We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (209)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (27)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Set close to Omaha Beach and the historic town of Bayeux, Port en Bessin conceals a treasure that lies at the end of a long drive " Chateau La Cheneviere ". Impeccable lawns, ancient trees and a charmingly old fashioned rose garden... arriving on the estate is like strolling onto the lands of an English Lord who fell under the spell of Calvados region. The manor appears at last, a dignified Norman edifice from the 18th century, it combines the charms of an old house with the conveniences of a cosy English Manor. Add to that an opulent interior, spacious, elegant bedrooms. The dining room, overlooking the park, has a certain grandeur on an intimate scale, while classic cuisine allows you to explore all the distinctive flavours of Normandy, a generous and distinguished cuisine based on delicious local produce, faultless service, a heated outdoor pool, a splendid terrace, and the picture is complete...
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
HOTEL CLASS
418Reviews
309Photos
7Q+A
58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 312
  • 71
  • 26
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We absolutely loved our stay at this small and lovely hotel. We came in November with our two children. From the time of booking, the hotel was very accommodating of the fact that we were traveling with kids and needed two adjoining rooms. Upon arrival, the front desk staff
Read more
Response from Thefroggieplanet, Responsable relations clients at Château La Chenevière
Responded 23 Nov 2018
Dear Arthurelliot, Our team will be thrilled to learn of your review and we thank you for staying with us at La Cheneviere. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed visiting our beautiful region and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Do not hesitate to visit our restaurant with the children next time, our team will be pleased to cook a special dinner for them as we often do when we have family staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future, Best regards, Françoise FAUQUET
Read more
Excellent reviews led us to this luxury hotel. The rooms were nice and cozy and the help was very friendly. We ate at the hotel the first night and it was ok (mind you we were in Bordeaux for a week eating at great places). The grounds are wonderful but we had a bad patch of
Read more
Response from Thefroggieplanet, Guest Relations Manager at Château La Chenevière
Responded 26 Oct 2018
Dear Michael S, Thank you for your kind review and for choosing la Cheneviere. We hope on your next visit you will enjoy some fabulous weather and discover a little more of this beautiful region. Best regards, Françoise FAUQUET
Read more
Chateau La Cheneviere is tired. The elegant property (which is beautiful) cannot hide its overall fatigue. First, I will disagree with several reviewers who have complained about the indifference or unfriendliness of the staff. Quite to the contrary I found the staff to be quite
Read more
Response from Thefroggieplanet, Guest Relations Manager at Château La Chenevière
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Dear Janet B, > Thank you for taking the time to share your insights. It is true that la Cheneviere is a beautiful place and we were sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are constantly working on upgrading our hotel for our guest’s enjoyment and comfort, so we have been sure to take on board your comments for further assessment. We are sorry to hear you didn’t like our restaurant, it is normally for most of our guests the highlight of their trip, but we do agree that taste in decoration as in food are very subjective. Our pool was closed as it is an outside pool, it is open seasonally, but you still can use the tennis court and our bicycles if you wish to exercise. We do apologize that our gym smelled of paint, some renovations had just been done. We regret we failed to meet your expectations and hope to regain your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Best regards, Françoise FAUQUET
Read more
Our favorite stay during a two week vacation in France. Beautiful building and comfy rooms with perfect service and amenities, The grounds are lovely with a kitchen garden, pool and spacious green lawns. Terrific food in the restaurant. Also loved the creme caramels which are
Read more
Response from Thefroggieplanet, Guest Relations Manager at Château La Chenevière
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Dear RGE2012, Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay! it is a great pleasure to hear such kind words and we hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Françoise FAUQUET
Read more
+3
La Cheneviere is an incredibly beautiful 18th Century Norman chateau. The property is a luxurious five star hotel close to the beaches of Normandy. It was occupied by the Germans for a period during WWII until the Americans landed and took over in June 1944. The once private
Read more
Response from Thefroggieplanet, Guest Relations Manager at Château La Chenevière
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Dear Davis EM, Thank you for a great review and kind words which were shared with the staff. We hope to welcome you back to la Cheneviere, Best regards, Françoise FAUQUE
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Flecken auf Zimmerteppich
Quiet elegance
From my window
zicht op deel van de tuin
uitzicht op bijgebouwen
PreviousNext
12345612
The beaches on The northern coast of France have very chilly water even in the summer. We didn’t even look into it
1 vote
Probably not a good example as we flew into Heathrow, London, took EuroRail to Calais, rented a car and drove to Bayeux, then drove on down to Paris - beautiful countryside drive from Calais.
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Tiggytill, Yes absolutely, our hotel is pet friendly, we have beautiful grounds where they love to walk with their master. They are not allowed in the restaurant and at the pool. We have as well beautiful beaches where you can go for a walk with them and I am sure they are very welcome in the local area. Best regards, Françoise FAUQUET
0 votes
Dear Karen, Thank you for interest in Château La Chenevière. We do have bicycles with helmets and locks available for our guests. You can take them into Bayeux, which is a 30 min ride away or into Port-en-Bessin (app. 10 min). We can also book taxis if you prefer. Unfortunately our outdoor swimming pool will be closed in mid-October. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any further information. Kindest regards, Olivia Dicker
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"105 corner room windows a light from two sides."
"Stay in the chateau versus the annex. Do not need to leave the building for anything."
"They have rooms- not suites. Don't be misled by their advertising."
"The property is well back from the road, so any room would be good."
"We did not stay in the main building, but the former "stables" which was absolutely beautiful, peaceful and private."
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$251 - US$718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau la cheneviere hotel port-en-bessin-huppain
LOCATION
FranceNormandyBasse-NormandieCalvadosPort-en-Bessin-Huppain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing