We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Clune House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DR Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Clune House
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are John & Irene owners of Clune House, a delightful Victorian Guest House in the picturesque village of Newtonmore, centrally located for exploring the Cairngorm National Park. Since moving here in Feb 2018, we've been making a few changes to this lovely old building to get it to the standard that we want to offer you & your fellow guests. All three of our guest bedrooms are well equipped with really comfortable beds, en-suite shower rooms, Freeview TV, WiFi, ample storage and all the important wee things that help you to enjoy your stay. We offer you a very warm welcome and a breakfast menu that guests at our previous guest house described as "the best in the area". We pride ourselves on catering for any special dietary needs or food allergies that you may have. You can relax in our comfy Guest Lounge or in our peaceful back garden, there's ample off-road parking, we welcome guests travelling solo and we are a dog-friendly place, so long as their owners are well-behaved!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Tennis court offsite
Shared lounge / TV area
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
173Reviews1Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lesley Gillies wrote a review Sep 2020
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed here for the first time with my daughter on the last day of our NC500 road trip. It won't be our last visit to be sure. The hosts John and Irene are extremely good at what they do - friendly, welcoming and full of good advice on the local area. The house is beautifully furnished and decorated and our room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was superb! There were several repeat guests staying which is always a good sign and it was lovely to meet them. Keep doing what you do. We will be recommending to our friends who are planning this trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from John England, Owner at Clune House
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Dear Classywanderer (great nom de plume, by the way!) It is very kind of you to have taken the time to pen your very kind words about your all-too-brief stay after your trip round the NC 500. We very much enjoyed looking after you & Rita, of that there is no doubt and we're delighted that you both felt that your overnight with us was a fitting end to your trip. We very much look forwards to both of you becoming repeat guests too. Until next we meet, all the very best to you both and thanks again, John.
Read more
Claire G wrote a review Jul 2020
Bishopton, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
Came here to stay for two nights with my partner and dog. Both irene and john were lovely, very accomadating and did everything they could to make us and our dog feel comfortable and welcome. The house was spotless and there was a good selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate and kettle in the room. The shower worked well and was easy to use. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. When we arrived we were welcomed into the lounge with a cup of tea and coffee. We had a takeaway the first night and were supplied with plates and cutlery which was great. On the second night we went to a local hotel for dinner and irene and john were so kind to watch our dog for us while we ate out as she is a young dog. Breakfast on both days was absolutely lovely, there was a great choice and it was very fresh. There is a lovely seating area out the back with table and chairs. There is a good parking area. John and irene provide good information about the local area. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it. Thanks for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John England, Owner at Clune House
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Claire, it was, without doubt, a delight to look after you, Steve and Mia when you stayed with us not long after we were allowed to re-open post Lockdown. Thanks for choosing us once you were allowed "out" too, it was very kind of you to help us get going. We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your couple of nights with us and it was a privelege dog-sitting for Mia, allowing you to enjoy your dinner locally. We hope to see you all again in the not too distant future but, for now, all the very best from the two of us to the three of you. Stay safe and stay well. Thanks again, John.
Read more
Jeff S wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
My wife and I toured around Scotland for a couple of weeks this fall. While looking at the Caringorm Mountain Rescue Team Facebook page. We noticed that John and Irene from Clune House had made a donation to the rescue team. It was this community mindedness that drew me to looking at their web site. The rooms looked neat, tidy and spacious for a reasonable price. When we arrive we were very impressed with the room and the friendliness of John and Irene. Our room was beside the road but we could not hear any traffic noise at all. After a quiet restful night we were treated to a delicious breakfast. As this was near the end of our trip we got to see several different hotels and B&B's. This was the best we stayed in during our 3 week trip. Our next visit will be back here with more time to explore. Jeff and Theresa from BC Canada.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from JohnE4415, Owner at Clune House
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Jeff & Theresa, it is very kind of you to take the time to write your generous review of your stay with us, thank you. Our time togther was all too brief but better the one night than none. We very much enjoyed your company, I can tell you, learning about your own SAR experiences and telling you a few more things about the Cairngorm Mountain Rescue Team to whom we donated our winnings at the local End of Year quiz - which is the donation you spotted on Facebook. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and for thinking us to be the best accommodation during your trip - high praise indeed, thank you. We'll be delighted to see you both again when next you are travelling our way. Until then, all the very best, John & Irene.
Read more
basler2015 wrote a review Sep 2019
Basel, Switzerland10 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed three days at the Clune House and enjoyed every moment. Irene and John are wonderful hosts who supported us with restaurant recommendations and advices for our walks. The room we had was very cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent, and offers a wide selection to choose from. When traveling the Cairngorms do not miss to stay at this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The rooms are individually decorated and have twin or double beds
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from JohnE4415, Owner at Clune House
Responded 9 Sep 2019
Dear Basler, Rest assured that it is we who should be thank you two for your great company during your 3 nights with us. You were doing the hard work, walking the East Highland Way. By comparison, we just did the easy bit, looking after you both!! Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind words, thoughts which we do value, I assure you. As we discussed, there is a whole host of walking based here in Newtonmore so we very much look forwards to welcoming you back when you decide to explore some more. Thanks, too, for your tips to Irene about the best places to ski in Switzerland - all part of her planning!! For now, though, all the very best to you both and thanks again, John.
Read more
christineB6723DO wrote a review Aug 2019
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom29 contributions49 helpful votes
Excellent accommodation. Irene and John fantastic hosts friendly and helpful. Always prepared to go that bit further to make stay amazing. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good. Plenty parking space. Comfortable living room to relax in at end of day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Only three bedrooms. Mine was on the main road but not too noisy
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from JohnE4415, Owner at Clune House
Responded 21 Aug 2019
Christine, Irene and I are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for saying so when you took your leave of us and, again, in this review. We do, without doubt, appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with other Trip Advisor users and, of course, look forward to welcoming you back when next you are up our way. All the very best & thanks again, John.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsBadenoch and StrathspeyNewtonmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clune House
Which popular attractions are close to Clune House?
Nearby attractions include Highland Folk Museum (0.9 km), Ruthven Barracks (4.6 km), and Clan Macpherson Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clune House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Clune House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Clune House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Clune House?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clune House?
Conveniently located restaurants include McInnes Restaurant, Letterbox Restaurant, and The Restaurant at The Cross.
Is Clune House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Newtonmore.