We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Lake Tekapo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Lake Tekapo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 132: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to stay on the lake shore. Good facilities. Great staff. Friendly and casual atmosphere in the best YHA tradition. You get the feeling of belonging to Lake Tekapo in this place and being part of the community.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnMP9967JP
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi There, Awesome review and great to hear the feedback. The staff work really hard to make sure you enjoy not only the hostel but Tekapo as well! Will pass comments on to them. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Lithgow, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night in a tent due to their being no vacancy for a room. Only to discover that the dorms had been filled by a group of loud and drunk men on a boys trip. They were drinking, swearing and making severe racist remarks in the kitchen. Before leaving for a few hours to go into town. They then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Denise, Thanks for your review. Firstly I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you received during your stay. We certainly don't take drunken parties and this one manage to get through our booking system. We do provide our contact details all around the hostel encouraging guests to contact us if feeling uncomfortable or of noise problems so that...

Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed 31 October 2016

1. the most famous common room with huge windows - face to the snow mountain, the lake, the sky, the green, and the sunshine; 2. spacious and tidy kitchen - well organized and cleaned; 3. centrally located even in a small town like Tekapo, very close to coach car park; 4. twin room is small but comfortable, shared toilet is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellogc
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Hellogc, Thank you for the amazing review. We love that view too! I will pass your comments onto the staff as they work really hard in getting the hostel ready for guests and it is great to get the awesome feedback from your stay. Thanks again. Best Wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Decided to splurge on a private room for myself, it was small, cozy and warm. Best part of the room was the amazing views it offered! The lounge was a place where you could really spend hours in. The large window panels showing the lake and snow capped mountains simply made you wish your time didn't end here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

HI Valerie, Many thanks for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that you made time to enjoy the amazing and wonderful views from the hostel lounge. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The view from the living room is just spectacular...location is perfect short walk to village and shops or hot pools and start of walking track to mount John. Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff. Good wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed the hostel and you are right the location and view is spectacular. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

A really good quality hostel. Perfectly clean with an excellently equipped kitchen. The garden and view of the lake at the back is amazing! The staff were really nice and helpful. A five minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther O
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Esther, Thanks for taking your time to review us and we are delighted to hear that everything was great for you. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Singapore
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The view was spectacular but there was a general odd scent around the kitchen and dining area which was where our room was unfortunately situated. This also meant we had very little privacy every time we opened our door. Toilets were clean, there are 2 toilet and 2 shower cubicles. Hair dryers are provided. Beds were clean and surprisingly comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LORDZORPHIAAA
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Lordzorphiaaa, Thanks for taking the time to review and I am glad to hear we were clean and comfortable for you. Just like to address a couple of the points you have made. Lay out of rooms around kitchen can obviously bring a few issues, we constantly are working to manage any of these that arise and make as...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing in every way , the view , the other guests , Richard on reception and Billy the manager , the cleanliness the kitchen set up the great showers the comfortable bed. Beware the not so good choice of cafes in the evening though , cook your own food is a great option . Next time I come here I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roversnz
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Great friendly staff. Was nice enough to even teach my friend how to ride a bike! YHA has an amazing view through the common area. The quality of the bikes are very good. Would recommend hiring for 2 hours at least. Definitely recommend a casual ride.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitecomet07
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi, That's awesome to hear, all of our staff love to help our guests. Hope your friend enjoyed the bike ride! It is a great way to see Tekapo. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

So this is a review specifically of room 4, a double, that I was given during winter in New Zealand. This room is probably pretty good in summer with a great view of the lake. Unfortunately this room leaves a lot to be desired in winter: 1. It's outside. You have to walk out on the deck to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mybincs
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Dear Mybincs I'm sorry to hear of your unpleasant stay with us in room four and we do appreciate your feedback. I would like to address a couple of points. We'll take a look at the heater as it is one that should be able to reach up to 50 degrees (celsius) and has been used during several winters and...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,008 reviews
0.0 km away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
126 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
1.1 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right on the lakefront with unobstructed views to the mountains beyond, the million-dollar view from the YHA Lake Tekapo backpacker hostel is of the incredible shades of blue of this glacier fed lake in the centre of the South Island of New Zealand. The hostels large lounge area directly overlooks the lake and is a comfortable and cosy retreat. Relax in front of the roaring log fire with the friendly hostel cat on your lap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: €24 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room away from common room and kitchen is better, though the hotel is quiet in the evening”
 of 5 bubbles hellogc, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the right side of the hostel for a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles LORDZORPHIAAA, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms inside the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Amazinria, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Splendid views and great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Need to book ahead as was full every night I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles Mechanogirl, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay