We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mt Cook Lodge and Motels

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We had planned to camper overnight, but it was freezing. So we tried the YHA. Thankfully for us, it turned out, they were full, and referred us across to the Lodge. It was $10pp cheaper and for that we got a private dorm room with ensuite. Having the cafe / bar accessible from inside the lodge was a bonus. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
Rodney Y, Manager Mt Cook Lodge and Motels at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Dear Mel-Kiwi_NZ. Great to hear that you found us here in Mt Cook and enjoyed the experience in one of our warm dorm rooms. Thank you for your feedback on the maitress we will look into it. While during the winter months we do close the front office early when all reserved guests have checked in, the bar team have...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The room was clean and nice but the people at the desk were totally unprofessional, could offer no advice and were not helpful in any way shape or form. The nature is fantastic and we wish that we had stayed longer on our self-driving tour of the South Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcm_boticelli
Rodney Y, Manager Mt Cook Lodge and motels at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Dear dcm_boticelli. Thank you for taking time in sharing your feedback from your recent stay at the Mt Cook Lodge and Motels. However I am disappointed that our service did not reach your expectations. The front office team does recall your check in and that you were very dissatisfied that we did not have a concierge department. Due to our...

Queenstown
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Back to motel again it was great excellent views of mountains and very private I will always stay there if it is available when I return , good facilities for cooking just what one would expect from a motel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willowbydowns
Rodney Y, Manager Mt Cook Lodge and Motels at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Dear willowbydowns. Thank you for your return patronage and for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. Great to hear you enjoyed the experience of the excellent views from your accommodation and made use of our facilities. I suspect you would have noticed in our motel unit have been recently renovated maybe since your last stay Thanks again and...

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We booked one night in one of the private units ($170) at Queens Birthday weekend. The unit was spacious and comfortable though the decor was a bit tired and spartan but the view was spctacular. We probably would have been very happy with our accommodation if it hadn't been for the very loud and constant dripping sound that we noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Rodney Y, Mt Cook Lodge and Motels Manager at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Dear Linda M. I apologize for the dripping sound in the room , the front office staff member does recall her conversation with you when you checked out , she did mention there was a previous issue there, but that was about 2 years ago. My self and the engineering team have check the room several times and have not...

seattle
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We were thrilled to find a warm place to sleep at such a great price. It truly is prime real estate here for the price. We had a room with bunks which was comfortable enough. There's also a little restaurant to eat if you don't have your own food. Food was average and the person that helped us was outstanding!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeneMiles
Rodney Y, Manager Mt Cook Lodge and Motels at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Dear DenneMiles. Thank you for your review from your November stay at the Mt Cook Lodge and motels . We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and found the room comfortable . Especially pleasing to read was that the staff gave exceptional service as we always strive for memorable guest engagements . Hope to see you again...

Napa, California
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Nice sized rooms with a descent kitchenette. Clean. Only drawback was the tiny eurostyle shower. This is a resort town with little to no amenities. Pack in your food, if you don't want to eat out every meal. As far as I could tell, the Hermitage is the only place to get breakfast. Their restaurant was fun and great for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vlsb
Rodney Y, Manager Mt Cook Lodge and Motels at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Dear visb. Thank you for taking time to share with us your review. Great to hear you had a perfect stay at the lodge and in our small Alpine village . Sounds like you stayed in one of our apartments, a perfect choice, bedroom and lounge and the kitchen, giving you flexibility in dining, another great option is our Chamois...

Reviewed 21 May 2016

The room was great, complete with cooking facilities and chair in a little garden. Staff were fabulous, and best of all easy walking to the glaciers and some fabulous scenery at the end! Dinner in the Chamois restaurant - fabulous pizza. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Rodney Y, Manager Mt Cook Lodge and Motels at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer H. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the lodge facilities, dining experience and the fabulous team. Happy to see you got out to one of the many walks around the village, the air is fresh and the views are pure and natural. Hope we have a chance to host you again in the uture. Rodney Young...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

My mom and I had a twin room which was dingy, dated and musty. The shower area was also in need of refurbishment. Considering their prices charges, I expected better quality. But perhaps due to captive audience and limited lodging in Mount Cook area, they can get away with this poor quality. We had one dinner included in our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misspeeved
Rodney Y, Manager Mt Cook Lodge and Motels at Mt Cook Lodge and Motels, responded to this review

Dear misspeeved. Thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate your comments. However I am disappointed to hear that your holiday was dampened by bad weather conditions. I have spoken to the team regarding your comments and the front office team does recall your stay and we tracked the room you were assigned. We are presently under...

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night in a dorm with private ensuite and door outside. Room was clean. No noise. View in the bar is amazing. Staff is friendly. Kitchen was not big enough to fit large groups. Not that much around besides walks, vending machines are inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yara W
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We stayed in a room with an ensuite, found the bed extremely comfy and the view of the mountains was fantastic. Had a meal in the restaurant which was great value and taste. The staff were all very friendly and the guy man on reception was very knowledgeable on the area and recommended a couple of great walks for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.0 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.0 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
945 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.0 km away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
216 reviews
0.0 km away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mt Cook Lodge and Motels

Address: Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mt Cook Lodge and Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mt Cook Lodge and Motels staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bengaluru, India
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mt Cook Lodge and Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“To the best of my knowledge, all rooms outside of the main lodge building are ground level.”
  • Bath items
  • Shower with curved glass door
  • View of the room towards the front door
  • View of room from the kitchen
  • Kitchen
  • Vessel sink, moderate counter space
 of 5 bubbles Fingerpicker8, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Even if you can't use the balcony, still try and get a room on that side - at least you get great views of the mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles nicky16, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good views of the moungtains”
 of 5 bubbles eleonore3422, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to the Heritage hotel instead.”
 of 5 bubbles gildasasso, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel also offers private rooms which are very nice - try to get one if available”
 of 5 bubbles hitthehighlights, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay