We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Winchelsea Lodge

Save
Share
The Lodge at Winchelsea, Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (125)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 26/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Winchelsea Lodge
Updated 26/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Always Book direct for the best rates. Winchelsea Lodge is only 10 minutes from Hastings and offers guests the perfect base to explore Hastings, Battle and Rye. Ideally located in the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with lots of free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks on our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes a Full English breakfast. Our English restaurant is open for full service 6 days a week until 9pm. We offer a wide range of fresh local produce. Our Sunday Roast is constantly refreshed. Our vegetarian staff keep us on our toes with regard to vegetarian dishes. After 5pm on a Sunday we allow the kitchen staff Sunday evenings off which we hope you will forgive.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Archery
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
502Reviews7Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 235
  • 153
  • 69
  • 27
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
billyb1968 wrote a review 14 Nov
england7 contributions3 helpful votes
Had a lovely carvery looked after by a lovely girl called Beth defo recommend it’s under new ownership. Will be back again without a doubt. Good choice of meat beef, lamb, gammon and turkey very generous portions too. Proper Yorkshire pudding and good veg
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Kevin M wrote a review 11 Nov
United Kingdom1 contribution
Booked a room at short notice as we were staying at Pontins Camber Sands which was so terrible that we had to find an alternative. Very happy with everything about the Winchelsea Lodge. Friendly staff, lovely room and tasty breakfast. Thoroughly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Nottys wrote a review 4 Nov
Woodford, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Very rare I review but …. Just had a wonderful stay with my family, room was clean, warm and cosy Breakfast was as good as any I’ve ever had. And most of all the thing that can make or break a venue, happy, helpful smiley staff on check in, couldn’t ask for more
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Stillwell, Owner at Winchelsea Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to seeing you again
Read more
Phil M wrote a review Oct 2021
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom173 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
We booked a family room and were allocated Room 13! I hope it was only our room but I doubt it. Firstly the bad bits: There was no toilet paper upon our arrival, we had to go to reception to collect. The bathroom was poor beyond poor. The shower was mouldy, the radiator thermostat valve was broken and hanging off so the room was like a sauna, the floor had clearly not been swept since the last guests and the windowsill was peeling off. The bedroom window was filthy. Now the good bits: The beds were comfy, breakfast was tasty and the staff were very polite and professional.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You will need a car as the lodge is some distance from any other life. Don't accept Room 13...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sarahroberts6151 wrote a review Oct 2021
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here on a whim after deciding not to drive home that day. The place itself is a lovely big bar surrounded by motel style rooms. The rooms are a little bit tired but the price reflected this. Our room was scrupulously clean. Then you have the huge interesting dining/bar area. It’s really interesting and a thoroughly gorgeous place to have a drink or meal. Breakfast was fresh and lovely and Lee the owner is a great host. Now I come to the best bit. I take my rings off at night and when we were leaving realised my engagement ring wasn’t on the side. Strange because I remembered leaving it. We had the whole room out upside down and no luck. I was devastated and sobbed all of the way home. When I got home I had a missed call from Karen at the hotel. She wouldn’t let anyone in the room until she and Laura had had a good search. They found my ring! Somehow I must have flipped it into the bin during the night. I’d checked the bin but not thoroughly…… I sent a pre printed Royal Mail envelope and Karen posted it back immediately. It’s a really lovely diamond ring. I can’t thank the staff at Winchelsea lodge enough.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Stillwell, Owner at Winchelsea Lodge
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Thank you Sarah, we are so pleased to have reunited you with your ring, look forward to you staying again
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lodge at winchelsea hotel winchelsea, winchelsea hotel east sussex, winchelsea motel east sussex
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexRyeWinchelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Winchelsea Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Winchelsea Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Storymaster's Tales Interactive Theatre (3.7 km), St. Thomas the Martyr (0.6 km), and St. Mary's Parish Church (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Winchelsea Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Winchelsea Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Winchelsea Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Winchelsea Lodge?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Winchelsea Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rye Waterworks Micropub, Knoops, and The Horse & Cart Inn.
Is Winchelsea Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Winchelsea.
Are there any historical sites close to Winchelsea Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Parish Church (3.8 km), Mermaid Street (3.8 km), and Lamb House (3.8 km).
Is Winchelsea Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.