We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Parkbrae Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Parkbrae Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Parkbrae Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

We arrived in excitement to our booked night in the Garden cottage and whilst I was lighting the fire, my husband and kids spotted a rat or mouse on the kitchen bench. We promptly threw water on the fire, locked up and left. Management gave refund but no assistance given to find accommodation. Would not recommend or book again. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Aussie010101
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We stayed in the Church House for 3 nights for our Lake Tekapo wedding, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Graeme was a fun, friendly and helpful host. The property has lovely gardens and enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the church. The house was very clean and comfortable (two bedrooms with closets, living/dining combo, kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camille H
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and were able to fully enjoy your special moment... as the weather was trying to play tricks on you! Graeme is surely one of a kind! Very generous and thoughtful. We are truly blessed in his company! We...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

We stumbled upon Parkbrae while we were looking for an accommodation at Tekapo. What a find it was! It was a house that had history written on it. A little aged but still very much a charmer. Check in was a breeze even though nobody was around. The house was well equipped with whatever you will need for a comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank againgreen
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Mary Macs is our most recent property and we love it too! You are absolutely right as it is quite charming and it belonged to a well respected family in Lake Tekapo. The rock where it's embedded is from distant times and it gives such solidity to the...

Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

I booked the holiday house at the last minute, but Patricia is very helpful and gave all the help we needed. The house is clean and tidy with all different themes with only a minutes walk to the lake takepo and the famous church. Love this place and will recommend to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie Z
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Doctor's Retreat is truly a gorgeous property! We are so fortunate to have such amazing properties with the best location! Thank you so much for your appreciation. Make sure you come and visit again. All the best for 2015!...

Cardrona, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We stayed in the garden tower, The view was good, the intirior of our room was terrible, not clean, the bed was very bad, and the kitchen utensils were poor. Bad wifi. The manager was very kind and helpfull but it`s a pity this is the only positive thing we can say about Park Brae Estate.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan J
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am really sorry to hear you didn't find your stay in the Garden Tower satisfying... especially that you found the interior horrible... I can understand taste is unique to everyone but we have only heard positive things and the Tower is very popular within our booking system....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We arrived for a 2pm check in at the opera house on the Park Brae estate after doing lots of research (booking and paying 6 months in advance) and want to stay in this house for the view. We were greeted by Patricia (the host) who said the house had a terrible smell and was uninhabitable. She offered us alternative...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Molly24618
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I was very saddened to read such a review and really took it to heart... I did apologize for the state of the property and offering Doctor's Retreat was an upgrade as it is more expensive. When your expectations weren't met I secured yet another property with a...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We were only able to stay one night in the garden studio but would have liked to stay longer. The place is decorated pretty hip. I especially loved the water pressure in the shower and the soft bed with a warming pad and a separate sleeping area for kids. The unit's patio overlooking the church and lake is also amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feelingbeachy
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and maybe you can arrange for more time spent in our little paradise by the lake. We are trying to find a better solution for WIFI as no one has offered any better... Our apologies. Hope to welcome you another time!...

Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2015

"Garden Cottage" Everything about this cottage was perfect. The view was outstanding, the gardens immaculate, the cottage clean and tidy and well equipped. Perfect place for two families. Just to top it all off the weather was perfect and the lake excellent for water sports. The host was cheerful, friendly and willing to help out in anyway. We were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bfmc2015
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments. It was such a pleasure to have you all stay with us and we wish you could have stayed longer! You were wonderful to deal with and left the house super tidy! We so appreciate your consideration and respect for our homes. Make sure you come back for another visit!! All...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 December 2014

You book Church House for the amazing view of the Church of the Good Shepherd, the lake and the surrounding snowcovered mountains. The house is privat and quit. You can sit outside whole day to look at and enjoy all the tourists that stop at the church doing there things. The house it self need TLC and a real fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reisverslaafde
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for your constructive opinion. Church House has surely the best location and we are delighted you were able to enjoy the views plus the fun dynamics at the church and dog statue! Regarding the property we will be investing some time next year within the shoulder season...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2014

We Stayed in the Garden Studio unit 21-23Oct14. What a complete opposite to the 5 star lesser priced accommodation we had stayed in at Fairlie the previous day. This appartment was grossly overpriced. It could be described as sub-standard and compared to a 1970's basic camping ground cabin standard with the minimum of redeeming features except for the view of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William W
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and my sincere apologies for my late reply. I have been away and in all honesty it has taken me a while to digest your comments. We welcome all constructive criticism as it is the only way to improve our service. We encourage all our guests to assist...

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,344 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
638 reviews
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
90 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone's throw away from the stunning turquoise lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue, Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to breathtaking scenery or warm up by the fire on a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soaking up the morning light... sit on the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Address: Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: €146 - €308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Parkbrae Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Parkbrae Estate staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Parkbrae Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a coffee plunger and some ice trays.”
 of 5 bubbles hazza2016, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms all have a wonderful outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles The_Wise_Kiwi, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Choose Aldourie Lodge for sure if you're travelling with a big family.”
 of 5 bubbles Jennifer0823, 15 Apr 2015 | Read review
“No rooms, just a house (Church House)”
 of 5 bubbles reisverslaafde, 24 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Don't bother with the Garden Studio-look elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles williamwQ3481UT, 26 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5