We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

First time we've been to the Lazy Duck and it will not be our last. From the word go staff makes you feel welcome and part of the set up. So you have to walk and get a bucket of water to take a bush shower. If that bothers you your sense of adventure needs a tune because it's clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eben R
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

For sure, you are one to tell it as it is. Hooray for your boldness and unequivocal statements which are much in line with our own thinking. David & Team Lazy Duck

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We only stayed for one night but would like to go back for longer. We slept in the dorm but felt like we had the place to ourselves. We had all the amenities at our disposal, including the wood-fired stove and barbecue. The surrounding woods are lovely, populated by deer and surely other species we didn't spot. It's also wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joana R
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Good that you had the welcome surprise of the hostel being just for you. You might also have heard the call of the capercaille. They are around in the seventy acre wood right next to us. Come again do. David & Team Lazy Duck

Palma
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The care and attention that has gone into every aspect of the huts and recreational spaces is wonderful. The setting is stunning, with a variety of wild landscapes within which you can freely walk to with ease, and it was a great pleasure to meet the owners, whose kindness, enthusiasm and generosity topped off why we felt so happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macintosh-Bennassar
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

You are both very kind and a keen observer of what has grown here over the last forty years as well as for centuries before. No five year plan; simply well guided organic growth which is now capable of bringing much pleasure both to you and to others who have the eyes to see. Thank you. David & Team Lazy...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

What can I say about the Lazy Duck, Perfect, we camped there at the beginning of August, beautiful site, amazing location totally off grid, very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, volunteers & owners, must get back there soon, and the duck eggs are delicious. Hot tub is a must after a long day in the hills

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Many, many thanks for your kind appreciation. There's a run on the hot tub just now especially from the most active of our guests. You got here just in time for the summer lay of duck's eggs. They are threatening to take it easy now until the Spring! David & Team Lazy Duck

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I have had a great experience here at lazy duck. My partner and I first stayed in the Woodman's hut and that was fantastic. No electric or indoor toilet but great all the same. Used the outdoor shower and the composting toilet which was fun. Then had a night on the campground which was wonderful great pitch out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Glad that you felt you could camp with us happily following a stay in the Woodman's Hut. So you just have the Hostel, Lambing Bothy and Duck's Nest to go! To see you back would be nice. Thanks both of you. David & Team Lazy Duck

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The Duck's Nest at The Lazy Duck is a must for any discerning traveler wishing to be at one with Nature but spoiling the surprises would be a shame so all I will say is it is great value in an idyllic setting. If you wish to hide away for a few days from Civilization I suggest it wholeheartedly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertEkr
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Your quiet appreciation provides both us and perhaps others with a standard to follow. Thank you for your kind words. They demonstrate only too well that sometimes, 'less is more'. David & Team Lazy Duck

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Our visit to Scotland was to attend a wedding in the forest. The stay at the Lazy Duck complimented the wedding perfectly. Good location, Good accommodation. Good time was had by all. A warm welcome was shown and kind consideration to getting 8 adults and 2 children to the venue. Well worth a visit by anyone wanting something a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks folks. This year has seen a flowering of weddings in the forest and on the beach at nearby Loch Garten. Guests at several of these have been hosted either by Lazy Duck or the Dell of Abernethy in the village where Ross and Polly sometimes can be persuaded to host the whole event. This week, the week of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Wonderful location for a camp site, shame about the owner's mentality. There are too many RULES on site, which spoiled our relaxation time here, it felt like we were walking on eggshells throughout our stay. We notice the owners wandering around the tents each morning as dawn breaks to see if we had left any mess the night before and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thetravaller2016
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You highlight your feelings of being under pressure to keep to our rules, we think of them as 'arrangements' for happy camping to be enjoyed by all. You are right; that is a shame and we are sorry this aspect spoiled your visit. We have just two acres of buildings and grounds, including the camping...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The Lazy Duck is a holiday destination with a distance. If no electricity, an earth toilet, and an outdoor shower is not your scene, don't read on. We stayed two nights in the Woodman's hut, which is situated at the edge of the site in the forest. The hut was cozy and well supplied. The highlight was waking to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger b
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review. Clearly you chose the hut where you saw more of the wild life than you did other human beings whose company you denied yourselves for two nights. So glad to read that the experience did not disappoint. David & Team Lazy Duck

devon, uk
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Before I booked this place it was my ideal of an ideal campsite. As somebody who camps a lot and was camping for 2 weeks throughout Scotland when I found it I could not wait to stay. I emailed the owner in advance of my stay to check if they would be able to accommodate us as we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalenikki
lazyduckhostel, Manager at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Our small team work very hard to look after both guests and grounds here, and try to meet and exceed expectations in all aspects. In this case we are sorry that that did not happen. It would have been so helpful to have been provided with the correct information regarding tent sizes prior to booking, rather...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (65)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
7.5 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,202 reviews
1.5 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
490 reviews
5.4 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.0 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
14.6 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 6 acre oasis in the Cairngorms National Park where 8 bed hostel, 2 off grid 2 person eco cabins and a 4 pitch lightweight camping ground nestle by the waterfowl ponds and views straight to the mountains with nothing but moorland and forest in between. The Lazy Duck is close to mountain bike trails, skiing and snowboarding, climbing and plateau treks, rafting, kayaking, fishing, golfing and plenty of whisky distilleries. Landmark Forest Adventure Park, Highland Folk Museum, Highland Wildlife park and the leisure pool at the Aviemore Centre are all within easy reach and of top class quality for visitors Small is beautiful at The Lazy Duck. Been Active? Come home to slow living with our hot tub, sauna & Swedish massage service ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground

Address: 300 metres off the Nethy Bridge to Tomintoul Road | At the village boundary, Nethy Bridge PH25 3ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Price Range: €8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Duck's Nest all the way!”
 of 5 bubbles Mewilliams2, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ducks Nest lodge was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles GibbsintheirVW, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you can't go wrong on this site”
  • The Lambing Bothy
 of 5 bubbles russellm978, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“everything is so quiet apart from the ducks!!”
 of 5 bubbles 393gemmam, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Duck's Nest is a hidden gem”
 of 5 bubbles RobertEkr, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5