We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens

Save
Share
Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 5NQ England
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (125)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Punchbowl is a National Multi Award Winning Pub set in the heart of Shropshire's finest country side. Stunning views from the gardens and terrace. A truly family run business preserving the traditions of fine English Fayre and superior accommodation. 16th Century Country Inn with Bar and dining facilities and real open fires roaring in the winter months serving great food, and specializing in AGA carveries and a full gastro menu, we regularly have real ales on all year round. A warm welcome awaits you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
405Reviews1Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 266
  • 53
  • 47
  • 17
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zolaf wrote a review 5 Oct
Telford, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Our first visit since Covid and my 65th Birthday celebration meal. The turkey and beef looked lovely but at only 1 slice of each served we relied on the good range of accompaniments to fill the plates. Maybe they were saving the meat for the coach party that turned up and took over the bar and carvery food line. Good quality but meger portions. Dessert was lovely but the coffee we ordered didn't arrive. Pity as we really love the setting and ambience of the Punch Bowl.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Seasidey2 wrote a review Jul 2022
West Bromwich, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
Arrived on a Friday night and have to say we felt that standards have really slipped. The young waiter was fabulous and really knowledgeable and helpful, but the food was very disappointing. My husband had the burger which although looked fabulous, was really dry. I had the carvery and was served the last scrapings of the dry, overcooked turkey and the beef was extremely tough. My Dad had parsnips with his and they were that hard, he couldn’t get his fork in them. The other veggies were also very hard so he didn’t eat them. This was at 6 PM on a Friday night so looks like we had the remains from earlier in the day. One would hope that they upped their game for the wedding going on next door and for the later diners.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Giles, Owner at Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Hi Seasidey2, Thank you for the review on last night's service, I am sorry you felt disappointed with the food, and I have shared this with the kitchen team, the chefs haven't changed nor the suppliers we use, it was genuinely all fresh for 6pm service so I am sorry you thought standards have slipped, if there was any shortfalls please do bring this to our attention, we were not aware of your disappointment last night. It's great to read the staff were helpful and knowledgeable. We do try hard to work towards industry standards 24/7. The wedding was independent to our restaurant and went very well in terms of food and service, they had a sit down meal followed by a hog roast, it's a shame you have never published a previous positive review as you have dined with us before and published a poor review :( We hope you have the confidence to try us again and see standards our as good they should be! Many thanks, Adam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ljls27 wrote a review Jul 2022
Merseyside, United Kingdom51 contributions16 helpful votes
Room was nice but the room and corridor could do with a really good dusting! Bed was comfy and shower was nice. The host was a nice, polite gentleman. The only downside was the stable door not closing properly in the bedroom. Which meant extra noise from the main road and vehicles really do speed past at high speeds! Also the neighbouring dogs... they barked til gone midnight and once one dog started it set the rest off! The lady who sorted us out with our breakfast in the restaurant was lovely and really helpful. The full English breakfast was cooked to perfection. Restaurant looked really nice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Foosrus wrote a review Jul 2022
Dudley, United Kingdom3 contributions
First visit today, belated Father’s Day meal and we couldn’t be more pleased. The carvery was hot and tasty. The beef and turkey was melt in the mouth. Dessert was amazing and they even catered for my dairy free mother in law. Excellent service will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mark n wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Visited for our Wedding anniversary, what an absolute treat, Food was fantastic and such good value for money, we can't recommend this place enough, Chloe and Ange looked after us so well, thankyou all for an amazing evening !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Abbie W wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Couldn’t have had our special day in a better venue the staff are amazing super friendly and helpful. The day went without a hitch and always staff on hand to help. We stayed for 2 nights the rooms were beautifully clean plenty of towels and condiments. The venue is set in a beautiful location and our guests were amazed at the views and setting of their outside areas! Couldn’t have asked for more thank you for everyone at the punch bowl you were all so so kind and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ash S wrote a review Jun 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
We have visited previously during lockdown and rated this place to return for a special occasion, that was today. Celebrating a 70th Birthday, we booked for 20 guests, 17 attended. We were seated in close tables, and although not ideal it was fine. The person serving us greeted us, I had to ask for the menu, she replied that more than half would 'have' to eat carvery because it was too busy as there was a wedding on in the function suite. Being told what we must order was quite disappointing, even more so because we had booked a good few months in advance. Carvery was chosen by all, apart from the kids. The starter and kids food was great, the dessert good too. The carvery was all very dry and poor. I appreciate how busy colleagues can be, however it is not good practice to take bookings and then restrict the options available to guests trying to celebrate. Despite the emphasis on the price at every point (I must look poor) we spent £400 this evening. We/ I will never return, I'm so disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Giles, Owner at Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Hi Ash, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, albeit terrible, let me apologise you felt feeling this way when leaving, however and most importantly I want to address your feedback. You booked your party 19th March with Ange, and Ange was also your personal waitress last night as well, I have checked your reservation and you knew that your tables were all allocated in one area, as its highlighted in your reservation notes, unfortunately we don’t have one table that can hold 20 people. Back in March when you made the reservation it was carvery only, but when we managed to recruit some more chefs we activated the Gastro menu in May, much to the delight of regular diners, so you were in fact offered BOTH carvery and Gastro menu, however is was totally fully booked in both the restaurant and the function room, all guests were told there was up to a 45 minute wait for main dishes, this is not an unforgivable time frame, no one forced you or any guests to have carvery only. Large parties usually pre order, this you never did either, but everything was on offer. We as a full team were serving both areas of the building independently, the function room has its own carvery deck, bar and staff so I do not agree the service was bad, I was on the bar in restaurant last night having banter serving guests from your own party amongst many other happy diners! What is disappointing is the fact that you have allegedly dined with us before and never felt the need to write a positive review, and frustratingly when you were asked at the bar when settling the bill you didn't raise any concerns. We served 180 carveries yesterday and the only negative feedback raised is on this platform the morning after, I feel if the carvery was allegedly dry and poor we would have received far more feedback on settling bills and waitress interaction with quality control checking, this is where I rest my case! Yours disappointedly, Adam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil H wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Originally we had our wedding date back in May 2020 but as everyone is aware lockdowns and covid got in the way. Well what can I say, staff at Ye Old Punchbowel we’re understanding and accommodating. They changed our date twice… that’s right twice, to ensure we could have our day with no government restrictions. The staff were lovely and friendly every time we had any dealings with them and they literally took all the stresses away. Right from the first meeting to the final goodbye the staff were polite and literally bent over backwards to help run our day. I really could not thank them enough. The setting is absolutely amazing, accommodation is out of this world (clean tidy and the little thoughts shine through). Food is to die for, not one single complaint from any of the guests and all the guests were complimentary about the gardens too. From myself and Jo we can not give this venue enough praise. Thank you for our special day, each and everyone of the staff should be proud of the levels of service provided. This venue is a must see for any couple wanting to get married.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrew H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We had our daughter’s wedding on Saturday and we had a wonderful day, we were well looked after by the bar staff and the events team. The food, both the buffet and the canapés were very well received by all that I spoke too on the day and afterwards. The location including the suite overnight was also extremely good. A great place to host a wedding.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Timbo wrote a review May 2022
13 contributions2 helpful votes
Overcooked tough beef the pork and turkey were tasteless. Cold vegetables. Booking system does not work. More or less thrown out after our two hours were up. Never again. I would have put zero stars but you have to give at least one star.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Giles, Owner at Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens
Responded 30 May 2022
Hi Timmyyatt59, Thank you for taking the time to review us, what a shame we didn’t meet your expectations yesterday. We are the first to admit when something does wrong, but given the fact we catered for 350 people we genuinely feel we would have received a lot more negative feedback, on contrary we didn’t have any complaints on the food all day? So we don’t take on board all the food was tasteless and cold! You suggested that our online booking platform doesn’t work ‘open table’, when infact it does, you clearly have the ability to submit reviews we are confident you could click a button to reserve a table, or perhaps it was full. We were fully booked yesterday by early morning. So I conclude by thanking you for your questionable feedback which looks a little personal if we are honest and not bringing any alleged issues to us on the day either. Never again we shall be seeing you and we’ll all have a drink to that 😜 #teampunchbowl
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ye olde punchbowl hotel bridgnorth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShropshireBridgnorth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens
Which popular attractions are close to Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens?
Nearby attractions include Bridgnorth Castle And Grounds (1.6 km), Dudmaston Estate (5.8 km), and Bridgnorth Town Hall (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pheasant at Neenton, Graze, and Blue Ginger.
Does Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dudmaston Estate (5.8 km), St Mary's Church (1.7 km), and Upton Cressett Hall (4.5 km).
Is Ye Olde Punchbowl Country Inn & Gardens accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.