We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Island Rendezvous

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Island Rendezvous
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Island Rendezvous
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great reception staff gave very friendly reminders about our booking and accommodated us when we arrived late. Room was very adequate and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately the house next door started playing loud music as we were going to sleep. Then departing guests woke us at 5.45 am! So not much sleep. But a good place to stay if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Canberra
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a downstairs (standard) unit. The room facilities are fine - comfy bed, kitchenette, and plenty of space. However the soundproofing between the upstairs and downstairs units is terrible. We heard every footstep, sneeze and sigh from upstairs. When they walked around (no fault of their own!) the ornaments on the wall rattled. Timber floors will do that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canberra_pair
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Spent three nights here. The micro-village cabins are spacious, clean, and well equipped. The hotel is conveniently located near the wharf and the boats that take you to the off shore attractions. A cafe is located within the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greekmermaid13
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi greekmermaid13, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were pleased to hear that you had such a nice stay at White Island Rendezvous and that you enjoyed the many amenities on offer. Cheers!

Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Budget studio was perfect for our needs, good kitchenette, ace shower and a first class bed. Lots of floor space, TV, chairs, dining table. The staff are very helpful and understanding, making us aware about the planned trip to White Island, cancelled due to poor weather. Great stay, no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi Adrian C, We're sorry to hear that you were unable to visit White Island during your time in Whakatane (pesky weather Gods!), but were happy to note that you enjoyed your time at White Island Rendezvous nevertheless. Thank you for the review and we hope you'll return again soon!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Ok rooms in cottage but internet hopeless - antiquated and drops out when ever you return to room. Need to re- enter old style system of complex username password combinations. As a result I was hit with massive Telstra bill for internet from roaming download rather than being able to use a normal hotel broadband system. It flicks customers back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
New Zealand
Reviewed 7 March 2017

3 Couples stayed here in the Micro Village Cabins well they are wonderful clean well presented large bathroom comfortable bed amazing set up private BBQ area loved it & will definitely be back - Must also say the staff were extremely friendly, bubbly, happy to help, nothing was put in the too hard basket breakfast was also lovely altho my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merlot1
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi Merlot1, It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Micro-Village cabins at White Island Rendezvous and that, amongst other things, you found our staff to be some friendly and accommodating. We hope to welcome you back again some day, and thank you for your review.

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights and absolutely loved our time at the motel and in whakatane. The staff are some of the best I have struck and bent over backwards to help us. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this motel and the tours to White Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Praxmeyer
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi Praxmeyer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous and your feedback regarding our staff is most appreciated and something we are very proud of. We hope you return again soon!

Tamahere RD3 Hamilton
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the micro cabins. Really spacious for a so called micro cabin. Very quiet, enjoyable stay with an easy walk into town or straight across the road to the water. Originally booked for 2 nights but extended because it was a very good property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLB81
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi JLB81, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and share your experience. We're particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you extended, and hope to welcome you back again someday!

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in one of the micro cabins. Certainly not micro! Spacious modern cabins, very well set up with lovely bathroom with walk in shower and the most comfortable bed we have slept in this trip! Staff very nice and when our room was not ready at check in they gave us complimentary tea while we waited in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi Brian R, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our micro-village cabins ("certainly not micro!") and that you found our staff to be so nice. This is feedback we are most proud of, thank you. To address your comment about the location of the...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We stayed for three nights in a two bedroom apartment (number 22 which is quietly situated at the furthest end from the reception area). The living area is huge and would comfortably house four people. My only criticism was of the state of the bathroom (including the cracked toilet) which would definitely benefit from a refit sooner rather than later....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi Richard G, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and share your experience. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous, taking full advantage of the convenience it offers to our tour participants. We appreciate you highlighting the cracked toilet, so that this can be addressed by our maintenance team, and...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
95 reviews
0.2 km away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
177 reviews
2.3 km away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 13 in Whakatane
129 reviews
2.4 km away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
69 reviews
2.3 km away
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
#10 of 13 in Whakatane
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Price Range: €75 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Island Rendezvous staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose a cabin”
BethVCamberley, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Micro- cabins give a degree of complete privacy”
ScottishPrincess, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a micro-village cabin rather than a standard hotel room.”
greekmermaid13, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a micro cabin towards the rear of the property.”
JLB81, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Two storey building, quiet location”
51SandraS51, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5