We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mjejane River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mjejane River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Start your review of Mjejane River Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very good game park and accommodation. Game drive is excellent (ask for Evans !) and all people are friendly. Food is buffet - up to the standards. Free Wi-Fi and pool for kids. Great view from all rooms on crocodile river. Better as Kruger!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kris b
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kris b - Thank you for posting your review of Mjejane River Lodge here on TripAdvisor. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, in particular the wildlife viewing experience.

Sul Brasil, SC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge is great, the room is super comfortable. The direct access through the park is not open, it was annoying. We wish we had been warned. The pool overlooking Hippo and crocodiles is a plus. And the monkeys, impalas and wild boars that circulate around the lodge complete the gracious stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arianepbs
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Arianepbs - Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Mjejane River Lodge. We apologise for the inconvenience of the direct access to Kruger being closed and we will learn from your experience and do a better job of communicating this to future travellers - than you.

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful safari experience. So much better than I expected. Beautiful location on the river where you can easily see elephants and hippos. The Mjejane reserve has a huge amount of wildlife. We saw leopard, loads of rhino and much more. Rooms, food and drink were very good. All the staff were wonderful but special thanks to Given, Mosa (our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lynn K - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Mjejane River Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, that the Mjejane team took such good care of you. We're honoured that you would recommend Mjejane to future travellers - thank you.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed with friends in one of the time share river lodge chalets. Great views of the river although we were unfortunate not to see more game from the stoep. Easy access to the KNP although the access bridge within the reserve is currently closed. We did a day trip in via Crocodile Bridge and out of Malelane Gate. Game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JWT-1964
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JWT-1964 - Thank you for taking the time to review your Mjejane experience. Although this is the page for Mjejane River Lodge rather than for the timeshare properties, we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Mjejane.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night at this property which was a fantastic experience. The location was exceptional, facing the river in which hippopotamus were dozing and impala and wilderbeest were grazing. A family of worthogs was roaming around in the hotel grounds. Wild animals can be viewed directly from the hotel rooms, and we saw lions, elephants and many other game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piyushaatapattu
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear piyushaatapattu - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your heavenly birthday experience at Mjejane River Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed this special occasion, and that the Mjejane team took such good care of you.

Hectorspruit
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not as good as we hoped for. Staff was very friendly. Game Rangers have a good knowledge. Cleanliness and maintenance an issue. Loose tiles. Food was excellent. Location very nice. Gameview trips too expensive if trips are too short because of long sundowners and late departures.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 575wikusv
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 575wikusv - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Mjejane River Lodge. While we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, we're naturally sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your game drive experience. We will certainly be taking your constructive feedback into account as part of our ongoing standards review - thank...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

An excellent experience- great service and lot of animal viewing! Definitely recommend this lodge for all those who want to experience the African Safari ! Staff was very polite and food was excellent. Our stay at the Mjejane Lodge was a memorable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will choose Mjejane River Lodge again, the next time that you visit this amazing area.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Checked into location on 09/01/2017 along with family as we were staying in one of private lodges within estate. On arrival initial staff we met were friendly and welcoming. In order to cool down after 6 hours journey we decided to order drink in main bar in order to overlook river leading into Kruger Park. We received drinks however it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian C
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brian C - Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. While we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the whole, we're very disappointed to read your comments on the service you received at the bar. That is not at all the kind of service we want to be known for, and we would...

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

A nice experience, for a 3 day stay, drive through their Game Reserve to get to the lodging. No Cat sightings , many elephants, buck, zebra's, giraffe, warthogs... The lodging was nice and spacious, and well maintained. pleasant stay. Only downside is the distance to drive to go into the Kruger Park for a visit, quite a distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zubair B
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Zubair B - Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mjejane again soon!

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely stunning..... beautiful modern clean comfortable with stunning views. Ample space for a big family. Very friendly staff. We saw Elephants and Rhino in Mjejane park on our way for dinner. Lots to do for the kids - incl. Junior Rangers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMeyerJNB
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CMeyerJNB - Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the safaris, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (97)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hectorspruit
20.5 km away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
366 reviews
11.2 km away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
306 reviews
17.7 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#93 of 171 in Kruger National Park
240 reviews
8.8 km away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
311 reviews
4.7 km away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Full service Lodge offering Meals & Game Drives in Big 5 Territory ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mjejane River Lodge

Address: 2km after Hectorspruit off the N4 | Traveling East towards Komatipoort, Hectorspruit 1330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hectorspruit
Price Range: €272 - €543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mjejane River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Mjejane River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mjejane River Hotel Hectorspruit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mjejane River Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
west midlands
Johannesburg, South Africa
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Raleigh, North Carolina

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mjejane River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“To the right of reception”
Stunningchick69, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the river side”
SueB880, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 14 and 15 were great!”
LenYvonne, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I had room 14 - fabulous views”
  • Room 14
jackace2014, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Definitely choose a lodge on the river's edge!”
lindamorton06, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5