We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anchor Lodge Coromandel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Coromandel, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place is a little gem. We stayed here for 3 nights in a really beautiful harbour view suite that was clean with a good sized balcony where we watched the sunset. Our room had a nice big flat screen tv, the shower had heaps of pressure. I can't fault this place at all. Just a shame we were at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Warren J
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival we were checked in by a lovely young girl, shown to our room, which was a wonderful loft apartment, beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Had a wonderful stay here, hope to return one day.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at this motel for 2 nights, unfortunately during a storm which caused a power outage. Luckily we found a small torch in our car as there were no candles or torches in the unit for such an occasion. The owners never checked to ensure guests were catered for during this time. We booked a luxury suite, however there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pammy05
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review

Firstly, it's disappointing that you've chosen to write a review like this and not talk about these issues with us at the time, you did stay 2 nights and could have easily bought any concerns to our attention after staying the 1st night. We have 25 rooms and we would have happily moved you to another one.You did inspect this... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Family of 6 stayed here for a night as we travelled around the Coromandel Peninsula. Coped with only one bathroom and toilet as only one night. Had two tv's which we do like with 4 children. Unit was compact but very user friendly and modern. Only one separate bedroom(Master with tv) with extra queen bed on mezzanine and two singles... More 

Helpful?
Thank micsgirl
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We travelled over on the ferry from Auckland so needed accomodation not to far away from the town.The motel was just right only approx 400metres away and we had a good view of the sea from our room set on the side of the hill.The room was very pleasant clean and tidy with a kitchenthat was good for a studio... More 

Helpful?
Thank JacqueeGuy
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Lodge is set amongst native bush and tropical gardens overlooking Coromandel harbour. It was a cold and windy place when we visited and despite the heater inside we never got warmed up. It has a small swimming pool and a spas the latter being in used when we arrived We ordered breakfast which arrived on time to our unit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank w0lves70
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed out time at the anchor lodge! everything was lovely everone was very nice and helpful. Everything we needed was avaliable! Will definitely be staying here next time we are in the Coromandel! HIGHLY recommended :)

Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
North Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a spa unit which was a studio type unit with a full kitchen area and small dining area. The whole place is immaculately presented and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was reasonably large but had an extra single bed which took up quite a bit of space. The kitchen has everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dr_IandDr_I
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I had a very wonderful stay at Anchor Lodge Hotel. The facility and staffs are the nicest. My husband and I are looking forward to coming back with some of the relatives who haven't been there yet. The experience was amazing!! We were able to sleep very well especially the kids... I miss the our room already!!!

Helpful?
Thank Queren2013
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I had a perfect holiday. Family unit was so clean and spacious. Great place for a family with stunning views that kids requesting to go back soon. The staff were so friendly. Highly recommended to all!!!

Helpful?
Thank JilleJillian

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.0 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
20.5 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
438 reviews
0.9 km away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
292 reviews
22.9 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
173 reviews
20.4 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Price Range: €39 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a view make sure you ask.”
 of 5 bubbles JudiRainbow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the harbourview suite, certainly wirth the extra money for the balcony and view”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are a variety of options”
 of 5 bubbles BobFk, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“little traffic, so little noise”
 of 5 bubbles briank253, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Unit 6 [Studio] has good accessability”
 of 5 bubbles Phyl450, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay