We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sambiya River Lodge

Save
Share
1 Kafu Road, Sambiya Village, Murchison Falls National Park 00256 Uganda
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$291
CheapTicketsUS$291
Orbitz.comUS$291
TravelocityUS$291
TripadvisorUS$291
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (181)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sambiya River Lodge
Updated 08/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sambiya River Lodge is a family run eco lodge in the Heart of Murchison Falls National Park, a twenty minute drive from the top of the famous falls. Situated on a bluff over looking the Sambiya River valley, the property is home to numerous birds, bushbucks, waterbucks, Cape buffalo, leopard, as well as visiting lions & elephants. We have a resident UWA ranger guide to take guests on walking safaris, as well as game safaris on the new circuits recently put in on the southern side of the River Nile. Please see our website for further information. We look forward to welcoming you to Sambiya River Lodge!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Full view
Contact
1 Kafu Road, Sambiya Village, Murchison Falls National Park 00256 Uganda
Getting there
Pakuba Airport28 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
255Reviews4Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 127
  • 82
  • 29
  • 12
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
scubajere wrote a review Aug 2018
Orangevale, California39 contributions14 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay. Close to Murchison Falls and lots of opportunity to see wild animals, even at the lodge itself. The accommodations are comfortable, if not a little rustic. Power is available only from 7 to 10 pm, so no hot water in the morning. WiFi is available only in the bar and it is intermittent and slow. But seriously, this is a great place to stay. At night they recommend being accompanied by a staff member to and from your cottage after dark because herds of cape buffalo wander the grounds, however, there is no way to contact the front desk because there are no phones in the rooms, so twice my husband and I took our chances and walked to the dining room alone. We made it. The food, especially the soup, was really good. We totally enjoyed our experience
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
scubajere, Thank you so much for your review! Indeed, we pride ourselves on being an eco-friendly lodge and therefore are more connected with nature than luxury, but we are glad that you appreciated that! For future visitors, if you would like a ranger to walk you to the main lodge for dinner, you simply need to request it at the front desk before hand and the ranger will come and get you at that time. In a similar vain, if you need a wake up call with tea and coffee on your front porch, simply request it the night before at the front desk and we will oblige! We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and hope you visit us again soon.
Read more
geesebay wrote a review Aug 2018
Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Belgium44 contributions18 helpful votes
This is the perfect place for someone who wants to disconnect completely from the modern world. WiFi/electricity are only available for a few hours a day and credit cards are not accepted. But the feel of the place is wonderful with a herd of buffalo, baboons, wild pigs and other animals coexisting peacefully alongside the beautiful cottages. The staff are very friendly although we found it a shame there were so few people there. This is a great alternative to the more commercial and busy lodges along the river where peace and quiet predominate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
geesebay, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the peace and quiet that we like to offer our guests! Indeed, we pride ourselves on being less commercial and more in tune with nature. Credit cards are unfortunately only accepted through our main office in Kampala, but we are looking into ways to change this policy. Thanks again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon.
Read more
LBrick7 wrote a review Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom226 contributions114 helpful votes
RIPP OFF. Terrible, avoid. Electricity ONLY FOR 4 HOURS A DAY SAME AS WIFI. We are very regular travellers around the world and never ever felt so ripped off as we felt in this hotel. A very dirty room and toilet welcomes you! We paid over £100.00 per night and this is what we got: 1. An extremely outdated cabin with terrible beds and mattresses likely to be 15 years old and we are not exaggerating; 2. A pair of towels that were probably 20 years old and I am not exaggerating; 3. Electricity does not work but from 7PM to 10PM which they never tell you in the website. It does make a difference because wifi does not work and you have to observe curfew times. 4.Food of very poor quality if not terrible. 5. Staff tired, overworked and frankly fed up. Probably underpaid; 6. The
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 23 Jul 2018
LuisBrick, We are sorry that you had such an awful experience and felt "ripped off" for your stay at Sambiya. We do not set the prices that are advertised on the site you booked on. You would have been better off to book directly with us. If we were ever faced with being taken to such a dirty room we would go back to reception and request for a clean room so we are surprised that you never complained about any of your concerns while you were with us. We are sure we could have done something to make your stay more enjoyable. We provide stewards/security to take be with you in the dark as a caution because we do share the area with wild animals, regardless of whether you carried a flash light or not. In actual fact, our generator timings are on our Sambiya River Lodge website. Please refer to the "About our Lodge" page. Guests have the option of sitting around the campfire or in the main lodge building after the generator goes off, making use of solar lights.
Read more
Margareta E wrote a review Jul 2018
16 contributions
+1
My love and I went to Murchison Falls together with all our seven children ranging from 8 to 27 years. We had been in MF before and now we wanted to share this wonderful and spectacular experience with the kids. Although we previously have stayed at Paara Lodge we were totally amazed by the beauty, hospitality and genuine warmth at this paradise in the jungle called Sambiya River Lodge! The hostess is a wonderful lady who takes care of her guests in a kind and warm way. She is also very helpful and informative and can help making your experience in the park even better . The cottages were scattered in a beautiful garden facing the Sambiya River valley making it possible to sit on the porch in the afternoon watching the buffalos grace or even take a mudbath. The cottages were
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 23 Jul 2018
Margareta E, Thank you so very much for your beautiful and kind review. It was so wonderful to have your family as guests and we are so glad that we could make your family vacation so special! We hope you will visit us again soon! Karibu!
Read more
Kristi R wrote a review Jul 2018
Juba, South Sudan6 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent five nights at Sambiya lodge, and loved the peaceful surroundings, the views, and the hospitable staff. We stayed in a banda, and found it comfortable and clean. It is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy great views of nature. We saw several animals in the river valley below the lodge, such as buffalo, warthogs, waterbuck, and baboons, along with an abundance of birds. Meals are reasonably priced and the menu had a decent variety. We also appreciated the spacious grounds for walking and the pool. The staff were very helpful in making arrangements for transport or activities for us, and in meeting our needs. It is fairly centrally located in the park, about 20 km south from the Paraa Ferry. During the week there were not many other guests, so it was quiet and peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from birdlover94, Public Relations Manager at Sambiya River Lodge
Responded 23 Jul 2018
Kristi R., We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Peaceful and quiet is exactly what we hope for for our guests! Thank you for your visit. You will have to come back when the elephants come through the river valley! KARIBU!
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$150 - US$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sambiya river hotel murchison falls national park
LOCATION
UgandaWestern RegionMurchison Falls National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing