We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Montelimar

Save
Share
Playa de Montelimar, San Rafael del Sur 01262 Nicaragua
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$362
US$173
View deal
SAVE US$189
Hotels.com
Barcelo.com
US$182
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$173
Priceline
Prestigia.comUS$362
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1438)
Pool & Beach (388)
Room & Suite (184)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Barcelo Montelimar
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel, an All-Inclusivesystem Hotel with 88 double rooms, 203 bungalow and 2suites, is located in the Central Pacific Coast of Nicaragua,65 km from downtown Managua, 75 km from the AugustoCesar Sandino International Airport, and only 500 metersfrom its private airport.Barcelo Montelimar Beach is located nearby areas ofgreat tourist interest, some of the most noteworthy, are:the Masaya Volcano National Park (65 km), the Colonialtowns of Granada (80 km) and Leon (58km), Los MaribiosVolcanic Range, lagoons, lakes, mountains, and othernatural attractions.The Barcelo Montelimar Beach, the beach hotel byexcellence; is the only hotel in Nicaragua that offers theAll-Inclusive system. It is the ideal place to relax body andmind, in contact with nature.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Mini golf
Tennis court
Aerobics
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
Contact
Playa de Montelimar, San Rafael del Sur 01262 Nicaragua
Getting there
Liberia Airport172 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
2,337Reviews137Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,034
  • 630
  • 352
  • 166
  • 155
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
lmdaniel71 wrote a review Mar 2021
Athens, Georgia1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is not the first time we stayed here so I can tell you with confidence that the service has declined to almost non-existent. After checking in at 2:30, we were told our room wasn鈥檛 ready and to come back. We can back at 3 and received our key. We also received a voucher for 3 pool towels and there were four of us (and to clarify, you pay per person here). The front desk would not give us a voucher for 4 so we had to plead with the towel hut staff to get the fourth towel. Upon arriving at the room, we had ONE towel in the bathroom, the refrigerator leaked water on the floor, the bathroom mirror and counter were filthy, and there were ants. We called and were told that housekeeping already left and we would have to get the towels tomorrow. 馃槻 So, we had to use our wet pool towels to shower. I booked a massage on day one and paid for it for 10:00am on day two. At 10:00 there was no one at the spa. 馃槻 The food quality has declined and most of the wait staff are far from friendly. The front desk did nothing to remedy any of this after numerous calls and visits to the front desk. Then, after the final complaint when the fourth towel still was not in the room after 3:30 on day 2, the housekeeper arrived and argued that there were four towels. After telling her the fourth towel was the only one there from the first day and it was used, she again argued that it was clean. Finally we convinced her to bring the towel. Then upon returning to the room before dinner the maintenance staff arrived saying that my husband was beating on the door and he would be reported for damage to the door. None of which happened. I have never in my life experienced such awful service and I will be telling everyone I know to steer clear of this place. We looked forward to a relaxing weekend and spent the whole time on the phone or standing at the front desk only to never be heard. The ONLY person who was kind and willing to listen was the bus driver on the property. Trust me, take your money somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones P煤blicas Barcel贸 Montelimar Beach, Propietario at Barcelo Montelimar
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear customer, Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barcel贸 Montelimar fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. Best regards, Barcel贸 Montelimar.
Read more
Carlos Rodolfo wrote a review Dec 2020
Guatemala City, Guatemala9 contributions4 helpful votes
It looks like nobody from administration is taking care of the hotel business here. Its completely forgotten. I took me almost an hour to make the check-in (an there was no one in line before me!). Me bedroom was full of ants and had no hot water. Cable TV was not working appropriately and even the light went on and off continuously (probably due to national mismanagement of the electric company). Food hours were very restricted and in the restaurant they had a raven plague, if you stand up for coffee or something, you would find your food is being eaten by one of those birds. Social distancing or general measures against COVID-19 are basically nonexistent, only staff uses masks and not appropriately. I came for business for a company near the area, and they paid for the hotel. At night I spent my time working in my bedroom. However, I would have been very frustrated if I had paid their price for having vacations here with my family. PD: the ocean in Nicaragua is very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones P煤blicas Barcel贸 Montelimar Beach, Propietario at Barcelo Montelimar
Responded 31 Dec 2020
Dear Customer, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Barcel贸 Montelimar hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. Best regards, Barcel贸 Montelimar.
Read more
Ramiro Lorio wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
My family and I decided to spend the night of Sunday, August 9, 2020, we rented 2 rooms, and since we arrived we began to present bad service, the rooms were not ready at 2pm we arrived, claiming that they had had a group of members of the Nicaraguan army the night before, however they did not tell us on our arrival and we had to wait until 4pm to checked in the room, the whorts way is that it was that the room was not completed, they needed towels, the bed was poorly arranged, the mini bar was not cooling, and the AC had a bad smell which was not pleasant, I made the claim to front desk, but they told me I had to wait 2 hours so they could give me another room, no way ... so i went to dinner and well, this was not bad, but it was not exquisite either .... when I returned to the room, I found cockroaches, one on the wall, another at the entrance of the bathroom and another under one of the beds, I felt like I was in an infested area. For a hotel 麓Resort麓, safety and hygiene measures are not being carried out, with the coronavirus pandemic, the hotel does nothing about it by requiring the mandatory use of masks in common areas, such as restaurant, bar and lobby, no appropriate precautions are being taken to prevent the virus from spreading. In addition to that, the lack of staff in the pool area, restaurant, waitresses and reception, make the service very,very poor, in the pool area it is kept dirty with used plates and glasses that guests leave in the area, and nobody remove them, at least the hotel looked at the carelessness in terms of the hygiene and the service in general of the hotel, it really sad that it is being poorly managed. IT IS NOT WORTH COMING BACK HERE !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL; To Expensive and the service is really, really bad
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones P煤blicas Barcel贸 Montelimar Beach, Propietario at Barcelo Montelimar
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, First of all we want to thank you for the time you spent giving us your comments about your experience at Barcel贸 Montelimar, for us it is very important to be able to know more about how our customers have spent and we read with great concern each of their opinions, as these do not demonstrate our usual standard of services. Many apologies for all the situations and inconveniences that you had to go through since your arrival, we greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know, you can be sure that they will be taken into consideration and that they will help us to improve our Services. Once again thank you for sharing your experience, we hope that, despite the incidents presented during your stay, Barcel贸 Montelimar will remain an option to enjoy your holiday. Best regards, Barcel贸 Montelimar
Read more
SunnyW358 wrote a review Feb 2020
Albuquerque, New Mexico6,311 contributions1,167 helpful votes
This was our third visit. We had a suite facing the beach, which we enjoyed. We again enjoyed the vast hotel grounds that were very well-kept. There were many pools to swim in and a lot of area to walk around or jog. We did not get a chance to use the gym. We mainly enjoyed the beach during the full moon night and early in the morning. We did not like the food at all this time. There was plenty of it, but it was mostly overcooked. Beer was fine, but wine was not of that good quality. I guess one cannot have it all. What really bothered us was that there was no Internet access or a reasonable English channel on TV. Yes, Nicaragua is a Spanish speaking country, but even the simplest hotel in Somoto had access to CNN. So, it was a bit disappointing. Again, we were glad we came back for a third time mostly to enjoy the spacious hotel grounds and the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, First of all, we appreciate you sharing your impressions about your recent stay at Barcel贸 Montelimar. We love to know that you enjoyed our beach and the view of the beautiful moon. At Barcel贸 Montelimar we are convinced that there is always room for improvement and your feedback will help our team in their continuous efforts to meet the expectations of our guests, so we greatly appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing with us their constructive criticisms. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you soon. Best regards, Barcel贸 Montelimar
Read more
fluna0426 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution4 helpful votes
The hotel is supposed to best that Nicaragua has to offer but it falls very short on expectations as soon as you get to reception, from welcoming to mattresses, room decor, furniture... it is not really what you expect to get out of a resort... and my biggest thing is that description says water activities... hopefully i was referring to swimming on your own as if its for kayak, surfing tables, etc.. its non existent
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience at Barcel贸 Montelimar. We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel, as we strive every day to turn each stay into something unforgettable. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you very much for choosing our hotel on this occasion, we look forward to having the opportunity to serve it again in the near future. Best regards, Barcel贸 Montelimar
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$142 - US$265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo montelimar beach hotel montelimar, montelimar beach, montelimar barcelo
LOCATION
NicaraguaManagua DepartmentSan Rafael del Sur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
293
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Barcelo Montelimar
What are some of the property amenities at Barcelo Montelimar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Barcelo Montelimar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barcelo Montelimar?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Barcelo Montelimar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barcelo Montelimar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Barcelo Montelimar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Barcelo Montelimar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barcelo Montelimar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barcelo Montelimar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Barcelo Montelimar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Barcelo Montelimar accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.