We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,895: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is very secluded. It is not good for a home base if you plan to travel to Edinburgh or Glasgow (both are min 1.5 hours away through very tiny one lane 2 direction roads). This is a great place for a summer outdoors trip- just be sure to drive as you will need a car to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. For clarity Glasgow is 45 minutes from the hotel with approximately 2 miles of narrow road followed by 28 miles of A road, similarly Edinburgh is approximately 2 hours away and is motorway for the vast majority of the trip. I very much hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort is in a beautiful location. The Macdonald resorts website is awful, but we managed to book for a 3 night family stay. Requested to be located near another family also staying but on check-in turned out they were at opposite end of the resort (in fairness this is only a 5 minute walk). We were in the self-catering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EBoo63
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I am pleased that there were positive aspects to your stay and I thanks you for your feedback concerning the Lodge that you stayed in. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I booked this place the photos and price led me to believe it would be a luxury trip. The building itself and the rooms looked quite old and outdated. The room was clean but the furniture, carpets and decor was very old and it looked worn out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie D
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, you will be pleased to know that our refurbishment is due to be completed on March 31st of this year, I very much hope that we will see you again and you can enjoy the hotel.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in 'Lodge' lovely big rooms comfortable and stunning views over gardens and over to Loch. Although it is a 4pm check-in (Yes 4pm!) we managed into our room earlier thanks to help of staff all very helpful. Didn't have breakfast as we self catered. Kitchen lovely with all utensils plates/cutlery you will need. Probably will return maybe once weather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghStevie_E
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Im pleased to read that your stay was good, I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying in a B&B nearby and needed a quick bite to eat, as we'd been working all day and travelled 2 hours to get to Kinlochard. We ate in the Bistro. Food was very average, and the side orders were a rip off in our opinion. Seasonal vegatables was basically a stew pack for £4, and onion rings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoyofFood61
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I'm sorry that you felt the prices were too high, we feel that we are competitive given the quality of produce used but appreciate the feedback nonetheless. I hope that we will see you again if you are staying in the area.

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited this hotel before a few years ago and saw a deal so revisited. My husband and I were not disappointed as it still has a very good standard. Our room was massive but too the side which was fine for us. There is a bistro bar above the pool which is very comfy but has gaming room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, its great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for staying with us and I hope that it will not be too long until we see you again.

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Yep, a beautiful setting and that's where the wow factor ends. The lodges are nice & a good size but require a deep clean as there is a staleness which I'd imagine us there due to them catering for smokers in the past. The swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room & sauna were on the cold side there didn't seem to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackieashworth
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I am pleased to read that there were positives to your stay. We are in the process of upgrading many of our lodges and I hope you will have the chance to enjoy one of them i the future. I hope we see you again soon.

Paris, France
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very nice room in this big hotel which is situated in a fabulous location, surrounded by nature and lochs. The swimming pool was very large, with a fitness center. Breakfast was OK in a very nice room with amazing views on the loch. We do recommend this hotel for families. The only bad point was that some rooms were being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivier D
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Im pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I very much hope that we will see you back at Forest hills very soon.

Ayrshire
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We stayed here for one night, one night was enough. After staying in other MacDonald hotels this was a great disappointment. It's a lovely hotel and in lovely setting. It's over heated and badly organised. We arrived at two pm to be told brusquely we were too early. It was 3.40 before we were give our rooms which had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindaayrshire
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Its disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your time at Forest Hills as much as you should. I am very sorry of there were any delays in the restaurant and I will speak with the team regarding the card machine as I'm not aware of there being any issue with this. Thanks for passing...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but had spa access as part of.our accommodation up the road. All I can say is I know council leisure centres that are nicer than this spa! Women's changing room was like a school sports hall changing room, rubbish, discarded swimming costumes/goggles lying around, lockers missing keys, missing the safety pins to attach keys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraEWD
Andrew D, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review although I am sorry to read that you were so disappointed. Your comments are welcomed however and are always discussed with the relevant department. Thanks for choosing to use us and I hope that we might see you again.

585 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (559)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (237)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
21.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
30.8 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.6 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
376 reviews
32.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
12.1 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Price Range: €94 - €268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dog friendly as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 88royg, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the lodges as you pay a premium and not worth the money , especially due to coldness and damp.”
 of 5 bubbles jackpJ9809AX, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for a Loch view”
 of 5 bubbles EdinburghDonald, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“£20 extra for Saturday, £30 for superior room”
 of 5 bubbles 45years, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for loch view”
 of 5 bubbles angelae748, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5