We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 289: English reviews
Birchgrove, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Straight out of the 1960's, this asbestos masterpiece is on a busy main road. Paint peeling (hopefully not lead paint), terrible laminex everywhere, rooms are coloured a lovely mustard (reminiscent of new born baby's first passings). Beds are sloppy and soft, bathroom terrible. No aircon, only fans. Kitchenette reminds me of my dementia aunt's hospice. How can this be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boodar
rotorua
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting Masterton after 10 years was enlightening, however, one of the highlights was staying at the Copthorne Hotel in Solway.Park. An extremely pleasant night was spent there in pleasant surroundings. The restaurant was 'top class' with tasty cuisine and courteous service. The accommodation was excellent and all in all our stay there was most accommodating. Would highly recommend it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakoRotorua
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you had an wonderful stay at our establishment and enjoyed our Restaurant The Grill. Our hotel aims to provide a pleasant experience for all our guests and we are happy to meet your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wifey and I stayed here for a couple of nights while we checked out the local mountain biking trails. We opted for a superior room and first booked for one night. The first room was excellent, spacious and nice with a comfy bed. We decided to go back the next night, but the room we were given on the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our superior room and were pleased with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Christchurch
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We picked the Solway because it has a pool and looked to be great for families. It was perfect for our family of 4. Two pools, tennis court, games room, and great family restaurant. Very nice and quiet and clean and tidy, we would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunnos
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted your family enjoyed our various range of facilities we have at our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

27th Dec 2016 we stayed 1 night in a so called "Superior" room which was far from superior in size, comfort and decor. Paid over $250.00 so expected an excellent quality and comfortable bed, a decent size room with up to date and decor - we got non of these. Sadly the furnishings looked a bit on the not so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenrusty2016
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This girl s a great place to stay with cafe, golf driving range,gym, games room and a fantastic restaurant providing excellent meals all day. There is something for everyone but the decor is getting a little tired and needs an overhaul.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark152014
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Mark. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel and that you enjoyed the variety of facilities on-site. We value your feedback as it helps us to evaluate and improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So unprofessional and lost minded staff I work in a hotel and I know how it works and I was so disappointed regarding front desk service. They have no clue what their are doing at work finally I've got my money back after 9 days. No sense of urgency was waiting in the restaurant from 7am for my room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sagar N
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here after booking through booking.com. Was surprised that my credit card was charged two months after booking, yet 2 months before staying. We stayed in a superior room and was surprised at how small it was, and lacked any wow factor. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great, so not all bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Matt. Our hotel aims to provide a good experience, and we are disappointed that you felt we lacked in that area. We value your feedback as it helps us to evaluate and improve. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed at this resort due to being part of a tour group. We were advised on checkin to prebook for dinner due to its "popularity".We were quite taken aback to find that there were six people in the room that would normally seat 100.The meal was good but priced much higher than expected. The waitress appeared to be in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnY7566XH
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review John. Our hotel aims to provide a great experience, and we are disappointed that you felt the buffet breakfast was too expensive. We highly value your feedback as it helps us to evaluate and improve and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Wgtn
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Last time I stayed here would have been 10-12 years ago and place and been given upgrade which makes it a lot more appealing now. Place pretty much has everything you want and need and caters for families, couples and big groups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G-DoggyRulz
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and appreciated the upgrade since your last visit. Our hotel aims to provide a good experience, and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
31.6 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
167 reviews
1.8 km away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
107 reviews
0.4 km away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#6 of 11 in Masterton
62 reviews
1.8 km away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
76 reviews
0.1 km away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Masterton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Price Range: €90 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early online”
 of 5 bubbles bakoRotorua, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want value for money don't chose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jenrusty2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back of resort ask for updated room”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the Junior Suite (only $150 if you join the loyalty programme).”
 of 5 bubbles G1606YBtinas, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the car psrk”
 of 5 bubbles Ronz142, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay