We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of backpackers all over the world, including third world countries, this place is the worst! For $85 we got a tiny room that was cold, LOUD and dirty. Don't even get me started on the bathroom, I would be embarrassed if I were the owners. Our room was unfortunately close to the kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess P
Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

The Lakefront Lodge backpackers is a little walk from the centre of Tekapo (about 10 minutes or 15/20 with luggage). There is a concrete path all the way along the side of the lake from the centre to the lodge. At night the path is illuminated so it's easy to follow it back.The staff are very friendly and are happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeorgeLW94
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 March 2015

I stayed here recently on a Friday when Tekapo was pretty much booked out. The room was quiet and although it had bunks they were comfortable and warm. Very clean linen and towels supplied and the spotless kitchen was well equipped. Only downside was erratic hot water supply in the shower. Although it was full we had a quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honeyand123
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for you great comments on the Lakefront Lodge Backpackers. I glad you had a great stay and found the lodge clean and tidy. Sorry about the erratic water. We are on gas so I'm not quite sure how we can either have cold water or it can be so inconsistent. That is a job for the...

Vila do Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

I spent one night in this accomodation while travelling with Kiwi Experience. I paid $30 for a tiny 6 share dorm and there was no hot water. The showers were cold since the time that we arrived until we left in the morning. When I told this to the lady who came to collect our keys in the morning she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pipasobral
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi all the way to Portugal Thank you for your feedback however I think your radar was a little off as to my reaction to your water comment. Yes, it was me that collected the keys. The first we had heard about the showers being cold was from you, on the bus, at 9am, as you were leaving. Not one...

Reviewed 7 February 2015

The location is perfect, right on the lake with a nice common room to hang out in and enjoy the view. However, the Kiwi Experience use this hostel which means, when they turn up, everyone kinda knows each other so I found it quite difficult to engage in any sort of conversation which was a shame and the kitchen is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ptwanderer123
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad you found the lodge clean & tidy albeit is a bit busy in the kitchen at meal times. We have the two BBQ's that I wish more would use, this would take the pressure of the kitchen. I guess you are right about the Kiwi Experience bus, them all knowing each other already and all but the...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2015

This place had a lovely view right on the waterfront. The lady that checked us in was friendly and the facilities were clean. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm as that's all that was available. Luckily no one else checked in as the room was tiny. Had a lovely backyard area to sit outside and eat, also a three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snapseed
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there in Melbourne I'm glad you had a great stay in our lodge and weren't you were the lucky ones having the room to your self lol. The staff were friendly, lodge was clean, even the three legged cat did his bit. Fantastic!!That cat walks all the way from over the bridge past the village to the lodged. Obviously...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 February 2015

We called in the morning to find out if there was any space for 2 people in the backpacker dorms and were told they were fully booked...which is pretty common in Tekapo when booking or arriving last minute. We were cycling and had our tents so upon arriving in Tekapo, knowing we had nothing booked we thought we would just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FruitcakeF
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I'm not going to pretend we get it right all the time, who does but I can assure we do everything possible to ensure our reception is run efficiently and promptly. For the whole of summer we had two people rostered on in reception and the only time we would be down to one person would be if...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

This place has the worst customer service I have experienced on my travels so far. None of the staff seem to care about your problems or want to help you, they push you out the premises as soon as you check out (something I have never experienced before). Bedrooms are tiny, bathrooms dirty and water everywhere, pans in the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank secretlover23
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there in London What is it with people and the check out times? It is standard around NZ that check out is 10am. This isn't about us kicking you out, it is about us requesting that those leaving depart at a reasonable time so we can clean and prepare our facilities for the next group of guests who are...

New Zealand
Reviewed 20 January 2015

I came to Tekapo with my friend and stayed in the backpackers lodge in a twin room. The setting is great, right on the lake front and 10 mins walk to the hot pools and walks. Staff were lovely to deal with. The lady who checked us in was upbeat and happy to be at work, which is always a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Law_44
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi fellow New Zealander I'm glad you found our reception staff friendly, Oh I hope that was me who checked you in lol. We had someone else mention that the outside door was closing really loudly hence making Room 1 shake and very noisy. My husband has adjusted the closer and it is now closing more slowly and without the...

Reviewed 9 January 2015

I had to say that by reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about our night stay at the hostels, but it turbed to be very nuce stay for our first night in New Zealand. The location is very good just in front of Lake Tekapo with an easy walk to the "town". If you come by car you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian V
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Christian V Putu and team have spent a lot of time cleaning and maintaining the lodge and ensuring it is kept up to scratch and better for that matter. After you having read some of the earlier reviews I'm glad you still gave us a chance to show you how great the lodge really is. Thank you for you...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,348 reviews
0.0 km away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
638 reviews
1.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
169 reviews
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Address: Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: €25 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeFront Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your LakeFront Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from LakeFront Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you choose a dorm room facing the lake, you also face onto the communal BBQ area (I'm glad we didn't get this room). The rooms which don't face the lake are more private. Choose a dorm FAR from the squeaky slamming doors which lead from the bedrooms corridor to the living areas.”
 of 5 bubbles FruitcakeF, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room that face to the lake, you can just open the slide door and sit and enjoy =]”
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles SiuLam_Chan, 12 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Avoid dorm rooms unless you like the claustrophobic feeling.”
 of 5 bubbles Gem_W1, 25 Jul 2014 | Read review
“maybe a private room?”
 of 5 bubbles Shetland5497, 7 May 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles jackc776, 1 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5