We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Matara Road Mihiripenna, Talpe, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
FindHotelUS$45
Agoda.com
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (62)
Pool & Beach (28)
Room & Suite (23)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#67 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Blue Sky Resort is a newly built resort located on the long stretched elegant and gorgeous beach of UNAWATUNA Mihiripenna, Sri Lanka. Hotel Blue Sky is located just 6 Km south of the historical ancient city of Galle, the beach at Unawatuna - Mihiripenna is secluded and offers its visitors a calmful relaxing swimming and sunbathing atmosphere at the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. You can get there by a TUKTUK (three wheeler), it is about a 5 minute drive and cost around 1 Euro for 2-3 people,
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Spa
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
80Reviews1Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 15
  • 11
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tina C wrote a review Feb 2019
Bournemouth, United Kingdom92 contributions70 helpful votes
good size, clean, comfortable room. Modern bathroom with plenty of hot water for the powerful shower. English speaking friendly staff. Good breakfast, eggs of choice, fruit, coffee etc. There is a fridge in the room. The hotel is directly on the palm tree lined beach. Turtles arrived around 3pm but little heads can be seen rising for air all day long. I love this hotel, it is my second time staying (stayed 4 years ago). Wifi is good. Aircon quiet and cold. The town itself is quiet but lots of restaurants on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Anna R wrote a review Mar 2018
35 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The hotel itself was clean and decent. Stunning views at sunset. The breakfast was average/poor. It was a fair way out of Unawatuna itself. The hosts made us feel welcome by ushering us out to look at the lovely view from the terrace when we arrived... meanwhile they were rooting through our bags. Luckily we caught them and nothing was taken. WATCH YOUR BELONGINGS AND LOCK YOUR VALUABLES UP. Other than the light fingered staff, the hotel was fine. A little far from town maybe. We won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort
Responded 24 Mar 2018
Hello Thank you very much for the review. Thank for the pros. you having misunderstanding.When the guests arrival we use to welcome them warmly and serve welcome drinks.we are never rooting to guest bags.in the hotel we have CCTV Camera all the corners and lobby.no one can take any thing from your bags if they do surely we can caught them. Every one in the staff know that so there no reason to rooting to your bag. The story is As I remember we were fully booked in that day. your bags are on the entrance of the lobby. we move your bags to the corner because it was near the door and it was disturb other guest and can’t move from the door comfortably.A Guest Complain it also.We just move them and No one rooting through your bags.i tell it responsibly about it. you could put the bag in good manner in the corner because we have big lobby but you doesn't. That is Main reason we just move a little. YOU KNOW OUR MANY Guest HAVE LATE NIGHT FLIGHTS SO THEY KEEP THERE BAGS IN THE LOBBY AFTER THE CHECK OUT AND THEY LEAVE THERE BAGS IN THE LOBBY AND THEY COLLECT THEM IN THE NIGHT OR EVENING. WE NEVER HAD SUCH PROBLEMS AND THE BAGS AT THE THE LOBBY WHOLE DAY. OUR STAFF I CAN GURANTEED,OUR STAFF NOT WANT TO ANY THING FROM OUR GUEST. WE HAVE GOOD CCTV SYSTEM ALSO EVERY ONE IN THE STAFF KNOW IT. WE NEVER WANT TO DISREPUTE OUR NAME. I AM 100% SURE THIS IS A MISUNDERSTANDING. Many Thanks Dilan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lovingfloyd wrote a review Mar 2018
Washington DC, District of Columbia29 contributions31 helpful votes
We rocked up to Blue Sky Resort without a booking and got a nice double room on the first floor level with aircon and breakfast included. The staff were very nice and accommodating, and the room itself, while basic, was clean, updated, and very comfortable, with plenty of surfaces (bedside tables, etc.). Bathroom had a shower stall (not a wet room). The property is off the main Matara Rd that runs through Galle but on the beach side so cannot hear traffic from the rooms (in fact, all you hear is the ocean, which was super relaxing). From the first floor where our room was, there is a view overlooking the beach which is beautiful, and then on the ground floor there are tables set up for breakfast service overlooking the beach. From here, you can walk down to the beach and along it, to take in all aspects of Dalawella Beach, which was the best beach we saw in all of Sri Lanka, with some calm areas for swimming. The Dalawella beach area itself does not have a lot in terms of food and convenience (no ATM), but you have 1) Wijaya Beach Resort on Dalawella beach (5 minute walk on the beach from Blue Sky Resort), which is a central spot for food on the beach for all meals (relatively expensive), and 2) Unawatuna is a 5 minute tuk tuk ride away from Dalawella, which has great winding walkable footpaths lined with shops and restaurants behind the beachfront (Unawatuna beach proper is not as nice as Dalawella). Overall, I would recommend Blue Sky Resort to base yourself on Dalawella Beach!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: First floor on the beach side will shelter you from main road traffic noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BettiniW wrote a review Feb 2018
Vienna, Austria4 contributions10 helpful votes
All in all a very pleasant stay. We stayed there for 3 nights. The, I guess it was the manager of the hotel, showed us around on arrival. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. On every floor there is a beautiful terrace, providing a great view. It is true that you cannot go for a enjoyable swim right in front of the hotel, which in our case made the stay even better, as it was not crowded at all. A little lagoon is about 5 minutes walking distance. Two little negative points which resulted in a 4-Point-Review: the main street is a little loud. The fact, which we knew up front, that a stable internet connection is only provided on the ground and first floor, makes it a little annoying always changing floors. This problem is no real deal-breaker but it could be solved quite easily! All in all, very pleasant and enjoyable stay! Definitely worth staying for a couple of days! We cannot say anything about the food as we didn't eat there. However, the manager offered us drinks at any time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Top floor, next to the terrace
