We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Tambor

Save
Share
Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Barcelo.com
US$180
US$156
View Deal
Prestigia.comUS$165
Booking.comUS$156
Expedia.comUS$156
eDreamsUS$156
Trip.comUS$180
TravelocityUS$156
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1148)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (317)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Barcelo Tambor
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Tambor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Tambor, Barcelo Tambor is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Barcelo Tambor makes it easy to enjoy the best of Tambor.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and Barcelo Playa Tambor makes getting online easy as internet access is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the all-inclusive resort, including a concierge and room service. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Italian restaurants, including Costa Coral Restaurant and Mar y Sol, all of which are a short distance from Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel.

Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica is sure to make your visit to Tambor one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
3,456Reviews72Q+A96Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,610
  • 849
  • 489
  • 292
  • 217
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RJGG1099 wrote a review Feb 2021
Halifax, Canada1 contribution
Worth every penny! Super friendly staff and great location and food! The premium is well worth the money and the personalized care by premium staff like Glenda was exactly what you want to pay for when your at a resort!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Kevin P wrote a review Jan 2021
Calgary, Canada90 contributions29 helpful votes
Trip for 4 nights January 2021 Grounds and layout - great, clean beach and area. Pool area clean and tidy. Room - good. AC unit in our room was loud, could not sleep with the AC running so we turned it off for sleeping. Room cleaned daily, that part was good. Food Service buffet - slow and unorganized. Food not especially good. Employees not particularly inspired or friendly. Cold foods and salads much better than the hot food buffet offerings. Covid protocols, not enforced in lineups or seating areas. Food Service buffet overflow - Q- What time do you open? A-We open at 8 am. Q-It is 8 05. A-We aren't open yet. Seriously!! Food Service A La Carte - Japanese restaurant - excellent service, excellent food. Food Service A La Carte - Steak and Seafood restaurant - Very good service, average food. Seafood overcooked, mariscos was rubbery and fish was overdone and bland. Food Service Snack Bar - slow and unorganized. Lineup for a burger, then lineup again for mustard or ketchup? WTF. 15 people in line and 2 patties on the grill, even I know that isn't efficient. Covid protocols, somewhat enforced, no room to space in the lineup. Food Service Bar/Drink Service - Quick and efficient, but low quality alcohols. Covid protocols mostly enforced but not always. Entertainment - good, enjoyable. Live music and also dance troupe. A little loud, but good. Would be nice to have table service for drinks instead of having to lineup while watching the entertainment instead of staff just taking your empties. Internet in room - hit and miss. Not a great connection and in this day and age paying for internet is a crime. Entertainment for kids - Trampoline - Q-we want to try this. A-We open at 3. Q-What time is it now. A-......... (It was 3 05). We didn't go. We had been here before and noticed that the food quality has gone downhill to the point where we may not return. It is certainly not worth the high price to spend so much time waiting in line for mediocre food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The farther away from the main dining entertainment area the better.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kevin wrote a review Jan 2021
3 contributions
The first impression of the grounds and the buildings is great. The grounds are well kept and very nice looking. It's hot in this part of CR, but the A/C unit was so loud that we made a decision to cool the room off then turn off the air to try and sleep. None of us could sleep with the air con unit running. Covid protocols were a little confusing for dining. A lot of tables had signs on them indicating "don't sit here", but if people sat they got served and nothing was said. Covid protocols, buffet service was slow. There are 2 lines going down each side of the buffet service, with 2 people on each side. When your turn comes, the employee takes your plate and you choose your cold foods, then your plate gets handed over to the hot food person and you choose your hot foods. You can imagine how long this takes if there are 20 people in front of you. No "social distance" spacing in line, because there isn't enough room to do that. Then there is the dessert station, with generally 1 person looking after everyone. It is possible to spend 1 hour of wait time just standing in line for each meal 3 times per day. The cold station including salads was good, the hot station with the mains was not great. We mostly passed on desserts because the wait time wasn't worth it, but the few times we braved the lineup, the dessert offerings were good. Unfortunately, milk and yogurt are also offered at the dessert station, so if you want a bowl of yogurt or a glass of milk, into the line you go.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
romanshorner wrote a review Sep 2020
Munich, Germany740 contributions222 helpful votes
We had an excellent stay in that hotel. The rooms were big, clean and well equipped. The hotel territory is beautiful arranged. The food was good. The food was good, also one of the a la carte restaurants was a bit special. Unfortunately, one of the a la carte restaurants was closed for several days. There was a big animation program and several special events and evening shows. One special thing is, that they have a holy mass every week. The beach is with stones and there are a lot of wild animals. Swimming is not so good because of high waves like everywhere at Costa Rican Pacific Coast. The hotel is helpful with excursion offers. One of the things that weren't so good was the hotel wifi, although it was charged. So we bought a local SIM, which also is quite expensive. Nearby, there is a parrot zoo, which also takes care about wildlife protection, inside the territory operated by the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Katia Blanco, Propietario at Barcelo Tambor
Responded 28 Nov 2020
Dear Romanshorner Thank you for your insights following. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. It is good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepare by our profesional chefs and the entertainment program. Regarding our beach, we deeply regret your disappointment about swimming. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had with our wifi service, nowadays the wifi is with higher connection speed and without charge Thank for your constructive crítics. Regards Christian Alvarado General Manager Barceló Tambor Hotel
Read more
Worldwide Traveller wrote a review Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom76 contributions73 helpful votes
Let's start with the ugly just to get it out of our way: avoid weekends at all costs as the place gets packed with noisy locals and the whole resort experience is about keeping them happy (entertainment will be just in Spanish). The bad: it is a 25 year old All Inclusive resort and it shows everywhere, rooms, restaurants, theater, bars, lounge chairs so do not expect any luxury here. Food is not a strong point, it lacks quality. The good: the grounds are manicured with many palm trees all over the resort and lining the beachfront which truly lends a tropical feel to it as you probably expect from your stay in Costa Rica. The beach is rocky yet expansive and perfect to just go for long strolls, mostly at low tide. Would I go back?. Most probably if interested in an All Inclusive resort at a very reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Beachfront as away from the pool area as possible
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerGX, Customer Experience at Barcelo Tambor
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Tambor hotel for your stay. Regarding your comment about noise or movement of clients due to the hotel’s occupancy, please keep in mind that since the hotel has more than 400 rooms, an array of activities, entertainment and restaurants, all aimed at creating unique experiences and due to your fantastic location, our hotel tends to be busier at that time. We lament if this situation affected your stay. We also regret your disappointment of the current state of our facilities. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. On the other hand, at Barcelo we always strive to make meals one of the best experiences among us and we regret your disappointment with our menu and although it has been studied so as to guarantee a varied assortment of dishes prepared with local products to please the most demanding palates, we will not fail to share your comments with our Chef for information and further revision. On the positive side, we're glad to read you enjoyed the fantastic location. The hotel is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Costa Rica, opposite the beach of the same name, Playa Tambor. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us. We hope you had a nice journey back home and despite these issues, you will visit us again in the future. Customer Experience | Barceló Hotel Group
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$150 - US$300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo tambor beach hotel tambor, barcelo hotel tambor beach, barcelo hotel puntarenas, hotel barcelo playa tambor, barcelo tambor costa rica, barcelo tambor beach costa rica
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasTambor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
402
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Barcelo Tambor
What are some of the property amenities at Barcelo Tambor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Barcelo Tambor?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barcelo Tambor?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Barcelo Tambor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barcelo Tambor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vista Hermosa B&B Restaurant, Mar y Sol, and Costa Coral Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barcelo Tambor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Barcelo Tambor have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Barcelo Tambor offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barcelo Tambor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barcelo Tambor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Barcelo Tambor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Barcelo Tambor accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.