Mt.Cook and Mt. Sefton”
266sandra, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates