We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ika Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ika Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Ika Lodge is one of those B&Bs that you are occasionally very lucky to find. It definitely deserves an 'excellent' rating. Margaret and Ken are outstanding hosts and extremely helpful in organising trips or dinner bookings. Margaret was even able to arrange a massage which resolved my wife's hip pain ... the treatment enabled her to complete the Tongariro Crossing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris F
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you and it was a pleasure to have you both stay, trust the rest of your NZ holidays was a memorable experience.

norwich
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Margaret and Ken are perfect hosts. We stayed 2 nights to be able to complete the Tongariro Crossing. Ken organised it all for us with early weather forecasts, bus booking, early call and early breakfast, packed lunch etc. The house and rooms are delightful and tea in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neil-harriet
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments we are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the rest of your visit to NZ was as memorable

Klosterneuburg, Austria
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this outstanding place run by Margaret and Ken who couldn´t do a better job as hosts. Of course breakfasts are excellent, rooms are perfect and surrounding gardens are lovely and quiet- but it´s Margaret´s and Ken´s personality making the difference. They really manage to make you feel like home. No matter travelling south to Wellington, east...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josef R
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we love what we do and all the great people that we meet and hope that this goes someway to ensuring our guests have a memorable experience at Ika Lodge. We trust that your holiday in NZ was all and more than you expected.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Having spent a month travelling NZ including staying at the Wellington Club and Larnach Castle, the breakfasts Margaret provided excelled them all. The room was also always stocked with delicious home made biscuits AND there was a decanter of port! Margaret and Kenneth were incredibly helpful at short notice in booking transport for the Tongariro Crossing, providing packed lunches for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGB8
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks, we like to think that breakfast at Ika Lodge is a meal that sends our guests off on the right foot for another day of exploration, it is nice to know that it is enjoyed.

Georgia
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had a large modern, clean room, with cookies and tea on arrival, and port with glasses in a small anteroom for use later. The bed is large and comfortable, and the bath and shower are excellent. There is excellent wi-fi, and plenty of room for your laptop at the dining table--if you brought one. Margaret makes an excellent made-to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie S
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we have analysed the cost of credit card transactions and realised that with a small operation the costs were disproportionate, a number of similar operations to ours do not accept credit cards and also most hotels, airlines and petrol/gas stations levy a surcharge. We faced the choice of perhaps increasing our rates, which have been...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the apartment and from the moment we arrived we knew we had made a perfect choice!! We were greeted by Margaret and Ken, who are the perfect hosts .. Always there for advice and assistance, but never in the way of privacy. The apartment is stunning, with a warm, welcoming lounge, great kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenzie V
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

We are please that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the peaceful environment and some of the outdoor activities we offer in the area. It is very pleasing to hear that the effort we put in is appreciated and makes it all wothwhile.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Me and my wife stayed only for one night in December at Ika Lodge but it was a very pleasant stay. Margaret and Kenneth were lovely hosts and they helped us with preparations for Tongariro Crossing. Unfortunately, the weather turned out to be so bad we couldn't go but luckily there were other activities available. Margaret suggested we should try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayP55
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you and I am afraid mountain weather is unpredictable but we are glad we could suggest alternatives that highlighted the variety available in the Tongariro/Turangi area to our first Finnish guests.

Deming, Washington
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We only stayed one night but I wish it had been longer. We were two couples who were referred here by another Turangi establishment that was full, and we are happy we were. Kenneth and Margaret's home, literally on the banks of the Tongariro River and near a great hiking trail, is spotlessly clean and beautiful. Their breakfast was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marsha S
Lexington, Virginia
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The owners, Kenneth and Margaret, went way above and beyond for us! The week before we arrived to hike the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, the volcano erupted and the crossing was closed down. After a few emails back and forth, we decided to come anyway. We could not be more pleased with our decision! By the time we arrived, they had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MuseoffireAD
Whylla, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Ika Lodge, it was lovely to have met fellow foodies and although disappointing not to be able to do the crossing we were glad that you enjoyed some of the other fantastic walks and scenery available in the Turangi/Tongariro area.

Bellingen, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This house is certainly beautiful and well appointed. It's location, adjacent to the walking track along the Tongariro river is handy for walks and still close to town. The breakfasts are probably the best we've encountered in New Zealand and we've had a few good ones. The rooms are spotlessly clean the guest lounge is very comfortable and attractive. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bjerkana

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turangi hotels
0.4 km away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
54 reviews
0.8 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
247 reviews
0.1 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#4 of 9 in Turangi
195 reviews
0.3 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.7 km away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ika Lodge provides boutique accommodation, in either two B&B Suites or a 2 bedroom self contained apartment on the banks of the Tongariro River - a perfect base for fishing the best rainbow trout rivers in the world, bush and mountain walks, skiing and the world famous Tongariro Crossing walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ika Lodge

Address: 155 Taupahi Rd, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: €107 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ika Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ika Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only 3 rooms available ... the Garden Room is adjacent to the lounge and breakfast room on the ground floor ... we found it very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisF828, 13 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Both rooms are excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles MuseoffireAD, 1 Dec 2012 | Read review
“I think the downstairs rooms are spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately the upstairs room is rather cramped, loft-style, with slanting beams you have to stoop to walk round to avoid hitting your head, which we managed to do anyway.”
  • loft bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Bjerkana, 11 Nov 2012 | Read review
3 of 3