We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 300: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 August 2015

I have stayed twice at this hotel for business. The first time I stayed in a superior room and was very pleased with the layout, cleanliness and general presentation. The superior room was lovely and met all my expectations. Last week I stayed in the standard room and all my good impressions of the hotel were banished. The chairs were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Cindy L, Thank you for leaving a review following you stay. We are looking to update our standard rooms as we had previously worked on our superior rooms to bring them up to a higher standard. We will speak to housekeeping though to ensure that the rooms are clean and any maintenance issues are passed on the they proper...

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We arrived before noon and were told our room was not ready. Lucky to be able to get into another room, thanks to LeeAnn. The heating was on and no complaints about the room, very happy. We both had noticed a sign outside the restaurant with the special of the month, lamb shanks our favourite. Also, advised to book which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrismish
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Chrismish, Thank you for the review following your stay recently. We are very happy to hear that your room was comfortable and that Leeann could accommodate you prior to the 2pm check in time. In regards to the meal we have spoken to the kitchen to try and sort out what happened with your meal. We do apologise that...

Welly
Reviewed 15 July 2015

So as FOTY I don't take my kids to Disneyland or Pacific Island for the school holidays, I take them to MASTERTON! For 3 whole days...and Solway Park was a cracking place to stay. We stayed in a junior suite which is not part of the main complex (but easy access), it was clean, tidy and large enough for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zesdead23
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi zesdead23, Thank you for the stunning review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found plenty to do with the chilly weather outside keeping us all bundled up inside. It sounds like your room was comfortable and pleasant and we are glad that the whole family enjoyed the experience. We can't wait to have...

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 July 2015

this hotel was very easy to find for a non local. The staff were very accomodating and helpful and the room was really warm. We would stay here again. If i had any fault it would be the large cigarette box outside. it smelt and looked ugly. thank you for a nice stay and we found masterton a lovely place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyny52
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Bronwyny52, Thank you so much for the review regarding your stay. We are very pleased to see that your stay was comfortable and warm. It sounds like overall the staff and room were pleasant and that's great to hear. Thank you for the comments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. With Regards, Jerry Crump...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with another family. The room was okay but quite small. Internally to get from your room to the pool or restaurant was a nightmare. Signage was poor. Kids loved the pool though surprised they hold outside swim lessons in the pool on Sunday. Spa was like warm. Our evening meal was slow though they remove a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayBliss11
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi HolidayBliss11, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased to see that the children enjoyed the activities at the hotel. It's unfortunate that you found it difficult to navigate but we can take a look at the signage. We will also be speaking with the restaurant and looking into what may have caused the evening meal...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We've stayed here about three times, but think we may look elsewhere the next time we're staying the Wairarapa. This is partly due to the room we stayed in starting to look pretty tired, but also our teen isn't interested in what this hotel offers to families of younger children. If your kids are primary-intermediate aged, then they will love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlowerNapier
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi FlowerNapier, Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff and your interactions with them during your stay. It is true that our activities here are quite suited to younger children and the focus on keeping them busy and entertained. We are sorry that you found your room to be a bit tired. We are in the process of...

Auckland
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed just 1 night but could have easily stayed longer. This was great value. We stayed in what they called an apartment. There were 2 rooms, a large master bedroom with the bathroom and loads of space, there was a living room / kitchen that had 3 beds in. The kitchen had a hob, microwave, fridge and a dishwasher...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZMacLeods
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi NZMacLeods, Thank you for your review following your visit to the Copthorne Solway Park. It's very good to see that you enjoyed your stay regardless of the weather we were having. We will look into the spa and see if we can get it a bit hotter than it was during your visit. We hope that you can join...

Auckland
Reviewed 11 April 2015

My brother-in-law, with whom we were travelling, had stayed here before, and had said it was a good place to stay, not too expensive, but not too shabby, and he was right! We walked in off the street, and were served by a polite young man behind the desk, who found us two rooms next door to one another. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lehrerin
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Lehrerin, Thank you for the outstanding review and we are very happy to see that the hotel and our staff exceeded your expectations. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are comfortable and enjoying their stay. Thank you for the comments regarding the outdoor seating, we will have our Housekeeping Manager look into the seating arrangements...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Went here during the school holidays with the kids for a quick getaway. Lots of things to do with the kids, including BBQ, Tennis, Volleyball, Cricket and even Golf Range for the parents or the older kiddies. There are also two swimming pools and a spa for the kids to play all day. Nice and leisurely stay. Would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuspan
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi tuspan, We are so happy to see that you and your family had the chance to getaway to the Wairarapa and enjoyed your stay here at the Copthorne. We always like to hear that we are a great destination for families and everyone enjoyed the facilities and the rooms. We look forward to having you visit again in the...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Unfortunately our stay at Solway was not very pleasant. The room was full of long black curly hair, all through the bedroom and bathroom. It was disgusting. The staff at reception were rude and unaccomodating on arrival. They treated us like we were an inconvenice to them.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E2910LRsarah
JerryCrump, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't very enjoyable. We have passed on your remarks regarding the room to our Housekeeping Manager so we can look into the issue. Our housekeeping staff work very hard and if something was overlooked then we would like to remedy it...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
30.7 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
125 reviews
1.8 km away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
110 reviews
0.4 km away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
70 reviews
2.0 km away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
64 reviews
1.8 km away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Price Range: €81 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early online”
 of 5 bubbles bakoRotorua, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want value for money don't chose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jenrusty2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back of resort ask for updated room”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the Junior Suite (only $150 if you join the loyalty programme).”
 of 5 bubbles G1606YBtinas, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the car psrk”
 of 5 bubbles Ronz142, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5