We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
 Click to rate
Auckland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room had everything we needed for our one-night stay with two young kids. Staff were super friendly and helpful. I left my IPhone charger at home and they were able to lend me one. We came for Wings over Wairarapa which was cancelled owing to torrential rain. The hotel reduced our rate from $297 to $147. Impressed that they did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigirl8
Auckland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a night for work. Arrived in the evening and left in the morning so can't say too much. The hotel itself is old and a bit tired, but kept clean. Rooms and decor need a refurbishment, but in saying that everything was there - minibar, amenities (including plenty of bathrooms things), blackout curtains, TV, comfortable bed and usable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarryJM88
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Harry. Our housekeepers work hard to ensure our hotel is kept to the highest standards so we appreciate your great feedback there. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, next time hopefully you can try out our restaurant The Grill.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Low expectations, but this venue was exceptional for catering for 300 or so people. Here with my husband for one night only, part of a weeks cycling event. Excellent spacious, modern room. Beautiful bathroom. Everything spotless and extremely comfortable. Excellent parking and grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 699meredith
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear your impressed review of our catering team. Its wonderful that you had a comfortable enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As an older establishment it's basically a motel that's been done up a little. The room I had was a typical 70's motel room that was slightly modernised but with very uncomfortable beds. Never got to try the restaurant as it was fully booked and didn't make space for in house guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Falcogeorge
SolwayPark, Sales & Marketing Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi George, Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. We have great news to share that in this year we will start refurbish all the rooms and replace all the beds as well. Regarding the Grill being closed unfortunately...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Copthorne hotels used to be good once but no longer. This is by no means the first bad review I have had to post about them but unfortunately we were stuck with this hotel on a tour of New Zealand. The evening meal was very poor, hardly any choice of starters, the roast beef was tough as old boots and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul R
SolwayPark, Sales & Marketing Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. Management had this discussion and we have also spoken to the wider team regarding some of the issues and we will make sure this does not happen in the future....

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for three days as part of a conference. Staff were friendly and attentive, the setting was relaxed and the facilities fine. We only used the restaurant for conference meals but the food was also fine. Next time we will book a little extra time to take advantage of the pool, spa and golf driving range. The only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brigadier
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy our various facilities on site a little longer.

Birchgrove, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Straight out of the 1960's, this asbestos masterpiece is on a busy main road. Paint peeling (hopefully not lead paint), terrible laminex everywhere, rooms are coloured a lovely mustard (reminiscent of new born baby's first passings). Beds are sloppy and soft, bathroom terrible. No aircon, only fans. Kitchenette reminds me of my dementia aunt's hospice. How can this be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boodar
SolwayPark, Sales & Marketing Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Boodar, Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. These apartment rooms are not available online and they are not advertised as we do advise all guest wanting to book these rooms when they make a call to our...

rotorua
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Visiting Masterton after 10 years was enlightening, however, one of the highlights was staying at the Copthorne Hotel in Solway.Park. An extremely pleasant night was spent there in pleasant surroundings. The restaurant was 'top class' with tasty cuisine and courteous service. The accommodation was excellent and all in all our stay there was most accommodating. Would highly recommend it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakoRotorua
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you had an wonderful stay at our establishment and enjoyed our Restaurant The Grill. Our hotel aims to provide a pleasant experience for all our guests and we are happy to meet your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Wifey and I stayed here for a couple of nights while we checked out the local mountain biking trails. We opted for a superior room and first booked for one night. The first room was excellent, spacious and nice with a comfy bed. We decided to go back the next night, but the room we were given on the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our superior room and were pleased with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Christchurch
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We picked the Solway because it has a pool and looked to be great for families. It was perfect for our family of 4. Two pools, tennis court, games room, and great family restaurant. Very nice and quiet and clean and tidy, we would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunnos
SolwayPark, Reception Team Leader at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted your family enjoyed our various range of facilities we have at our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
19.0 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
157 reviews
1.8 km away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
110 reviews
0.4 km away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
77 reviews
2.0 km away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
62 reviews
0.1 km away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Price Range: €97 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early online”
 of 5 bubbles bakoRotorua, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want value for money don't chose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jenrusty2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back of resort ask for updated room”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the Junior Suite (only $150 if you join the loyalty programme).”
 of 5 bubbles G1606YBtinas, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the car psrk”
 of 5 bubbles Ronz142, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5