We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bealey Hotel

Booking.comUS$51*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
US$51*
Great Deal
US$103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bealey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Bealey Hotel
 Click to rate
Mordialloc
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were disappointed by the quality of the accommodation on offer here but felt that its saving grace is the views and stunning clear night sky - basically the natural beauty of the area. The view across the river plane and being able to pass time with our 3 and 5-yr old playing along the river and in the rocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gee4409
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is basic but the location is exceptional.Good for people wanting to take a break closer to Arthur's pass or else you can drive on further.Room was clean and bed was soft and good.Few hikes can be done around this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anushahegd
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we couldn't travel due to a sudden family sickness, we phoned and explained this to management but were basically told tough luck and were charged for the room regardless under the circumstances I feel this approach of theirs was very disappointing and we'll be sure to never ever dine or stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucky C
BealeyHotel, Manager at Bealey Hotel, responded to this review

You were not told 'tough luck' when you called to cancel on the day of your booking. We have a simple policy for late cancellations - if we can fill the room at late notice, there is no charge. However, as with every other accommodation provider, we are entitled to charge a guest for their reservation (preventing others from booking)...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a tired hotel that's no longer trying to offer much. It seems to capture a lot of the tourist traffic but is a bit of an embarrassment to NZ really. The building is not sympathetic to the stuffing environment at all. No views. When I was there there was no umbrellas on the outside tables. The only seating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PIntboy568
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped off for lunch at the Hotel by chance. Small but interesting selection of meals. Chose the Steak Sammy which with translation was a Steak Sandwich made with Panini Bread. Couldn't be faulted. That is saying something because I judge cafes and roadhouses by the quality of their steak sandwiches. The steak was cooked to perfection (just rare side of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george45
Reviewed 11 March 2017

These unit are in a great location with a amazing view, and the rooms were clean however the rooms are overpriced and very very basic. The mattress was terrible (as were the other two beds in the room) The bathroom was very basic and the shower peaked back in the late 60's. All this we could put up with, except...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zane G
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Our Tranz Alpine train had been cancelled due to a bridge fire but rather than cancel our overnight we grabbed a hire car in Greymouth and drove up the pass to spend the night at The Bealey. The views from the property are simply STUNNING, but the cabin we had was little better than a tramping cabin. It was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Absolute peace! Was very lovely to sit on the deck of our cabin and enjoy the mountains. Hosts were extremely friendly, kept the restaurant open late for us, and the bar! Food was delicious. Can't wait to go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollie H
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Recent visit with family to Arthurs pass with stunning day vistas and awesome night skies, complemented by the friendly staff, relaxing simplicity of a clean spacious well equipped chalet and what can only be described as the softest yet most supportive bounciest beds I have ever encountered. Try their burger as satisfying as the scenery and substantial enough to counter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 697observer
Chicago
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Stopped for lunch, people were extremely friendly, drinks were great and food was excellent. Beautiful views and a nice dining area. Have a large Moa sculpture, great for taking pictures with the mountains in the background. Worth a stop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trekrider2300

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
9.1 km away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
239 reviews
9.9 km away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
140 reviews
21.6 km away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.7 km away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 10 in Methven
43 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Address: SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: €48 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bealey Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bealey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 on the end has the best views up to Arthurs pass and downs the river.”
Gee4409, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in another hotel would be best”
891zaneg, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All cabins have beautiful views!”
, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for cabins overlooking the river and further down towards the riverbed”
AmerH893, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A cabin at either end so as to not hear others voices on both sides of your room.”
  • Just the basics.
  • Impressive view!
  • Just the basics in here.
  • Quite claustrophobic bathroom and very dated.
mariellet2014, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$51* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.comUS$103
TripAdvisorUS$51
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates