We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of The George Inn
 Click to rate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great stay at the george inn. Friendly helpfull staff, lovely clean room , quiet with comfy bed , good shower and great view of abbey. will stay again. Also in a good location and free parking near by

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We walked in to a loud and unattractive pub and sat at a filthy table. Someone came to take the glasses and condiments away and clearly saw the state of the table. Never returned to clean it. Would not recommend to anyone. Horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taylorrevelator
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the newly refurbished George Inn. The room was fresh, clean and spacious. The bed was really comfy and the room had TV and coffee making facilities and had ensuite. The staff at the George were friendly and welcoming and the food was really tasty and great value. Would definitely recommend and will be returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claire h
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great stay at the George , the bed was very comfortable and the room lovely and clean. Could not fault the food and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu is a Kings Feast with lots of choice, I had a smothered Rump Steak cooked jut right and my wife had a large mixed grill again cooked just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Lynn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The George Inn is clean and comfortable Staff are friendly and rooms are enough to sleep soundly in at a reasonable price. The pub itself has a good choice of drinks and cheap and cheerful food. The pub is now fresh and modern whilst keeping some traditional charm! The perfect combination

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Well booked this on bookings. Com and what a complete let down ... have to say before I complain the staff were wonderful and attentive and more than happy to help .. the manager not so much in fact when asked can we book he wasn't interested at all so another member of staff who was off duty at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libbie Loo H
R S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered. We agree with your comments about the hotel needing a cash injection and we will be closing our doors on the 23/01/17 for 4 weeks to complete a £500k+ refurbishment of the...

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Too be fair I think all the reviews are a bit harsh perfect location, staff are accomadating rooms a little tired but really clean , what do you expect for £60 a night , me and the wife would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent visit. The whole of the hotel will be having a complete refurbishment in the New Year, so we look forward to you and your wife returning in the near future.

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Four of us ordered lunch here. The meals seemed to take a long time coming and when they finally arrived the chips were only lukewarm. My meal,a courgette cannelloni,tasted too strong as if there were too many flavourings. The chicken that another of us had was quite small. All in all reasonable but not impressive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrian w
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered. We really appreciate any constructive feedback so we can continue improving our services for your future visits.

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

If your looking for posh , you've come to the wrong place! It's basic everything ! However , the beds are clean , the carpet has seen better days ( yuk) and there is tea making facilities. The staff are lovely . The whole place could do with a massive cash injection! Food is basic pub grub but not home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yve O
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered. We agree with your comments about the hotel needing a cash injection and we will be closing our doors on the 23/01/17 for 4 weeks to complete a £500k+ refurbishment of the...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

excellent location only 4 min walk from train station. After reading the reviews I was expecting the worse so when I got there I was pleasantly surprised. The room was quite large & relatively clean. We stayed for 2 nights. The bed was nicely made and they even provided maid service with fresh towels and made the bed, which I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a p
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered. We agree with your comments about the hotel needing a cash injection and we will be closing our doors on the 23/01/17 for 4 weeks to complete a £500k+ refurbishment of the...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
12.8 km away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
17.5 km away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,226 reviews
10.8 km away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
515 reviews
2.0 km away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#5 of 9 in Selby
287 reviews
10.6 km away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Food & drink at the hotel
The George Inn Pub
The George Inn Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Market Place, Selby YO8 4NS, England (Formerly Londesborough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Price Range: €59 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The George Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask to be far away from the nightclub if your a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles ap384, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms are awful”
 of 5 bubbles Librarian2013, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not at the front, and try get a top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles VickiN733, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“As it says on its website best to get rooms away from over the bar below!!”
 of 5 bubbles magpiefox, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Cannot say”
 of 5 bubbles lindalibretto, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5