We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Lake Tekapo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Lake Tekapo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Lake Tekapo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We were driving down with friends from Christchurch to Queentown. stayed overnight at the YHA Lake Tekapo. it was warm and very comfortable, toilets and bathrooms were clean. got ourselves two private rooms, not too sure about the shared rooms and its not far from the convenience shops.. huge kitchen to prepare our breakkie. best back yard and starry night.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnny w
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2015

從青年旅館公共空間望出去就是非常優美的景色。 當天氣不佳時,下雨、太冷、風太大,我們可以回到美麗的青年旅館公共空間,這裡永遠溫暖! 我在這裡住了六天,於是觀察到TEKAPO湖的各種樣貌,從早上到晚上,從晴天變成雨天。如水晶般清澈、如鏡般平靜、皺浪濤濤,色彩豐富的群山、變化多端的陽光、不可預測的天氣... 所以非常感謝有像這樣一處平價又如此貼近TEKAPO湖畔住所,我才能有以上體驗。 強力推薦這間青年旅館 ^___^ *可以邊洗衣晾衣服邊欣賞湖景。 *廚房常常不太乾淨。 *衛浴通常很乾淨。 *通鋪有些擁擠,但床很舒服。 Very, very good view from the warm common area!! When the weather is not very good, raining, too cold, or windy, we can just go back to our beautiful common area, always warm!!! I stayed 6 nights here and I saw Lake Tekapo from morning to night, from sunny to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ConjuntoUniverso
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately we got stuck this hostel twice due to weather conditions on the trail we our doing. The guy who seemed to be running the hostel was friendly. However same can not be said for another staff member. There was a load drunk Chinese tourist with no thought about any other guests there. None the staff told them to keep... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 4seasonbackpacking
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We believe we are quite a hiker-friendly hostel. We had a busy season this year with hikers, trampers and cyclists staying with us. We have a lot of storage for gear and we do collect parcels for trampers/hikers/cyclists... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my wife. First night in a dorm and the second in a double room. The staff were very accommodating beforehand and managed to upgrade our booking for one night. They even cleaned the room extra early so we could move our things into it for the second night. Amazing location overlooking the lake.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew E
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2015

This hostel is definately one of the most expensive we stayed in during our trip in New Zealand but it's so worth it for the incredible views. Set right on the shores of Lake Tekapo it has the kind of views you would expect from a luxury hotel. We had a private double room which gave us unobstructed views out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WestgateWonderer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Cost of a double room for 1 night was approximately $100.00 NZ however this room had no ensuite. The property itself was nice enough and we were there for less than 24 hours as it was merely a stopover between Christchurch and Queenstown. The Hostel was quiet and clean which is really all you need, the staff we accommodating and... More 

Helpful?
Thank theavgtraveller
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Great location not far from the restaurants and supermarkets , very friendly and helpful staffs , very clean bedrooms , beautiful view and great facilities. It was very easy to find , Bed was comfortable. I definitely stay there again if i have a chance to go back to Lake Tekapo.

Helpful?
Thank Wansters
Paris
Level Contributor
147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

A great hostel with friendly staff and a spacious kitchen, dining and lounge areas. Beds are comfortable but they creaked a lot when you moved even the slightest bit and I was worried I'd wake others. Otherwise this is a great hostel in a great location.

Helpful?
Thank Will A
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I stayed here only for one night but I could have stayed here longer. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hostel is clean, the kichen is great, good atmosphere, the rooms are spacious, and the location is great with a beautiful view over Lake Tekapo. I recommend staying here!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Freya V
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2015

perfect location, unbeatable lake view at the lounge, spacious kitchen with everything you need, friendly & super helpful staffs plus atmosphere, definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed, no doubt will stay again if the next time i come back! Keep it up!

Helpful?
1 Thank Afra1109

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,005 reviews
0.0 km away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
126 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#9 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right on the lakefront with unobstructed views to the mountains beyond, the million-dollar view from the YHA Lake Tekapo backpacker hostel is of the incredible shades of blue of this glacier fed lake in the centre of the South Island of New Zealand. The hostels large lounge area directly overlooks the lake and is a comfortable and cosy retreat. Relax in front of the roaring log fire with the friendly hostel cat on your lap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: €25 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room away from common room and kitchen is better, though the hotel is quiet in the evening”
 of 5 bubbles hellogc, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the right side of the hostel for a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles LORDZORPHIAAA, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms inside the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Amazinria, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Splendid views and great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Need to book ahead as was full every night I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles Mechanogirl, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay