We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pointe de La Verdure, Le Gosier 97190 Guadeloupe
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$226
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$221
View deal
Agoda.com
US$202
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Hotel WebsiteUS$237
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (87)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (135)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 25 hotels in Le Gosier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mahogany Hotel & Residence is located at Gosier, between Basse-Terre and Grande-Terre, in a wide tropical garden facing to the ocean. It is the ideal spot for a varied vacation, from relaxation to the most extreme sports.7 kms from Pointe à Pitre centre12 kms from Pole Caraibes International Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Diving
Babysitting
Kids club
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Vending machine
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Kitchenette
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
26Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
112Reviews6Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 46
  • 32
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
lmelo100 wrote a review Mar 2018
98 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
I must admit I only completed research on the Island of Guadeloupe only after I booked my flight, and it should go noted my french vocabulary consist of possibly 10 words. With that said I will tell you that reviews you read about people around the speaking enough English to communicate with you is not exactly true. I was very happy I chose to book a hotel vs. an air BnB since I knew I would feel more comfortable knowing the hotel would have to have at least one English speaking representative. Hotel & Room- I will start with the start of the weekend trip to Guadeloupe. The staff at the hotel were very delightful and very helpful and they did speak English. *Do know that the Mahogony is a part of Le Creole, so they share all general spaces and it makes it easier when telling your taxi where you are heading.* Each night there was live music in the lobby which was nice. The hotel appeared very nice with modern touches to decor but I will say there was at least one to two roaches that were seen in around the hallways to the rooms daily, never inside the room. Other Caribbean bugs and insects were also see but were expected. The rooms were spacious and cleaned everyday. I did have a king room but was given a two twin bed room where they just pushed the mattresses together. The room was equipped with a kitchenette in the balcony. The room does use the French plug, I suggest you pack an adapter. Pool & beach- The pool was quiet calm and clean, I spent my last full day in the hotel and enjoyed the pool which was great. There weren't too many people so finding chairs wasn't a hassle. The beach was also quiet and calm, beach isnt very large as they have a rock wall that closes in their beach. Everything on the Island is charged in Euros so if you have to and can change before getting to the island I recommend it, the exchange was brutal (believe it or not the best rate was at the hotel but they limit the amount you can change daily). I will say I did not eat at the hotel so I cannoot comment on the food in the hotel but the food around the island was amazing. The hotel is surrounded by so many great dining experiences and restaurants and a casino- all walking distant. Most of the meals were consumed walking distant from the hotel- but again language barriers were a problem as almost all menus were in French and not many of the servers spoke English. My recommendations to try near the hotel are Safari Pizza, D'lys tropikal and Creperie le Boss, and what appeared as a chain bread shop near by that I cant remember the name. Gladys at concierge was extremely helpful in helping us book a two excursions one which was a tour of pointe-a-pitre, we found wasn't exactly worth it but the second which was a tour in Les Saintes which was amazing and I highly recommend. Gladys was able to book us an English translator which helped since every tour guide only spoke french. Cons to the hotel- One would be the roaches seen around the halls of the property. Lack of towels in the room. The charge per person to the room which makes no sense since you dont get any service per person when staying in the Mahogony. Lastly which was extremely disappointing was the quote vs. what I was charged for staying at the hotel. When I book I was quoted a price in USD for the room, when I arrived I was informed I was not yet charged and was given the price in Euros, When I arrived home I realized I was neither charged what I was quoted in USD or in Eur but instead more plus the USD conversion fee by my bank. I dont like they appear to try and sneak charges into your bill by upcharging or finding things to charge you for.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try for an ocean view if you really enjoy sunsets otherwise you will end up with a room block by...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MartiniWarsaw wrote a review Apr 2017
Warsaw, Poland125 contributions73 helpful votes
The dullest room I have ever stayed in. As I and my husband arrived at the hotel rather late after a long journey from Europe, we just wanted to get some rest. The bed was pretty comfortable, the air conditioning worked well and the bathroom seemed fine, so the way the room looked like didn`t matter. We also knew that we would stay there only two nights, so ... The morning revealed more. The room we had booked was supposed to be a sea view room. There was no view. The idea of the balcony or the terrace (choose for yourself) was really surprising. It was actually a kitchenette. In order to get there and see te outside world, one had to pull up the shutter (it made a lot of noise, probably waking up everybody in the nieghbourhood). Once you pulled up the shutter, you could step outside and see an old, rusty gate and some high plants, no sea for sure. But just a few steps away, there it was - the sea and some open space. Anyway, whenever we entered the room, it was dark and dull (very limited furniture, nothin on the walls, sad colours) as the shutter had to be closed. Once we were in the room, we could pull up the shutter and enjoy some sunshine. There was no mini bar in the room. I guess most guests come from Europe late evening (as we did) and there is nothing to drink in the room. apart from a bottle of water in the kitchenette fridge. Sure we felt disappointed as we booked the place more than six months beforehand. We both agree that the place is simply overpriced because of the room, mostly. Although the room was quite expensive, we had to pay extra for breakfast, which was ok but nothing special. If you decide to have your breakfast outside, beware of the birds! I couldn`t sleep a wink at night because of the birds or/and frogs. So loud! Sure, I realise it wasn`t the hotel`s fault. The hotel itself is quite nice. A relaxing bar and swimming-pool area. Good location - a few decent places to eat out. But if you need to order a taxi, well, you need to be very patient. And a final word on the staff - the guy who checked us in - bored with his job, so I suggest he should consider changing his job. I can`t imagine spending at Mahogany my two-week holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: never ground floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexMonnierDirecteur, Directeur général at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
Responded 4 Apr 2017
Dear martiniWarsaw, We thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor following your stay at La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa. We take good note of your remarks and some renovations are planned for this year to provide you a better accomodation. Those rooms are sale with or without breakfast and our buffet breakfast at La Creole Beach pleased to all our customers. We look forward to welcoming you soon again at La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa. Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve W wrote a review Feb 2017
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom559 contributions187 helpful votes
We stayed one night here after leaving a villa and before a flight to St Lucia the next day. We were a little early for check in but had to wait until after the due time 4pm. This seems rather late to me when you are paying for a day. The hotel was very expensive for what it is. Our room was quite small and basic and it smelt of cigarettes. I have stayed in better rooms for far less. There was one young lady on reception whose name I forget, apologies, but she was very helpful and if all staff were like her checking in and out would be so much more pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: WE asked for a sea view, paid for it, but there was little to see.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexMonnierDirecteur, Directeur général at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
Responded 22 Feb 2017
Dear Steve W, We thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor following your stay at La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa. We take good note of your recommandations regarding the cigarette smell and we will inform our housekeeping manager. The check in time is 4 PM. We look forward to welcoming you again at La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Svetlana P wrote a review Dec 2016
5 contributions5 helpful votes
This is my first experience of paying 4* getting level of no stars! Just nice professional photos to make impression of nice and clean and modern. Paid in advance. Reality was cruel, all day somebody seemed to work reconstructing restaurant and terrace so very noisy..no where were signs of info in advance..(only nice and new part was lobby, pool and restaurant!), but rooms are way not worth 4* evaluation! Rooms are wet, humid, moldy, stinky, many devices not working properly as terrace door, kitchen link, door to waste, sink broken, toilet canalization supposingly very near! Actually we saw the truck sucking canalization pipe coming through hall very near lobby. Daily an hour of stink in not only in a room. From ceiling water is dropping if you let temperature rise above 19 degree as there is no ventilation in a room. All our things during one day were stinky and wet. All equipment including including tiles, paper doors are from 80ties and equally used appropriate to age 30-40 years of usage! Immediately we changed the first room with 3 problems including cant openning sliding door and dropping water from ceilling even with clima on. We got the next six hours later next door! Equal to first but improved of very hard to open door:-)but at least we could open it and get to terrace. So not even a motel level! how could anyone think this is appropirate to count 200EUR per night and call it 4 star! Disasterous. Not recommended at all. Our valuation on hotel room in hotel were immediately deleted:-/
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David P wrote a review Dec 2015
Hartford, Connecticut190 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
We arrived after dark and it is almost impossible to find this hotel, since there is one little tiny sign and no one ever heard of Mahogany, As you can see in the reviews below your are really staying at the La Creole Beach hotel, they are one in the same. They share everything, front desk, bar, restaurant, pool, beach, everything. Your room will just be in another building (mahogany) farther away. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, the decor is nonexistent, the lighting in the room was an after thought and is a weird spotlight screwed to the wall, with very little light. The Slider door to terrace was impossible to open took both of us to slide the door. Room has small kitchenette on the terrace, the view from the terrace is mostly blocked by a another building (paid for ocean view room) but you can see just a little of the water. We were on the third floor and the elevator was out of order for two of the days. If you forget to bring voltage plug converters they will give you one at the desk to use, and return after your stay. WiFi cost 5 euros and you have to get a code from the desk to use it, it does work well and allowed us to watch US TV and even Netflix. The staff knows very little English, so brush up on your french before going. The hotel restaurant buffet was terrible, the food was flavorless, and half the choices were not available, the staff was not helpful, and it was just not worth going to. Try some of the small local places nearby they are so much better. Over all our stay was just OK, Booked and paid on Travelocity and confirmed at check in that credit card was for incidentals only, which worked well till check out when they tried to charge us again, and the desk clerk couldn't issue a credit. He said his supervisor would do it when they came in. Two weeks now and no credit, disputing charges with AMEX.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the ocean view, it's only a partial view since another building is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tom R wrote a review Aug 2015
San Diego, California40 contributions11 helpful votes
We booked (through Expedia) four nights in this hotel, but stayed only two. Note that this hotel is part of the La Créole Beach Hotel & Spa, which is important if you are using a navigator in your car. The Good: The pool is nice. There is a good, safe beach just behind the pool. Bar staff is very professional. There are good restaurants within walking distance. The room has a small kitchenette, outside on the patio or balcony. There was a free folk-dance performance in the evening. The Bad: The Mahogany Hotel is a older building with cramped rooms. Perhaps rooms in the main hotel, the La Créole, are nicer. When we arrived, the staff led us to our room via an alleyway, past some large containers; it was inelegant at best. There was heavy construction next to the hotel (earth movers). Although the hotel cannot control this, it does not provide for a "spa" feeling. The Ugly: At 10:00pm of the second night, all water in the hotel was turned off. We called the front desk and were told they did not know when it would be turned on. However, they would provide 2 bottles of water if we need to bathe. (???) I went to the front desk to get the water. I was told there was none at the front desk, and the employee called the kitchen and asked them to bring us water. After waiting 5 minutes, I asked for the water to be brought to the room. An hour later, I again visited the front desk and requested water. I was told it would be brought right away. No water ever arrived. At 6:00am I went to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. I was told the manager would be in at "noon, or maybe 11:00". To avoid an unpleasant situation in the bathroom in my room, I decided to use the bathroom in the lobby. Unfortunately, others had the same idea. It was not pleasant. The Uber-Ugly: We left early, asking for a refund for the night we stayed without water--due to health and safety issues--and for the remaining two nights due to the uncertain ability of the hotel to provide basic services. Management responded by saying we should not have checked out because water was out for only two hours. A follow-up email explained that "The water was cut at 10 Am on the 19th and come back at 11 AM today." It further explained "the hotel water tank can supplied water during 24H (according to our occupancy) with 120’000 lt to ensure all the hotel, restaurants and customers’ needs as well as the fire security and hygienic cleanings." (sic) I spent an hour on the phone with Expedia to get a refund. Thank heavens they were acting on my behalf.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
patk353 wrote a review Jun 2015
Gainesville, Florida7 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is actually on the same property as the Creole Beach hotel. The rooms are a bit further from the reception area, and they have small kitchenettes. However, the kitchenette is on the terrace, so it could be very warm during the day. There was a little stove and a refrigerator. We really needed dish soap and a dish cloth. At the restaurant, the breakfast was varied and tasty but really overpriced at 22 euros. It would be better to stay at the Creole Beach where the breakfast is included. The pool is beautiful, and it was not crowded during our stay. There is also a small private beach with nice lounge chairs. We preferred the beach down the road at Sainte Anne, but it was nice to enjoy the little hotel beach too. There is a small beach cabana that offers sandwiches and pizzas which we found to be delicious and reasonably priced. For dinner, we cooked on our terrace or ate at the pizza restaurant across from the hotel. The pizza there was quite good, but it is not air conditioned, and we were hot on the evening we went there. The concierge was delightful and helpful; we only wish she had been working on Saturday evening and Sunday so that we could have booked some excursions. The rest of the staff was polite and attentive to our needs, and it helped that I speak French. One other small complaint: the wifi is not included and rather expensive. All in all, we enjoyed the beauty and comfort of the hotel and grounds as well as the professional staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is better to book at the Creole Beach where the breakfast is included. However, it is nice to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
thainsmith wrote a review May 2015
Monaco-Ville, Monaco36 contributions58 helpful votes
A strange set up! Mahogany and le creole beach are the same hotel the only difference is mahogany bedrooms have been refurnished more recently! These were clean and okay but rather soulless and bathroom was by Caribbean standards okay but nothing special. The positives of staying here are a modern bar area and reception and a lovely beach area. The negatives however were an awful buffet restaurant which needs to be rebuilt to come up to the level of the bar area. Food was just uninspiring, flavourless and the whole place was grubby. Only went once. Very impersonal service, small gym with both treadmills out of order, wifi very annoying! TV channels choice of approx 30 and 29 were French TV! Ridiculous I don't know how these establishments get away with charging what they do for such a second rate hotel experience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lmiss wrote a review Aug 2014
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic90 contributions93 helpful votes
This hotel is basically one building inside another Hotel: Le Creole Beach & Spa. It is of course the worst block of rooms, many of the rooms are refurbished but still not quite worth the price, with a small price difference I would prefer to stay at Le Creole instead. Internet system is not the best, 5 Euros for every consecutive 8 hours, the problem is that you need to log in every time and only one device at the time. Also internet service does not reach the farest group of rooms at Mahogany. Very overpriced and does not include breakfast, so at the end it is better to book Le Creole that does. Food at the restaurant is not that good and the variety is poor. Nothing remarkable about the beach but the pool is really really nice and relaxing, ocean view. Also nice live music is played at night in the lobby
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine P, Public Relations Manager at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
Responded 30 Dec 2014
Dear Guest, We thank you for sharing your feed-back on tripadvisor following your stay at Mahogany Hotel Residence & Spa. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your accomodation and would have preferred to book at La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa. These two parts Mahogany and Creole Beach have the same reception, lobby, bar, swimming pool, beach and restaurants and Spa. The only difference between them is that the accomodation type is different. Mahogany Hotel Residence & Spa is the residential part of the site, offering for each category of rooms terraces with small kitchen. The second specification about Mahogany is the recent refurbishment of its accomodations with a more contemporary and modern design that is well appreciated by our clientele. The common areas (corridors, gardens) are the same as the ones of Creole Beach. Therefore, Mahogany Hotel Residence & Spa offers you a higher quality product. The only inconvenience seen by our guest could be that Mahogany Rooms are less closer to the reception and main areas - but other clientele appreciate the calm of Mahogany. We are sorry that your WIFI connexion was poor at Mahogany Hotel Residence & Spa and assure you that we have taken actions in order to repair this anomaly. We hope to welcome you very soon at either La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa or Mahogany Hotel Residence & Spa and wish you the best for this new year coming, Season Greetings, Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gaby2324 wrote a review May 2014
Montreal, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
We'll located, amazing beach, clean and the very helpful and friendly. Service is very good. Food is good too nothing to complain about. Very good choice for your vacation in Guadeloupe. We book our excursions directly at the hotel and we were very pleased of the quality and punctuality. The only thing we did not like it is the internet we had to pay for and not working very well in all areas. Our breakfast was included but we had to repeat it every morning but they apologize. Overall very good experience!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine P, Public Relations Manager at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
Responded 30 Oct 2014
Dear Guest, We thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor following your stay at La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa in may. Your comments are very valuable as it allow us to constantly improve the quality of our services. We would be delighted to have you back for your future holidays in the Guadeloupe Islands. Warmest Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$188 - US$259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanGuadeloupeGrande-Terre IslandLe Gosier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAHOGANY HOTEL RESIDENCE AND SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Le Gosier, Guadeloupe) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Casino du Gosier (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Napoli, Le Ti Maki, and Coconut Coast.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Fleur d'Épée (1.7 km).
Does Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.