We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
London
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Imagine a large country house in the Highlands and you come close to understanding the wonderful place that is Dalrachney Lodge. We had three nights in the gorgeous four poster bed room and found it very hard to leave. Breakfast was generous and tasty and we had two wonderful meals in the bistro. The room was generous and the public...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irmani
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay in our Four Poster room and were able to spend time after dinner in the Drawing Room and soak up the atmosphere! Archie did indeed enjoy the belly rubs. It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I already knew the location was fantastic and various members of my family joined us for 4 nights, and took 6 rooms of the hotel. Rooms were spacious with recently refurbished bathrooms, but the thing that makes this place is its position - an old hunting lodge with character and history, overlooking the river with beautiful views across the hills,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymous_guest63
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review Dalrachney. It was a pleasure to meet your family and we were delighted that you enjoyed the Dinner and breakfasts during your stay. We hope you will choose to stay with us again if you are coming back to the Highlands!

Edinburgh
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Keep going past the big grey hotel in Carrbridge and turn right: comfy rooms and well-appointed bathrooms, great views over the big lawn, book-rammed drawing room for select malt- or gin-sipping, good food, all watched over by stags of loving grace... Archie the dog is on duty to meet and greet. Would return

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dno295
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

This was the last night of our weeks holiday and we were disappointed first with the room as very dated. Needs a complete refurbish. En suite very modern and showed the room up. The dining room was in the bar and felt as though we were sitting in a cafe. Food was overpriced and basic main course. Breakfast was in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

The room you were in has a hand made Savoir bed, costing several thousand pounds with bespoke hand made headboard. It has a new Axminster carpet and also a new bathroom. This is an Edwardian Hunting Lodge - the rooms are not modern and contemporary. There are photos of each room on our website - the room you see is...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay. In a beautiful location, it provides the perfect base to explore the area . Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and we felt like we were home from home. I realised I was slightly too relaxed when halfway down the stairs I noticed I had no shoes on!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sian_bowles10
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are so glad you had a relaxing stay at Dalrachney Lodge. It was lovely to meet you both and we are looking forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.

Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay what a lovely time we had from start to finish it was perfect so peaceful and relaxing. Our hosts from Archie to proprietors where wonderful. We only ate there first night as we had eaten before we got back on Monday but couldn't fault food or service, the breakfast on both mornings was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzie p
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were thinking it may have been a bit too sedate for you with not many residents but are very glad the peace and quiet added to the relaxing break you needed. It's also good to know that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfasts. Hope to see you again if you're up this way. Thanks...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. I felt like I was on the set of monarch of the glen, tv series. The hosts were helpful and attentive. The dog Archie has a tough life. Cute little town. The room was adequate with a beautiful view. Breakfast included very nice.lovely shared lounge room great for pre and post dinner drinks. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendy c
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It was great to meet you all the way from Australia and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Dalrachney Lodge.

Axbridge
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in room 1, the most expensive but well-worth it. The room was large with a comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space, a chaise longue and dual aspect windows overlooking the garden and river.The newly-fitted bathroom was excellent with bath and shower and "loo with a view"! The food was very good, a limited choice at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyGAxbridge
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the refurbished Premiere Super King room. Due to popular demand, we now have a net curtain in the bathroom (one of my pet hates but understand the requirement for it!). Thank you for your comments. We have Tiptree jams in jars for hygiene...

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This is an older, dare I say stately, building nestled next to a lovely river. The grounds are fresh and green (in May, at least). Rooms are on the second and third floors, no lift. Parking is free, right outside. Our room was spacious with a totally modern bathroom and shower facility. I would have liked a comfortable reading chair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voyager075
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes - Gordon does have this old world style it has to be said! We will be getting more comfortable chairs for the bedrooms that do not currently have them.

Glenrothes
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Bathroom was very high class but window had no frosted glass so had to close blind every time we used toilet. Office for hotel was through adjoining door to our toilet so could hear owner on phone which meant he could hear us. Not good. Bedroom decor very dated. Only one comfortable seat in room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 816maureenr
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and wine. Given the quality of the items on the menu i.e. Rump of Lamb, Breast of Gressingham Duck etc, we believe our menu is value for money. We are surprised that the pricing worried you, given you ate three our of your four nights in our Bistro....

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
12.2 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
10.7 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
710 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,216 reviews
8.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
482 reviews
10.6 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 3 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Our Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. Having taken over just two years ago, a substantial renovation project is ongoing which has seen our Drawing Room and Bar/Bistro refurbished and completion of two new bedrooms with new en-suite bathrooms. In March 2015 a biomass boiler system was installed and another two new bathrooms have been completed. Investment in the Hotel is continuing with work starting on updating more bathrooms later in the year and a self-catering cottage will be available for rental in the Summer. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Price Range: €129 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalrachney Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dalrachney Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a family room on the 3rd floor which was great for a family of 4. Very comfy.”
FionaWilson631, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 has a double bed and a single bed- ideal for families.”
Y149MJclaireh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 9, which has recently had a new bathroom and was on the top floor.”
gcraib, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a second floor room which was very good”
F8518EWpaulc, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose one facing the lawns /field”
mama29772, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates