We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Beauty Guesthouse

195 reviews
Save
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (19)
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“swimming pool”(11 reviews)
“top floor”(9 reviews)
“mosquito net”(8 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (195)Write a Review
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
49
43
5
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
49
43
5
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming pooltop floormosquito netsri lankagreat place to staynice pooldouble roomguest houseocean viewclean roomthe hotel managerthe main roadstayed nightsmonkeysfanbeachcalm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed 3 nights there and it was nice place. clean room with ocean view and calm place. you can have a calm sleep .tasty food , they have nice restaurant on 3rd floor. very nice staff . they have a swimming pool which make...More

Thank janko2009
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We got to the guest house and were given a pretty damp humid room. It had two fans so we thought it’d be ok. However the fans didn’t really work, the bathroom door didn’t shut, and the shower didn’t work properly. Also, I hate to...More

Thank jake d
Response from BrittaBlackBeauty, Manager at Black Beauty GuesthouseResponded 6 December 2017

Dear valued Guest, thank you for your review. during the last couple of month we had a lot of rain which is resulting in high humidity which can rise up to 90%. The only way to have it a bit drier is to book a...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

One of the best in town. Calm. Clean and location is one of the best. Better buy your drinks from the local shop and fill up the fridge :). Much cheaper this way. Love the two dogs. Easy parking. Clean and fresh pool. Great breakfast.

Thank Nadhyim N
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Black Beauty Guesthouse is quite highly rated on Tripadvisor and elsewhere and going on that info we booked a 5 night stay. The price charged is not in question, for Sri lanka it is quite low, the problem with this guesthouse are all the little...More

1  Thank cps66
Response from BrittaBlackBeauty, Manager at Black Beauty GuesthouseResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry, that you did not enjoy your stay with us. On our website we never claim to have posh furnitures. It is mentioned that the rooms are simply furnished with a double bed...More

Reviewed 22 February 2017

The rooms are definitely basic for the price but they all have their own cozy patio space and there's a great little pool on the property. The hotel manager is really friendly and there are two gorgeous labradors running around. This place is in a...More

Thank Emily P
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345622
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (19)
Dining (13)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
morrisdancer19
29 June 2016|
Answer
Response from BrittaBlackBeauty | Property representative |
Dear Valued Guest, from the air port to Black Beauty it takes about two hours. If we pick up our guests from the airport the driver uses the high way to come down to the south coast. Best regards, Britta, Black Beauty Team... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"ocean view room"
Read review
"Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else."
Read review
"Grab a room on the ground floor below the terrace restaurant"
Read review
"I recommend the second floor, very calm"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing