We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

THB Royal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
THB Royal
THB Royal
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

957 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for THB Royal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We returned to this hotel after staying last year. The hotel has been refurbished and is very clean and nicely presented and the staff were really lovely and helpful. It has been taken over by a French company and now has 98% French guests. I was happy with that as speak French but all the entertainment was in French which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BusterBandFiona
Oscar S, Directeur général at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We feel really sorry that you have had such a bad experience in our hotel about the noise and queues you mentioned in your post. We analyze all...

Reviewed 2 April 2015

We have stayed at the sun royal now known as the Thb royal some 7 times over 7 years. At x mass and Easter Many of the staff remained the same over that time. Initaly we were disappointed that we were offered an alternate of the thb tropical . I don't know the true reasons for many other Brits being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belliezzz
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our THB Hotels for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. Thank you for letting us know your opinion about your stay and we apologize because of the problems regarding moving to the other THB hotel,...

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Totally unsuited to British holidaymakers. Indeed unsuitable for any nationality other than French. Food poor quality at times, often cold and hardly any of it labelled. Entertainment very disappointing and only language spoken was French

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janet W
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. We regret not having met your expectations regarding the food and the entertainment, all the kitchen staff and the management work hard to give...

Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

Have just returned from a fab week. Loved the hotel will definitely return. It was predominately French but we didn't find that a problem.staff friendly spotlessly clean. There were 2 pool one which was quieter than the main one. Don't b put off by reviews we loved it .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon S
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. Its has been a pleasure to have had you in the hotel and we are very happy to know that you have had a...

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We found out too late and Thompson's would not change the booking. First the good points. The staff were great and the place is very clean. It is owned by the French for the French. The English are totally superfluous. Take plenty Euros with you as there is a deposit for everything. The restaurant was like a school canteen at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dave h
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. We regret not having met your expectations regarding the food, all the kitchen staff and the management work hard to give the best service...

New Mills, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We have stayed at Sun Royal as it was on seven occasions as independent travellers. Four years ago we arrived to be told that our apartment had suffered storm damage and water had leaked in making it uninhabitable. We were transferred to Sun Tropical ( now THB Tropical Island). What an awful experience that was. We complained when we returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernard p
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We feel really sorry about the inconveniences that you had during your stay regarding our higher category hotel Thb Tropical Island, we are not faced about a...

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We have stayed in the THB royal on previous occasions but never again......... On arriving we were pounced on by French holiday reps .On checking in the receptionist spoke to us in French. looking around the reception area it didn't take long to realise that the hotel was geared towards the French. The staff spoke only French on occasions they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin S
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. We regret not having met your expectations regarding your stay; in effect we work also with a French agency that’s why the major part...

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015

My husband and I have been going to the THB Royal, previously the Sun Royal ,three times a year for many years. However, we have felt increasingly unwelcome over the last 3 years since it became a thb hotel culminating in being treated like several other English guests earlier this month when the water to the apartment was turned off....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MEP462
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Above all we would like to thank you for choosing the THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We do extremely apologize about the inconveniences that you had due to the water problems in the hotel. Due to the hard work that all our technical staff...

Oakford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2015

My wife and I have just returned from THB Royal and we suffered a similar experience to Peter W and Allan B in previous reviews with regard to our water being turned off.We have stayed at The Royal for many years on a self catering basis and there was never any problem.We arrived on 14th January and were greeted by...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank terrypennantlas
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We are happy to read that you have had a nice stay in our hotel and that you have enjoyed the food and the facilities. We...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2015

On arrival at the THB Royal Hotel, it soon became obvious that everything was biased towards the French. The day and evening entertainment were only ever in French, the animation team spoke mostly only French, which meant that we were left to make our own entertainment during the evening. The Hotel itself was very clean, the food was excellent, the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Peter W
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We feel really sorry about the inconveniences that you had due to the water problems in the hotel, all our technical staff work hard to give...

765 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (572)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (223)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Apartment (46)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
4.0 km away
Royal Monica Playa Blanca
Royal Monica Playa Blanca
#20 of 37 in Playa Blanca
866 reviews
0.6 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,714 reviews
0.4 km away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,359 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 

Additional Information about THB Royal

Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Price Range: €360 - €467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from THB Royal staff and other travellers.
93 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (93)

Questions? Get answers from THB Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“in front of zen swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles 150rogerh, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For a quiet room ask for one at the back of the hotel by the Zen Pool (which isn't heated)”
 of 5 bubbles BusterBandFiona, 15 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are the same. Ask for a pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles daveh854, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Apartments in the 400 series are sunniest”
 of 5 bubbles 870bernardp, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“My tip is avoid this hotel unless you are french”
 of 5 bubbles MEP462, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5