We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Summerhill Road, Trim Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
PricelineUS$97
FindHotel
Agoda.comUS$87
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Trim
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim's most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 21 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian
569Reviews6Q+A68Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 291
  • 154
  • 57
  • 37
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mcristinafh wrote a review Sep 2022
Aylesbury, United Kingdom95 contributions30 helpful votes
Be aware of not arriving too early as the person at reception very coldly told us the room was not ready before even letting us ask the right question if we could leave the car in the car park. Saying that, the room we got was ok but very noisy next to, we presume, was the hotel air conditioner. luckily it stopped during the night. The dinner at the restaurant was the only god thing of this stay as it was big and not too costly but, when the till when down, nobody came to our table to let us know as we were waiting to pay for quite some time. In the end we needed to go to the bar and asked what was going on. And after it, the bill was wrong If it hadn't been for these small details, the stay at this hotel could have been much better
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Catherine T wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
A tiny bit of paint here and there on the furniture surfaces was needed, but otherwise loved how the decor worked with the theme of the building. It was quite lovely. Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff, and quite good food. We enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cusack Hotel Group, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TM79 wrote a review Sep 2022
Ireland178 contributions96 helpful votes
There’s a sign in this place saying carvery is served from 12.30 but soup & sandwiches are served from 11.30. TAKE THE SIGN DOWN! We couldn’t get anything at 11.30 yesterday and the staff member was clueless. Can’t stand places that don’t do what they advertise.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Padraig McGuire (BusManPaddy) wrote a review Aug 2022
Westport, Ireland50 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice hotel just off the centre of trim so still close to Trim Castle and the town Centre. Entrance is an old castle arch so it is tight for larger vehicles. Staff are nice and the food is very good. Overall very happy stay and all guests said they enjoyed it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cusack Hotel Group, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Berni110 wrote a review Aug 2022
Dublin, Ireland383 contributions119 helpful votes
We’ve stayed at the Castle Arch many times as we always have a lovely time here. The staff are friendly & pleasant. The food is proper home cooked, tasty, decent portions & good value. This visit left us a little underwhelmed. We had lunch before we checked in. The bar was full of dirty dishes & the table beside us remained uncleaned for the duration of our sitting. The staff seemed “busy”- but not doing a huge amount….. Check in was friendly & prompt. The corridors had a musty smell & the wall paper in the corridor (to the right of landing) is damaged due to water leaks / damp. Our room was spacious, had a double & a single bed, the carpet wasn’t clean properly & there was a burn stain due to a hot iron. Our bathroom was very disappointing, the bath panel was in a bad state of repair, the ceiling paint was flaking badly, there was 4 spiders (that we could see) in & around the bath. Breakfast was beautiful even if the breakfast room was unorganised. Tables not fully set. My husbands chair was being used as a door stop to hold open the door, the buffet area takes up a lot of room which leaves the conservatory area very squashed. Tea & coffee from burka boilers is not ideal.. we asked for a fresh pot of tea as the tea from boiler was so stewed. It’s such a shame to see a lovely hotel lose the standards it once had. If this was our first visit to the castle arch, we probably wouldn’t return but for us, we love the area & can only hope our next visit is a little more pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free car park 5 min walk to town Lots of lovely bars Friendly staff Great food
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christy_Luv2 wrote a review Aug 2022
Gorey, Ireland1907 contributions428 helpful votes
You won't leave hungry from the buffet here! 38 of us 'landed' and one unfortunate lady worked so hard keeping everyone happy, which she achieved, before a helping hand arrived to help. Choice of food was excellent. We were given an empty room, which was well ventilated (one of the hottest days this year in Ireland. Staff were friendly and very efficient. We would recommend a meal here. Thanks to Everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cusack Hotel Group, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Christy, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa Sav wrote a review Aug 2022
Mullingar, Ireland21 contributions54 helpful votes
Myself and my husband spent 2 nights here for our wedding anniversary. Got off to a bad start when we booked in and realised that not only was 1 of the key cards not programmed, we had no milk for the tea/coffee, dirty cups and cutlerly were dirty from previous guests and there was only a half roll of toilet paper in bathroom. House keeping seems really poor, dust in room, carpet was filthy, no hand towels in bathroom, no shower gel just 15g bar soap and beds seemed thrown together, I had to remake bed on both evenings. Having explained it was our wedding anniversary both in an email and on phone, I informed hotel I wanted to book a meal in the Arch Lounge which I thought was the main restaurant in the hotel from the website. We were seated in what seemed like a small bar with massive foot traffic and loud music blaring. What I had hoped would be a nice quiet romantic meal was completely the opposite. An atmy of staff who were running every which way and aside from 2/3 were not pleasant to customers. Food was terrible and greasy. This was the same with breakfast. Buffet breakfast is a joke, choice of 2 cereals and yoghurts. Fruit juice is from a carton which is just topped up regardless of flies floating in decanter. Yes there was a fly in the juice, told server who just apologised but didn't offer fresh replacement. Receptiont fidn't ask how we enjoyed ourstay when we checked out. She just took key cards and that was that. Would not recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cusack Hotel Group, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that I will share this feedback with the team here at Castle Arch Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margie M wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Went to the Castle Arch for dinner. Very disappointing service and food. We asked for an orange cordial. It was very weak, so we asked for more cordial to be added: water would still have more flavour! I ordered prawn stir-fry with no onions, my husband ordered fish, chips and mushy peas. My food arrived, and I could smell the onions before I looked at my plate, so I sent it back. My husband got a thimble amount of mushy peas and chips were under-cooked. My meal was just OK. We have been to the Castle Arch on numerous occasions and have held family functions in the Hotel. But tonight was very disappointing. I think the eye has been taken off the ball...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cusack Hotel Group, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that I will share this feedback with the team here at Castle Arch Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
niamh wrote a review Jul 2022
Donegal Town, Ireland142 contributions69 helpful votes
On the way home from Dublin to Donegal we wanted something proper to eat, not greasy chips at a takeaway. We pulled off the motorway at Trim at 5pm to find that most of the cafes in the town closed at 5.30. I asked a man on the street where we could eat and without hesitation he said the Castle Arch Hotel and we were so glad we asked him for a suggestion! Handy parking, a warm helpful welcome at reception, shown to a comfortable table straight away in the bar, plenty of choice on the well priced menu (one of our family eat gluten free) and served efficiently by friendly staff, all of them young. My daughters both had the salmon, beautifully presented and they devoured it, saying how delicious it was. My fish and chips looked fab but the batter was a bit chewy - however the rest of the meal made up for that. We're already planning to use the hotel again next month as a convenient and welcoming place to eat on our return from the airport, definitely a worthwhile detour. Well done
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cusack Hotel Group, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seamus G wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Went to hotel last Saturday for a meal, decided to sit outside but was taken aback when told was seperate menu for outside, would have liked to order of main menu. Will this be policy for the summer, thanks
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel castle arch
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty MeathTrim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castle Arch Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Castle Arch Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Patrick's Church (0.3 km), The Old Stand (0.2 km), and Royal Ireland Gifts (Siopa an Caislean (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Castle Arch Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Castle Arch Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Castle Arch Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castle Arch Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Khan Spices Indian Restaurant, StockHouse Restaurant, and Rosemary Bistro & Cafe.
Is Castle Arch Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Trim.
Are any cleaning services offered at Castle Arch Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Castle Arch Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castle Arch Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle Arch Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trim Castle (0.5 km), Bective Abbey (7.0 km), and Cathedral of St Peter and St Paul (1.5 km).
Is Castle Arch Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.