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
idagabriella1 wrote a review Jan 2018
Copenhagen, Denmark11 contributions
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights on our 2 weeks trip. It was fine, but nothing special. The best was the sweet and helpful family who always smiled and was ready to help you. It’s a nice comfortable room with a big bed and a fine bathroom. It’s very close to everything - little shop, beach, bars etc.. the breakfast which is included wasn’t that good though. The coffee didn’t taste as coffee and a juice could have been nice. We got 2 fried eggs which was nice and then a good fruit plate of banana papaya and mango which also was nice but then there wasn’t anything else nice. It could really have been nice with some good yoghurt and musli and something more delicious than the 2 dry sausages. The view was from the place you eat and again the brothers are so sweet. Can recommend or 1-2 days :-)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sheran r wrote a review Jan 2018
Colombo, Sri Lanka212 contributions36 helpful votes
Pros -Beach access is great... and it is a beautiful stretch of beach (almost private) Very close to Wijaya beach ... which is a great hotel / restaurant.... with awesome thin crust pizzas.... and other food! -The beach is very safe for children... as the reef that us far out takes the beating from the waves.... and makes a natural calm pool in the ocean...... where if yo y get your goggles on... you can see lots of beautiful fish! -The main guy that does the coordinating is pretty decent... and helpful with recommendations of things to do. -Rooms and Bathrooms are pretty clean -mosquito nets -AC -Spacious Shower Cubicle -Nice sitting Area that over looks the ocean -Staff is friendly Cons -Very low wifi strength -The rooms are a bit musty (nothing a lil air freshener won't sort out along with opening the windows and doors) - 1st floor room with ocean view... isn't much of a view..... but close to the balcony... -Breakfast is lazily put together... no real effort.... it is literally 2 lil sausages with 2 fried eggs (no salt / no pepper given)... 2 slices of bread... with butter and jam.... terrible coffee / terrible tea (which shouldn't be the case... given it is Sri Lanka) - We stayed 2 days.... they did not bother cleaning our room when we went out for one of the days. Maybe we had to inform them. But they should do this regardless i feel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bhawana V wrote a review Dec 2017
116 contributions20 helpful votes
Its a villa converted into a hotel and it's not a Resot. We have booked 2 room . Their deluxe rooms are as big as economy room. The Porche that you see on booking.com is common for all the rooms in 1st floor. They just have 3 staff( including one kid). They do room cleaning only once in 3 days. It rained and weather was quite cold. They had not provided any blankets and when we asked for blankets, we have been told by the kid that we have to pay extra. Beach outside this hotel is rocky and dirty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Food wise they have very limited menu for dinner. What a waste of money !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort
Responded 29 Dec 2017
Thanks for the review. what you mean by resort.The term resort may be used for a hotel property that provides an array of amenities, typically .i think you have to learn it first. Economy Room is in ground floor.Deluxe Rooms are upper floors. economy room is cheaper because it is in ground floor. There is no kid in the staff.all are boys who elder than 18. in sri Lanka it is prohibited to child laboring it is not like from where you are. yes in hotel rules we clearly wrote that we clean 3 days by 3 days. if you pay extra for laundry then we are capable to clean rooms daily. it is such a lie that we gave you blanket day 1 and next day you ask for more blankets.we can't gave as much as guest asked. i think you are not seen our beach.we have one of best beach on this area. it is not dirty and rocky.we have a nice lagoon every one can swim safely. we are small resort so we have limited menu card but it can full fill many guest wishes. we have seafood also, i wrote this for these guest misleading our potential guest. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthias wrote a review Aug 2017
Oberammergau, Germany10 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked this place online thinking it was a resort. When we arrived we discovered it to actually be a hotel/large guesthouse. Second evening there was no hot water. These are just a few very minor issues that I wouldn't be bothered with if I knew I booked a hotel/guesthouse, but because we paid quite a lot I expected a bit more. However, our room was very well kept and spacious, and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this place but for a way lower price than we booked it for.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vichithra J wrote a review Apr 2017
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a small beach front private property and it's a two minutes walk to the best and safest beach in the area. Staff is really helpful and you will get the basic amenities for a outdoor beach lover. Please be mindful as they might not provide lunch and dinner on off season, but staff is kind enough to order food outside or you just can walk to some great beach front resturents in 5 mints.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
senehaguna wrote a review Apr 2017
Colombo, Sri Lanka1 contribution
Exceptional location.kind staff.the property is on the beach.There is plenty restaurants .in the corner the is a lagoon with protect by reef.the snorkeling is great.people can see tourtles in the lagoon. Recommend for the beach lovers
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$38 - US$53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictUnawatuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Sky Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Sky Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mihiripenna Beach (0.5 km) and Dalawella Beach (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Sky Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Sky Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Sky Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Sky Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wijaya Beach Restaurant, Persian kitchen and BBQ, and Runcible Spoon.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Sky Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (6.4 km), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (6.0 km), and Meera Mosque (5.9 km).