We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Home Stay Strand

111 reviews
Save
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (12)
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good31%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
3 weeks ago
“Not good value for money, needs refurbishment and cleaning!”
15 Jul 2016
“Simple yet Interesting”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (111)Write a Review
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
46
24
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
24
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice house with potential (but seriously need some work on it!), "jungle" garden, 1min walk to the beach. We never saw that many mosquitos in a room (after 1 month being in Sri Lanka), room was kind of dirty, mattress looked like it was 100yrs...More

Thank Panamaabcd123
Response from gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you,we take note of your criticism and look into lapses.

Reviewed 15 July 2016

I had a chance to stay in this hotel on our way to see bath @ Unawatuna with my Japanese Friend. And the hotel was quite nice and really attracted the surroundings and natural garden. Since its a off season for them only we met...More

Thank Vajeendra
Response from Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you!

Reviewed 29 May 2016

To finish our holiday we went back to Unawatuna (we were last there 3 years ago) and because we enjoyed it so much last time, we stayed at the Home Stay Strand. This time we had the Duran Duran room one the first floor at...More

Thank BobBelgium
Response from Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded 6 September 2017

Looking forward to your next visit and we will offer you our best room, THE NEST at a very special Rate! Book directly with us!

Reviewed 15 April 2016

Wonderful colonial house, set amongst a beautiful tropical garden, the owners make you feel so welcome, they will do anything for you! A very quiet, peaceful location, but close to the village and beaches. So relaxing, in a true Sri Lanken home. Thank you Asoka...More

1  Thank corinne020
Response from Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded 6 September 2017

Excuse my late response! I was a bit disappointed with harsh reviews on TripAdvisor. You are very kind to give us an unsolicited review. Makes us feel happy when our guests appreciate our service. Thank you very much and please come again, Sunny smiles await...More

Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

My second visit here and once again a wonderful relaxing experience in a traditional house in a tucked away part of the village set in a lush garden hosted by kind and caring people. What more could you ask Thank you Asoka and family for...More

Thank Richard S
Response from Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you Sir, please come again, sometimes makes me jealous when I see you visiting other locations on your Facebook! My regards to your lovely Lady!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345615
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Details
Price range
US$22 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites
Details
Price range
US$22 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (12)
Pool & Beach (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Home Stay Strand staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"We stayed in teh "Blue" room... avoid it!"
Read review
"Antiques styled rooms and well maintained"
Read review
"Try and get a room with a balcony or a small terrace."
Read review
"Rooms vary, some with ac, check with Asoka."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing