We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highbullen Hotel

Expedia.comUS$124*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$148*
US$124*
US$148*
US$124*
US$148*
US$124*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Highbullen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Highbullen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 548: English reviews
Wembworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

My wife and I stayed at Highbullen during our first time away together and have very fond memories of that and subsequent visits The last was many years ago, so now we live in thr area we decided to take a stroll down memory lane to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary by having dinner there....and it was the perfect choice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roseandcrowninfo
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roseandcrowninfo, Fantastic to read that you were tempted back to Highbullen now that you are back living in the area - and I am so pleased to read that it was the perfect choice - how fantastic. We are so fortunate to have such a great team in our Kitchen and front of house, who were recently awarded 2...

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We booked this 1 night break as part of a Travelzoo deal to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. We upgraded our room to the Louis Seize in the main manor house. When me and my husband walked into to room it was WOW! The best room we have ever stayed in. The room was huge and looked over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReanneHoney
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ReanneHoney, I am so pleased to read that you had such a great short break with us; "the best room we have ever stayed in" - what a lovely compliment. It is a very special room. Thank you so much for your great review, kind regards, Ronnie

Crediton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Wow fantastic. Had eaten at high bullen before and food was good. But this was 5 star visit. Arrived and got taken through to restaurant where we're put so could see view, which is fabulous. Service was friendly, personal and professional. Food was excellent. Staff attentive. It was my mum's birthday and they made her feel special. She had fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stella A
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stella A, Thank you for your lovely review following your recent lunch in the Devon View Restaurant, and that Mum was made to feel very special on her birthday - that`s what we are here to do and what we all enjoy! Hope you will be back very soon, best wishes, Ronnie

Hampshire
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We booked three nights here: two as part of a Telegraph offer and a third night as an extra. Good points: courteous staff, wonderful views from the terrace, excellent breakfasts, pleasant public rooms in the Manor House, a huge bathroom attached to our cramped bedroom. Bad points: small,cramped bedroom over the restaurant kitchen with limited storage space and a TV...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank senseandsensibility
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear senseandsensibility, I am so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at Highbullen. I do know that the room allocated to you "the snug" is quite small, as the name suggests. Unfortunately as we were fully booked we were unable to relocate you to another room. The snug is classifies as a standard double bedroom, but we...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The restaurant has a very nice ambience with a view across the golf course. The service was efficient, although it has to be said that the restaurant was practically empty at 4 'o' clock. The food was nicely presented albeit a little less than one might have expected, nevertheless overall it was a pleasant experience.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 495pietro
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 495pietro, Thank you for your recent review following your visit to Highbullen for afternoon tea. While you have written that the overall experience was pleasant, I get the feeling that you were not completely bowled over, which is reflected by your three star rating. Sitting in an empty restaurant certainly would not have helped the atmosphere, but we do...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were visiting Rhs garden Rosemoor and found this special offer in the telegraph. We were in one of the lodges which was comfortable and spacious. The food in the restaurant was very good,as we're the staff. Breakfast was also very good. Although out of the way,it was worth it and very good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann B
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann B, Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Highbullen and that we delivered good value. Hope to see you back again soon, regards, Ronnie

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Enjoyed a few days here surrounded by glorious views. Meal in the Devon view restaurant was excellent and the accommodation was very good in one of the cottages. Spent all day on the golf course/ leisure facilities in view of dodgy weather. Recommend

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neil D
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil D, Many thanks for your kind review following your recent short break at Highbullen. I am delighted that you had a great stay and that you will recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, kind regards, Ronnie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed 5x days and had a wonderful break. Staff were very accommodating, especially within the restaurant. Devon View serves great meals and is certainly worth the trip but the selection of Bordeaux at the back of the wine list at incredibly attractive prices makes this outstanding value and quality. The golf course is well maintained with some great views....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natasha C
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha C, Thank you for your lovely review following your recent 5 night break at Highbullen. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed all of the facilities, especially your meals in our 2 rosette Devon View Restaurant. Not sure we want everyone to know about our Bordeaux list though - once those bottles have gone we will...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at this beautifully situated hotel. Our standard room, in one of the small courtyards close to the main house was comfortable, if rather uninspiring. The view from the front of the hotel across Exmoor is absolutely gorgeous - if only the weather had been kind enough to allow us to sit outside in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DianneP1949
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DianneP, Thank you for taking the time to forward your kind review following your recent stay. I`m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, although I'm sorry that you found your bedroom in the courtyard to be "rather uninspiring". I`m pleased to read that you will be returning in the future, so maybe try one of our Manor House...

Reviewed 21 August 2016

Lovely weekend away, good food, great welcome, iffy golf (my problem not theirs). Good facilities, nice room, very comfortable. Went away for a long weekend, bought a deal on travelzoo, ate in the cellars restaurant (nice menu with reasonable choice for about £25 - £30 for 3 courses), breakfasts were very good served in the Devon restaurant (great views over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garypaulellis
RonnieOrr, Resort Director at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garypaulellis, Thanks for your great review following your short break at Highbullen. Delighted to read your comments about the full range of facilities on the resort - and don`t worry about the iffy golf, practice makes perfect (actually that's a lie but don't let that put you off coming back for more!) we look forward to welcoming you back...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittlehamholt
3.5 km away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
36.7 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,201 reviews
32.5 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
31.4 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
789 reviews
39.5 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby. Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas. There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis. Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate. Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highbullen Hotel

Address: Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chittlehamholt
Price Range: €111 - €221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highbullen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highbullen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbullen Hotel Umberleigh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highbullen Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Highbullen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in Deerview 91 which was away from the main hotel and very quiet with amazing views.”
birchcorp, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Exmoor room.”
juliemC2827YL, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms were very quiet, great nights sleep!”
JackieT622, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Many rooms aren't in the main building. Talk to friendly receptionists if accessibility is important.”
bb605, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We always choose Room 46!”
MikeC492004, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$124* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$124
TripAdvisorUS$124
LateRooms.comUS$148
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates