We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

TripAdvisorUS$54*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$54*
US$54*
US$54*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Start your review of Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
 Click to rate
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel on booking.com. We booked for a Deluxe room with sea view and when we arrived we realised that the photo promoted on booking is not the real one. The hotel is divided in two parts. One is called Resort and it has two floors and is quite new. It is not exactly on the beach, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valentina T
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valuable time to write us a review We are extremely sorry as We hear about the rooms met your expectations but however We are not make you cheat any how as you mentioned in the review it was quite astonished by the management due to Booking and Agoda We have put Hotel actual pictures...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tartaruga without a doubt has the best food in Unawatuna and is very reasonably priced. The rooms in the new wing is great and good value for money while the old wing needs improvement. Its worth travelling all the way even from colombo to spend the day and to have their great food. Tip - try their garlic prawns with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcp000023
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you your valuable time to write us a review We are glad to note down that you were delighted Tartaruga Great foods and also garlic prawns and The Management will focus on eye to upgrade the rooms on previous wing on your next visit. Thanks & Regards.Lucky.

Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a superb lunch at this outstanding hotel. The menu options are excellent with loads of seafood as well as other options. The location is ideally located right on Unawatuna Beach. Great views and great food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thommo178
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had our lunch at tartaruga. I had grilled Jumbo prawns and my girlfriend grilled King Prawns. The food was well prepared but I do wish they would serve some kind of dipping sauce to go with the prawns. The real cause for the five star review is the coffee. We had Cappucinos and it was delicious. Most places burn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllanDK75
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued It is with delightful pleasure to read your review and as A team we are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed our Cappucino which makes your tongue tasty and also the prawns .We would like to see your family and friends next visit to Tartaruga resort stay a night of our room as well.Thank you.Lucky

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Last minute booking and chose it because of the reviews here - was not disappointed and pleasantly surprised. It's not fancy and won't blow your socks off with their facilities but like most places it is the people that made the difference. We were traveling with kids - very picky eaters. They have a menu but was more than willing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pio B
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest It is with great pleasure o know you have enjoyed through out your stay at Tartaruga.Your Review is extremely helpus to encourage the staff give the outstanding service to Tartaruga customers.The staff love to hear specialy restaurant who has given excellent care of the service We would like to meet your family of your next visit.Thank you.Lucky

Galle, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We Happened to have dinner at this restaurant where we were served just few pieces of cabbage and carrots along with spiced beans for the so called Tartaruga special chopsuey rice we ordered.food was a disaster..!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank channahas
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir,Thank you for your valuable time to write us a review We are extremely sorry to hear about the selected Food Plate by you is a disaster perhaps your choice is something not taste for your tongue actually what you mean as a disaster to verify the foods is meaningless if you select extra food plate you feel how...

mumbai
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We went for lunch and drinks. It's a typical beach restaurant. One good thing about the place was that they were not serving food on beach. Keep it up !. The Sri Lankan veg curry and rice were quite good. There were only tourists, I don't think locals visit here. The only thing we did not like was when our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BalkrishnaShroff
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valuable time to write us a review the Tartaruga team is really encourage about you review of Srilanka foods make you delight and we have have noted down the vodca quantity as you mentiones in your next stay we may try to present you special drinks .Thank you.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch and for a little drink. Staff was very friendly and they were very helpful in giving suggestions as well. Food was extremely good and we really enjoyed it. Nice place and atmosphere to go out and relax. Will definitely visit again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chathura G
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your nice comment It is encourage us to give unforgettable service to our customers .We will see you on your next visit again.Thank you

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

First night we stayed in one of the cheaper rooms at the hotel, basic standard and unfortunately lots of bugs in the room such as ants and cockroaches. However, night two we chose to upgrade not to stay at ground floor and it was just great! A bit more expensive but well worth it. Really loved the small brass turtles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ida G
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the valuable time to write us a review .We are extremely sorry that you have bugs on that day how ever the management will look in to focus upgrade the rooms as soon as possible.would love to hear enjoyed the food .Hope to see you again.Manager.Tartaruga Resort

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel has 2 parts. One is called Tartaruga Hotel and the other one Tartaruga resort. I stayed at the Tartaruga Resort which is supposed to be the nicer one. The customer service was nice the first day, the food at the restaurant was good as well but I was not happy with my room. I booked a triple room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anca T
neel p, Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your valuable time to write us a review we have noted down you were pleased our team has given you good customer service and we have noted down you have met several issues while your stay with us.We do extremely apologize the room booking.How ever when you apply through web site such as b.com the hotel...

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
873 reviews
0.4 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
805 reviews
0.1 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
668 reviews
0.6 km away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
365 reviews
1.3 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Address: Yaddehimulla | Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Price Range: €37 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“change hotel, they are cheaters”
  • this was supposed to be the view from the deluxe double room booking sold us. The door that you
valentinat265, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Seaview rooms 33, 34, 35”
  • from room 33
  • side view from room 25
  • this hotel is only 2 years old...keep it up !
  • seaview room35...the best for couples
  • sea view room 33...the best for a couple
  • our room after changing
  • our room before changing
Gold_keys_63, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is right at the pool which is good for families, right in the path of all traffic from hotel to beach.”
885pennyd, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Although while booking, the rooms only state 'with balcony', insist on a sea view!”
EshaJaggi, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room on the 1st floor... ask for a room on the front (not on the side) with ocean view”
Scuba971, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$54* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$54
Agoda.comUS$54
PricelineUS$54
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates