We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pinewood Motels

Save
Share
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (12)
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Golf course
Laundry Service
3 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
48
65
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
48
65
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner lake tekapo one night the main road great room eating places comfortable bed hot water free wifi fan heater small fridge much nicer the kitchen good size pies helpful management fresh milk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The owners of these motels were so helpful and friendly, and we were so close to everything. It is the perfect location for skiing and access to other things. They could do with a little TLC as you can see they are constantly busy and...More

Thank Shona M
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood MotelsResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Shona, many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay. We are refurbishing the rooms on a rolling basis! Regards, Chris.

Reviewed 14 September 2018

The room is well appointed, with a comfortable bed, good lighting, very good heating (both a fixed panel heater and an additional fan heater available in the wardrobe). We stayed in unit 9 which was one unit away from the road. The unit was single...More

Thank Kilmore_12
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood MotelsResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi - thanks for leaving such a detailed review which I'm sure other travellers will find useful! Regards, Chris.

Reviewed 6 August 2018

Stayed for two nights for a skiing weekend at Mt Dobson and had a nice stay. The room was nothing fancy but had the basics covered with a comfortable bed. Good price for what you pay but could do with some updating.

Thank emilyalice
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood MotelsResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments - we are working our way through upgrading the rooms during the quiet season. Regards, Chris.

Reviewed 25 April 2018

We decided to break up our trip from Christchurch to Queenstown by staying in Fairlie, and spent the night at Pinewood Motel. It was a comfortable room with a friendly staff. The only negative we had was that the hot water was not working that...More

Thank Warren H
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood MotelsResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear there were problems with the hot water - each room has a 180 Litre tank which heats up overnight and again in the afternoon so there's normally heaps of hot water. Regards, Chris.

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We were here for overnight sleep. The staff was kind and helpful. We called reception to tell we were late for the checkin time. He arranged the check-in and when we arrived at motel at night, they turned lights on the room for us. The...More

Thank Ecoron L
Response from PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood MotelsResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The bathroom floors slope towards the shower drainage and as long as the shower curtain is fully closed the rest of the floor shouldn't get wet. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Regards, Chris.

View more reviews
About
Description
Our comfortable, friendly, family owned and operated motel, situated a short walk from the centre of town, is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Fairlie, Tekapo, and the many attractions that the More Mackenzie district has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with fast free unlimited Wifi, cooking facilities, bathrooms and outdoor seating areas. Your hosts, Chris & Leanne are on hand to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable, and we can provide information and bookings for most local attractions. Continental breakfast is available for a small extra charge. Children will love the playground! DVD players, DVD's and board games are available on loan from reception. Enjoy outdoor dining with our complimentary gas BBQ. A guest laundry with washer, dryer and a drying room for ski gear are available for a small charge. Cot and high-chair are provided on request (no charge). Pinewood Motels is also the ideal location for business and corporate clients being centrally located between Timaru, Geraldine and Tekapo. Contact us for the best corporate rates. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf course
Laundry Service
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
10
Price range
US$76 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
10
Price range
US$76 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Photos
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (12)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Aorangi Motel
154 reviews
.15 km away
Fairle TOP 10 Holiday Park
75 reviews
.50 km away
Mt Dobson Motel
43 reviews
7.85 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
353 reviews
29.09 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 14 nearby restaurants
Carnegies
146 reviews
.44 km away
Fairlie Bakehouse
578 reviews
.46 km away
Eat Deli & Bar
139 reviews
.42 km away
Red Stag Restaurant
179 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 9 nearby attractions
Gem Alpaca Stud
101 reviews
.59 km away
Three Creeks
16 reviews
13.82 km away
Lake Tekapo
2,220 reviews
29.74 km away
Pleasant Point Museum and Railway
15 reviews
31.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pinewood Motels staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"As this hotel is on the Highway get a back room"
comm-traveler
10 Jul 2017
Read review
"Ask for a room away from the road."
BJW17
19 Mar 2017
Read review
"Disabled room has terrible double bed"
boxesandboxes
30 Jan 2017
Read review
"Room 5 is accessible to wheelchairs and is 2 bedroom"
cb4676
12 Mar 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing