We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,895: English reviews
Glasgow
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Great location, spoiled by badly run service with inexperienced staff. Facility is very good at Loch Ard and offers great outdoor activities and stunning scenery. Whilst the staff were willing, they were not well managed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 53angusd
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 53angusd, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that your visit was not an enjoyable one. We do have a relatively new team in the restaurant and we are working hard to ensure the service levels are inline with guest expectations. Thank you again for...

Glasgow
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Very disappointing visit. Management are clearly failing in their duty to properly train and manage the staff. Numerous guests were told there was no space in the restaurants despite them being less than half full! Food quality wasn't what it should be either and every bill we were given was wrong. Not once did anyone ask if our meal had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tigger_Geek
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tigger_Geek, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that your visit was not an enjoyable one. We have taken steps to retrain the team and ensure we are offering the levels of service expected. We did have a private function dining the evening you stayed...

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The title of my review is a direct quote from my partner when I was discussing the hotel with her after our stay. It's almost a really good hotel but there are a few small things that let it down. Attention to detail is what makes the difference between 5 stars and 4 and it's clear that this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveller_72
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear traveller_72, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that there were some aspects of your stay that we didn’t get quite right and I am taking steps to ensure this does not happen in...

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We booked this hotel to give our friend an elegant and classy hen night. I have to admit i was a little apprehensive at first, as at times it was very difficult to get hold of the hotel to answer our questions and even to pay the bill but from the moment we arrived we felt incredibly spoiled. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FH76
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear FH76, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent Hen Party. I’m pleased to read that James made you all feel at home and that nothing was too much trouble for his team. It’s also great to read that you were able to make the most of our Spa – I’m sure the treatments helped with the stress...

Glasgow
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Gorgeous setting with lovely grounds. Bit remote settling so would not want to stay more than 2 nights although we were only actually staying for one. Good location for walking/cycling around Aberfoyle/Trossachs. Apartments looked good from outside with large balconies which hotel room did not have. Booked "feature king" room which was spacious and comfortable, small bathroom with double shower...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotstraveller25
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear scotstraveller25, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you were able to make the most of our beautiful grounds and the surrounding area. We do have some balconies available in the hotel, but these are limited and subject to availability. We welcome staff from all over the world...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The view from the hotel was amazing and the sun was out for us when we arrived, but it went wrong after this, the view from the room was the car park and reception door, and I am sure another room could have been available, we were put right at the end of a corridor and my son put round...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billynosbig
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear billynosbig, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to read that not every aspect of your stay was positive. I have passed your comments onto our Housekeeping Team who are taking steps to ensure all rooms are cleaned to the highest standards. I have asked our Maintenance Team to look into...

London
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I was really looking forward to visiting this hotel. When we arrived we were told our rooms wouldn't be ready until after 4pm which was inconvenient as we had spa treatments booked and it would have been preferable to get unpacked and changed before our treatments. We decided to have a coffee in the lounge area before going to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leah B
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LAB26London, Thank you for your review. I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager and Housekeeping team regarding your issues on arrival to the hotel. This is not the normal standard and I am sorry for this. We did have a problem with The Cloud, however this has now been resolved. Thank you again for your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Hotel has been recently refurbished. Room was spacious with two armchairs, not the usual one, with side view of the loch looking over grounds. Pool and spa in separate building. Good size rectangular pool, clean and airy changing rooms with bistro overlooking pool. Bistro also has to with sports tv channels. A very peaceful and beautiful location. We enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary K
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary K, Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. It’s great to read that you were able to make the most of all of the facilities we have on the resort. I am sorry to read that your breakfast experience was not a more positive one. I have passed your comments onto our Head...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently for two nights. Hotel situated in beautiful surroundings in a wonderful part of the country. We found all staff to be warm and welcoming and were more than happy with our room. The one area where the hotel has room to improve is in the Garden Room dining area. In the main the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank billkrr1
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear billkrr1, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry for the issues you encountered in our Garden restaurant. We have taken a number of steps in this area to make improvements to ensure guests have a great experience right throughout the hotel. Thank you again for...

Scotland
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I arranged a ladies spa weekend for my wife and a group of friends as part of a 50th birthday celebration on the 16th/17th April 2016. What a great time the group of eighteen ladies had on their weekend. The booking had been pre-arranged with Samantha Ely their events exec and everything from the rooms arranged to the evening meals...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WALLACEBRAE
ForestOps, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear WALLACEBRAE, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your wife’s recent visit. Its great to read that Sam and Julie were able to make the weekend a success and I am sure they will be delighted to receive your feedback. Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you...

585 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (559)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (237)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
21.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
30.8 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.6 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
376 reviews
32.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
12.1 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Price Range: €93 - €267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dog friendly as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 88royg, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the lodges as you pay a premium and not worth the money , especially due to coldness and damp.”
 of 5 bubbles jackpJ9809AX, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for a Loch view”
 of 5 bubbles EdinburghDonald, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“£20 extra for Saturday, £30 for superior room”
 of 5 bubbles 45years, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for loch view”
 of 5 bubbles angelae748, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5