We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

792 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 789: English reviews
Start your review of Barnsdale Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I just recently stayed at this hotel and although our stay was comfortable we had a very bad experience with the restaurant and it's running practises. We got charged for drinks that we never had and I paid my bill unfortunately without knowing this until I got home. They need to change their policy of how they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa D
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My best friend and I went to the Barnsdale Hall hotel's spa for my belated birthday present. The only day that we could both do was Valentines Day, which we had a giggle about, but still went. When we first went to the reception and checked in for the spa day, we were asked to take a seat. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda-baker7
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Now the views from the lodges are exceptional, overlooking Rutland water. The cooker, microwave, washing machine and shower are all new. The lodges are supplied with economy seven overnight heaters which are good for the lounge, but the bedrooms and bathrooms are freezing. You have to pay at the end of the stay for your electric, the telephone is poor,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beas006
derby
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

went on a wowcher deal and it was wow facilities were good,location is brilliant just walk past the lodges to the bottom and over the stile into rutland water food was lovely ate in the bar but also breakfast excellent would recommend and will be staying again in the future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shancalkai
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shancalkai, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. We are exceptionally delighted to learn that you had such a fantastic experience throughout your recent stay- starting from a warm welcome, followed by use of our leisure facilities and a lovely bar meal, and breakfast on the day of departure. Once again,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got this package for a Xmas present. Floatation therapy & 2 course lunch for 2. We paid extra for a hot stone massage. Everything was impeccable!!! Staff were so chatty and friendly. Food was fresh and served piping hot. Would definitely recommend to anyone!!! And will be going again SOON!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanne H, Thank you for posting such a wonderful review in respect to your Spa experience here at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. We are exceptionally delighted to learn that you had such a fantastic experience, and we also look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Husband booked this hotel to enable us to visit Rutland water nature reserve. Room was 85 a night but when we went to deposit our bags it really was pretty awful reminding us of a nursing home. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite complete with four poster bed and splendid views or Rutland water. I would really recommend mattress toppers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie P
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angie P, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I am sorry to learn that your original Standard Twin room wasn't to your satisfaction, and I'm glad to note that we were able to offer you an upgrade at £30.00 supplement charge per night to the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in one of the lodges in the grounds of the hotel. Lodge - extremely good. Only issues were the strange variety of equipment in the kitchen - very good cooking tools but wholly inadequate saucepans etc. And the control of heating - the ground floor (bedrooms) always very cold but more than compensated on the 1st floor (lounge /...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter J
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter J, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I am delighted to learn that you were pleased with your lodge. Your comments about saucepans and heating control have been noted. May I add that we always have a Duty Manager available who could have looked...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went on a wowcher deal and the hotel certainly exceeded our expectations!! A beautiful setting and impressive reception area were a great start. All staff were welcoming and friendly, the facilities were great, large swimming pool/jacuzzi and steam room and sauna as well as snooker and table tennis. We had a small double room but it was a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baggles2013
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Baggles2013, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. We are exceptionally delighted to learn that you had such a fantastic experience throughout your recent stay- starting from a friendly warm welcome up to departure. Once again, thank you for your time and we also look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is not a spa, it is a lesuire centre. The pool is freezing and is decorated like a low budget lesuire centre. We enjoyed the hot tub but it's so out dated that it has be stopped every 10 mins to reheat. The hot tub was not hot enough either. There is no lift for disabled people, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire198927
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire198927, Thank you for posting your review in respect to your visit to our leisure & spa centre. The centre both leisure centre and spa- and I see you've used both on the day. We are sorry to learn about your discomfort with water temperature in the pool- it has been addressed to the Leisure Manager. We appreciate your...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful place to stay with a good leisure centre and helpful staff. We stayed in the main hotel, large comfortable room and bathroom, very quiet. Note the restaurant and swimming pool are in a separate building a short walk away. The pool and facilities were good, a token is required from Reception to gain access to the pool, a towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mag1
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mag1, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. I would like to thank you for your detailed description of our leisure facilities- although a detailed map is provided on our website and all guests get informed about deposits on check in, I'm sure that Tripadvisor readers would find your comments very...

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.8 km away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 km away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
516 reviews
4.0 km away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
9.8 km away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Restaurant
Brasserie Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Price Range: €87 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnsdale Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
derby
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Barnsdale Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask before you book”
 of 5 bubbles 893phillipad, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 509...Stunning”
 of 5 bubbles LeicesterActor, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Highly recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles TheWanderer68, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“510 has a large balcony and great views of the Water.”
 of 5 bubbles 595joanneb, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The best rooms have views over Rutland Water or the grounds.”
  • Stable Mews
 of 5 bubbles jog888, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5