Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Galileo Donovaly

Traveller (39)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 3 small hotels in Donovaly
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Hotel Galileo Donovaly is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Donovaly, offering a luxury environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Hotel Galileo Donovaly provide a minibar, a seating area, and a desk, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Hotel Galileo Donovaly guests have access to 24 hour front desk, room service, and a sun terrace. You can also enjoy a hot tub and free breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Hotel Galileo Donovaly.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Donovaly ribs restaurant such as Koliba Goral, which is a short distance from Hotel Galileo Donovaly.

If you are interested in exploring Donovaly, check out St. Anthony Padua Church in Donovaly (0.1 mi), which is a short walk from Hotel Galileo Donovaly.

Enjoy your stay in Donovaly!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Ski school
Indoor play area for children
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Skiing
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Massage
Solarium
Steam room
Ski In / Ski Out
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Minibar
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Slovak

Location

Donovaly 196, Donovaly 976 39 Slovakia
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Poprad-Tatry Airport
77.2 km
See all flights
Ivanka Airport
167.9 km
See all flights
68Reviews1Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 20
  • 6
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Katarina P wrote a review Feb 2013
Nitra, Slovakia59 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We´ve planned a holiday in Galileo hotel Donovaly long time, but it was always fully booked during winter and also summer season. I was very happy, when I finaly made our reservation. We´ve expected the best service, but were kind of disapointed... The staff was nice and polite, but the cleaness of the room was not good (dust). Room service didn´t come every day, which is kind of wierd in 4**** hotel. We have had smelly trash cans in the room for 2 days...
Breakfast buffet was various, but not 100% delicious. Dinner was ok, our kids also liked it.
Anyway, all the interior was beautiful - furniture, decorations and also wellness centre. They just should take more care about the service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rmarko wrote a review Dec 2011
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice people, uncredibly atmosphere and romantic hotel. Very nice wellness with candle and nice relaxing music.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mack wrote a review Sept 2021
3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After long day trip 15+ hours we met our hotel where we wanted to stay. We came in, told our reservation and the receptionist told me i have fake ID and called police on me, then police confirmed my identitity but they still did NOT approve my stay. Its rly unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joseph S wrote a review Aug 2019
Naxxar, Malta77 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our visit was in July and we stayed in a two bedroom apartment. the accommodation was clean very spacious and comfortable. It had plenty natural light from a large window over looking an open area where we parked our car. Good equipped kitchenette for basic cooking. A bit awkward access the apartment. From the reception you have to go down and up again flight of steps passing through the laundry area.

The food and service at the restaurant was pleasant and reasonably priced.

Very helpful staff at the reception. Special thanks to the receptionist who was duty on the 21st July Sunday morning. She was very helpful to advice places of interest and towns and villages to visit nearby. Unfortunately we misplaced a note we had to mention her name specifically. Always with a beautiful smile. Her home town is Banska Bystrica.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Einar Ben wrote a review Mar 2019
Reykjavik, Iceland13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So when we got our food, most of the group got great food - BUT - the Ribeye Steaks where to say the least horrible! When whe talked to the waiters they just said nothing was wrong, we would not get another steaks, without saying we are sorry or let’s check whats wrong - even when you could smell how bad the mest had gone. After 35 min of waiting we got a RAW slice of meat - not medium nor medium rare for that matter - and had to fight the staff who where trying to charge us for the rotten meat as well as the ,,OK” one. Never ever again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Responded 5 Mar 2019
Dear guest, we appreciate and value all the opinions and reviews of our guests. We have no problem accepting criticism if it is justified. However we can not agree with your words, and need to say that your accusations are unacceptable. For our quality speaks our reputation among our guests and many excellent reviews of satisfied customers. We are proud that during the history of our restaurant we have won many satisfied customers and outstanding reputation far and wide. The profesionality and attitude of our employees is appreciated by many our regular guests and it is highly valued in many reviews. We appreciate the trust of our customers, we would never offer a poor quality meat to our clients, in no case rotten meat. We also reject your accusations about not helping and unwilling attitude. Your complaint have been taken seriously and solved by our emploeyees. Your complaint was solved on the spot with our chef, and waiters. All of them tasted the meat and did not found any problem with the steak, you was also showed the piece of meat from which your steak was prepared. The steak you got was of the same meat from which the chef prepared steaks for guests next to your table, in the same time. We asked them as well, steaks has been rated as delicious. Upon your complaint, you were prepared different kind of steak - the beef steak - that you consumed. The second steak was prepared for free, you have only been charged the original order. After your complaint about the price, you have been only charged the cheaper steak. Your original order - Rib Eye steak was probably not good choice for you, but it is not the reason for unjustified charges and attacks. The steak was prepared professionally from high quality, fresh meat. Our guests, their opinions and their satisfaction with our services are extremely important for us. However we do not accept misleading allegations and depreciation of our work. We are sorry about your feelings, however we insist on our statement - your complaint was unjustified, as we explained and proved to you and your friends during your visit in our restaurant. Each of us gives everything he can do into our work. We are really disappointed about people, who are unable to accept that they are not always right and ventilate their excitement by writing unsubstantiated and deceptive ratings. In this case we need to defend our work from misleading and unjustified accusations. Every guest is very important for us and we regret that you did not leave our restaurant satisfied. But the non-recognition of an unjustified complaint is not a reason for a similar review nor for an attempt to spoil the years-built good reputation of our restaurant. We are sure about the quality of our work which is confirmed by many regular and returning guests. We have no problem accepting legitimate criticism, we take it as an opportunity to improve our services. But we do not accept deceptive allegations. Hotel Galileo Donovaly****
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raduz D wrote a review Mar 2018
Bratislava, Slovakia331 contributions132 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is for sure the best place to stay and to eat at Donovaly. You can select from local dishes, some specials and steaks. The hotel has nice rooms, but the highlight is the spa on the top floor with a great view.

Fried cheese on the pic - a local must have Slovak specialty.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
martin_kl24 wrote a review Oct 2017
Bratislava, Slovakia10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
very pleasant accommodation in the center of Donovaly, excellent cuisine and wellness overlooking the surrounding mountains. Nice staff, spacious and clean room for reasonable price. I can only recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Responded 13 Oct 2017
Dear Martin, thank you for staying in our hotel and taking time to share your experience. It is always pleasure to read such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Your Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martina K wrote a review Mar 2017
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They left us waiting to check in over an hour without any proper answer when the room will be ready. There was noone else at the reception waiting to check in only us. Receptionist's customer service should improved a lot

Temperature in the room was too hot, slept with windows open and in underwear. The heaters were completely switched off and cold to touch and the receptionist again showed her professionals by telling us to close the heater and open the window...not mentioning that we had 5year old kid in the room and sleeping with windows open in winter is ridiculous!

The jacuzzi was allowed to enter only nude ( so advertised as family hotel you can imagine your parents/grandparents/kids sitting all naked in Jacuzzi surrounded with big glass windows and people walking by the bar looking at them from outside) VERY pleasant!

Not mentioning the restaurant....dont even waste your time to eat there.

Never again this hotel even if they offer it for free!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Responded 17 Mar 2017
Dear Ms. Martina, we would like to respond to your complaint. We feel very sorry about your negative experience. However there are some inconsistencies in the review you posted. Probably you're writing for someone from your family, as any guest with your name was not staying in our hotel. Check in is possible after 2pm. Guests are informed about the time of check in while booking the stay. If the hotel occupancy permits we gladly provide a room to our guests earlier. But in this case it was not possible due to the workload of the hotel during the holiday of Bratislava region. Our wellness center is intended primarily for rest and relaxation of our guests. The wellness center follows the rules of healthy sauna bath, therefore entry to hotel spa is allowed only without swimsuit. Guests in the spa do not have to be naked. Receptionist automatically provide every guest with sheet and towel. We inform about the ban on wearing swimsuit on our web page. Entry of children until 7 years is forbidden. Guest receive the information about restrictions on admission of children when booking the stay with child. Big glass windows provide guests with a beautiful view of the panorama of Donovaly. Since wellness is located on the top floor of the hotel - on the third floor, it is not possible to see into the spa from outside. We have very possitive feedback on the staff of our hotel, so we are very caught off guard with your complaint about the reluctance of receptionist. Anyway, we would like to apologize and assure you, that we will discuss your complaint with the receptionist. We are specially proud of the quality of our restaurant. Many guests return to our hotel also thanks to our excellent cuisine and professional staff in the restaurant. Therefore, we are very sorry about your negative impression. In case like this, the best solution is to discuss your complaint on the spot directly with the director or the manager of the hotel who can immediately to resolve the complaint to your satisfaction. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maxinko83 wrote a review Aug 2015
Bratislava, Slovakia63 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The carpark was full after our arrival, so we were little bit disappointed. Many people goes to local restaurant close to the hotel, and hotel is close to the main road which is busy. Breakfast was ok, but there was not variety of food. Lift always busy, we used rather stairs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Galileo_Donovaly
Donovaly, Slovakia
Hello from Hotel Galileo, thank you for your interest in our hotel. Our rooms and lobby are not equipped with microwave. Our hotel offers dining in our alla cart restauration. If you have more questions about our services, please feel free to contact us on email address recepcia@galilehotel.sk or manager@galileohotel.sk Hotel Galileo**** Donovaly
ValekMiro wrote a tip Aug 2014
Bratislava, Slovakia131 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room on the back side of the hotel. No gallery but less loud if there's some party down the hotel."
Read full review
virginiag809 wrote a tip Jan 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia22 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room on front of hotel so you can see the slops."
Read full review
gardenofengland wrote a tip Aug 2013
Folkestone, United Kingdom1,838 contribution493 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with a balcony"
Read full review
larry b wrote a tip May 2013
Appleton, Wisconsin3 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you must stay here, don't allow them to put you in a room directly above the restaurant. It will be loud!"
Read full review
veve_sweetie wrote a tip Jan 2012
Bratislava, Slovakia7 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms in the front are sunny and view out is magical"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Donovaly area.
PRICE RANGE
€149 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SlovakiaBanska Bystrica RegionDonovaly
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GALILEO DONOVALY - Reviews & Price Comparison (Slovakia)

All Donovaly HotelsDonovaly Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DonovalyHotels near Hotel Galileo Donovaly
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire