We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Great rooms, excellent service, brilliant location. Wildllife everywhere, not far from town, cheap taxi ride to bars and restaurants, although you may not want to wander to far as it is such a relaxing location. All that needs to be said really.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cjmlawson
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear you had a great experience... and just like you said, there's really no need to get out of our property, you'll find everything you need to have a wonderful time within our 72acres of cloud forest, wonderful trails to experience nature, a great balcony to sit and read your favorite book...

Costa Rica
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Few visitors are aware of how fragile the cloud forest is and that only 2% of the world is a cloud forest. Fine establishments such as the Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge are providing a true ecological option to their guests. This nice hotel, located up, right on the top of the mountains in Cerro Plano, Monteverde, is completely Eco-friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissDWilson
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us a review, we're proud of being an eco-friendly lodge where you can get a great relaxing experience with all necessary comfort but at the same time being responsible with the environment. Our efforts are increasing and each time we get more and more energy efficient, our recycling program is getting better and as much as...

Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We arrived in Sept and it was considered the off season, but the service was excellent. Gustov our Bar tender was great and was very pleasant to chat with and receive valuable information about Costa Rica and the surrounding area of Monteverde.. We went with another couple sharing our anniversary celebration and it was just what we expected.When we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roland H
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

We're so happy that you had such a wonderful experience in our hotel. We make a big effort trying to create unforgettable experiences for our customers, whether is your anniversary or any other special occasion we definitely want to make a big deal out of it. God bless your marriage and your family and may this be the first of...

Dronfield England
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Our least favourite hotel of our stay in Costa Rica. Beds large and hard very uncomfortable. Shower good. Views from room very nice. First nights sleep ruined by a large group of people on a business trip making lots of drunken noise until midnight. The food was not very good, and overpriced. The view from the common area where the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Richard42
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your honest review. We're so sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience, we did not expect that kind of behaviour from that group and we can assure you that's not our regular guests. Our rooms are designed to provide a unique encounter with nature and nature sounds should be the only thing you hear at...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Stayed there two nights, small lodge with only 20 rooms. No pool or air-conditioning but definitely not needed when we were there in August. No heat either but lots of extra blankets in rooms and it does get a bit chilly at night. Rooms were big with tall ceilings, big bathrooms with nice hot showers, found them to be very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CenterCity2015
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear you had a great experience. We're committed to make your stay a unique experience, paying extra attention to your special needs so everyone feels comfortable and well taken care of.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Cloud Forest lodge offers douplex cabins. We got put in a cabin that overlooked the reception office, so we didn't have the best view, and our back door did not open. The food was not very good, and overpriced. I was disappointed that the breakfast included was not a buffet, all other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WaniWoo
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although we have very basic and simple rooms, there's a reason for it: we seek to provide a real mountain-hotel experience where we balance the comfort and the beauty of nature. At our restaurant, we don't offer a buffet as we want to provide the opportunity to delight yourself with a delicious and carefully prepared...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel in the cloud forest, basic but clean and comfortable cabins, a good restaurant and cocktails at the bar were original and delicious, thanks to Gustavo. We partook in the onsite zip lining and walked into the small local town of Santa Elena - we needed a taxi to get back up the steep...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Madkath
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your review, at Cloud Forest Lodge you can expect to have a close encounter with nature and beautiful birds... either at your front porch while you have a quiet time or read your favorite book or as you walk through our private trails where you can find more than 180 species of birds. You can even see...

Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Great rustic retreat for the wife and I. Room was huge and comfortable. Shower head was broken. No a/c. WiFi available. TV lounge in main lodge. Great views. Day desk was friendly. Gustav our daytime waiter was friendly and helpful. Evening desk and waitress for dinner lacked friendliness. Great hiking trails. Close to Monteverde and Santa Elena. Food was good....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Zoltar62
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are indeed a great place to retreat and have an immersion experience in the middle of a cloud forest.

Chinandega, Nicaragua
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Clean, well maintained, friendly staff especially in the restaurant, good food, in the rainforest with it's own trails and far enough from 'town' to be away from the noise and busyness. $6 cab ride to town or walk down - but probably not up as we did! Good nightwalk (now $15) with guide Erick who also can be hired for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ArgoBoat
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, although we have very basic and simple rooms, there's a reason for it: we seek to provide a real mountain-hotel experience where we balance the comfort and the beauty of nature. The result is a very cozy space with primary services surrounded by beautiful gardens and the sounds...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Beautiful scenery, amazing wildlife walks- saw wild monkeys and coatis, among others. Breakfast overlooking a stand where fruit is used to attract wild birds outside. A fantastic place to drink and overlook the hills; amazing scenery. No wifi in rooms (only in restaurant), no safe in rooms either, but the reception will look after valuables. Friendly staff and fantastic wood...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GMGorge
Oscar M, Public Relations Manager at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, that's why you get to enjoy nature in such a close way. If you take the Night Walk Tour you see even more of the beauty of Monteverde.

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
1,010 reviews
1.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
193 reviews
1.3 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
1,221 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
203 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: €100 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms over-look car park”
 of 5 bubbles 528RichardW, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are the same”
 of 5 bubbles 799Phyllis, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was up some steep paths, but there were others more accessible for those who need it.”
 of 5 bubbles pzdj, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cabanas are all semi-detached and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RobF48, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are small double bungalows with a view of the forrest.”
  • View from the dining room
 of 5 bubbles 908judyg, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5