We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All reviewscommon roomthe kitchengames roomhighly recommend this hostelperson dormprivate roomamazing viewsroaring fireexcellent locationminute walklate at nightmount johna nice place to staytwo nightssingle bedstar gazingliving area
The view was spectacular but there was a general odd scent around the kitchen and dining area which was where our room was unfortunately situated. This also meant we had very little privacy every time we opened our door.
Toilets were clean, there are 2...More
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake TekapoResponded 28 August 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review and I am glad to hear we were clean and comfortable for you.
Just like to address a couple of the points you have made.
Lay out of rooms around kitchen can obviously bring a few...More
Amazing in every way , the view , the other guests , Richard on reception and Billy the manager , the cleanliness the kitchen set up the great showers the comfortable bed. Beware the not so good choice of cafes in the evening though ,...More
Great friendly staff. Was nice enough to even teach my friend how to ride a bike! YHA has an amazing view through the common area. The quality of the bikes are very good. Would recommend hiring for 2 hours at least. Definitely recommend a casual...More
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake TekapoResponded 22 August 2016
Hi, That's awesome to hear, all of our staff love to help our guests. Hope your friend enjoyed the bike ride! It is a great way to see Tekapo.
Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager
So this is a review specifically of room 4, a double, that I was given during winter in New Zealand. This room is probably pretty good in summer with a great view of the lake. Unfortunately this room leaves a lot to be desired in...More
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake TekapoResponded 17 July 2016
I'm sorry to hear of your unpleasant stay with us in room four and we do appreciate your feedback.
I would like to address a couple of points. We'll take a look at the heater as it is one that should be able...More
Three of us on the way to the Brass Monkey Motorycle rally stayed in a 6 bed dorm room and had a great stay. Everything we wanted, great helpful staff and warm comfortable room. Across the way from the village ment the location is great....More
Thank Craig N
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake TekapoResponded 13 June 2016
Delighted to hear your comments and thank you for trying out YHA. hope you get to use more YHAs around New Zealand and we welcome you back to Tekapo next time. Hope the motorcycle rally was a great weekend for you.
Response from YHANewZealand | Property representative |
At YHA New Zealand all bedding is provided including sheets. You can bring your own towel or hire one from reception for $1. Unfortunately YHA Lake Tekapo is currently closed while we build a new hostel - due to... More
At YHA New Zealand all bedding is provided including sheets. You can bring your own towel or hire one from reception for $1. Unfortunately YHA Lake Tekapo is currently closed while we build a new hostel - due to open in October 2018. Our Nearest hostel is YHA Aoraki Mt Cook. January is a very busy time in New Zealand and we recommend booking in advance for any of our hostels over the summer months to make sure you have a bed, as due to safety reasons we can't let people stay without a bed. Prices for beds vary by location and time of year - you can see prices for specific dates and all of our hostels on our website - to find us Google search YHA New Zealand :)
Jasmine - Marketing Executive,
YHA New Zealand